Archdeacon WilliamsonArtefactsBishop TyrrellBishop PearsonBishop StantonBishop StretchBishop StephenBishop LongBishop BattyBishop HousdenCanon Carlos Stretch (1)Canon Carlos Stretch (2)Clergy etcClerical SocietyDiocesan CouncilMaps & PlansNewcastle Church SocietyParishes A-MParishes N-ZPhotographs- Churches & RectoriesPrinted MaterialRegistrarSynod
A-EF-JK-0P-TU-Z
This is the "Introduction" page of the "Anglican Diocese of Newcastle Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anglican Diocese of Newcastle Archives  

The archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle, including parish registers, records of the Bishops of Newcastle and the records of St John's Theological College at Morpeth held by Cultural Collections.
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/anglican Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle

The Anglican Diocese of Newcastle

Newcastle CathedralThe vast Archive of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle and Christ Church Cathedral includes the records of St. John's College, Morpeth, runs to 120 shelf metres and dates from the year 1826.

Before 1860 the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle covered a territory encompassing the whole of northern New South Wales and Queensland.

The Collection is of such national significance that the National Preservation Office at the National Library of Australia has made a generous grant for conservation treatment. Records restored under this program are the diary of pioneer Bishop William Tyrrell and an early watercolour of his church at Morpeth, Morpeth at the time being the seat of Tyrrell's Diocese, and the jumping off point for settlers going into the interior.

Finding Aids

Access Conditions

Please note: In conformity with principles of privacy and confidentiality, access to Diocesan records is restricted for the following periods, from the date of their creation.

  • Registrar's general files: 50 years
  • Bishop's files, Registrar's and St John's College files containing personal and confidential information: 100 years.
  • Baptism registers: 90 years - except for the individual concerned.
  • Marriage registers: 50 years - except for the individual concerned.
  • Death registers: 30 years.
  • Other (non-confidential) records: 30 years.
  • Synod papers, public documents, and Diocesan publications: nil.
 

Cultural Collections

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip