LibGuides: Business and Entrepreneurship: Resources

Business and entrepreneurship databases

Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
Historical information, current trends, future developments and changes in the business world. Includes case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, interviews with executives and analysts.
EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)
Articles from over 500 journals focusing on economic theory, production, welfare, growth, inflation, accounting, international trade, economic history, social indicators, capital markets, consumer finance, labour and demographics.
EBSCO Megafile Ultimate
Full-text journal databases and indexes covering social sciences, business, health, education, sciences and humanities
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Indexing from 1971 and access to full-text articles on business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Includes information on thousands of companies with business and executive profiles.

Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest)
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research.

ProQuest databases
Over 15 journal databases of abstracted and full-text articles including: ABI/INFORM, Academic Research Library, Nursing and Allied Health Source, Proquest Education Journals and Proquest Social Science Journals.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings in a wide range of disciplines. Includes author and affiliation searches, citation impact and analytical tools.
Scopus has a limit of 2,000 citation exports.
Taylor and Francis
Full text journal articles. Subject areas include science and technology, social sciences and humanities.
Emerald Insight
Journals that focus on the subject areas of management.
Emerald eCase Collection
Business case studies and teaching notes, creating opportunities for students to understand and apply business theory, analyse complex situations, and formulate solutions.
Licence allows UON academics limited access to teaching notes for UON teaching purposes only. Academics should register for a Profile and then email Content and Discovery to request an access token.
Business Collection (Informit)
Australian journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports related to management, business, economics, commercial law, marketing and human resources.
Leisure tourism database
Abstracts from journals covering leisure, recreation, sport, hospitality, tourism and culture. Also full text book chapters from the ebook collection.
Safe Work Australia
Provides a range of WHS and workers’ compensation data on work-related injuries, fatalities and diseases.
SAGE Business Cases
Sage Business Cases curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Licence allows UON academics limited access to teaching notes for UON teaching purposes only. Please contact your Teaching Liaison Librarian to request an access token.

Full list of Library databases

DatAnalysis Premium
Information on companies listed on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX), updated daily. Includes corporate history, trading history and industry comparisons.
IBISWorld
Information on Australian industries including statistics, analysis and forecasts. Includes industry research reports, company research reports, risk rating reports, business environment reports and global industry reports for the US, UK and China. (click Risk Ratings - 500+ iExpert Summaries, facts and figures for each industry)
Marketline Advantage
Contains a collection of company, industry and country information, from over 200 countries and every major industry sector. Includes: Country statistics, Market data analytics, Financial deals tracker, Investments and advisory tracker, Company prospector, Company report generator.

ABN lookup
Free public view of the Australian Business Register (ABR). It provides access to publicly available information supplied by businesses when they register for an Australian Business Number (ABN).

World Advertisting Research Centre (WARC)
Full text case studies, statistics, papers, conference papers and journal articles in the areas of advertising, marketing, branding, media and marketing research.

IMF Country Information
Information about the 189 countries within The International Monetary Fund (IMF)
World Bank
Data about development in countries around the globe.
World Factbook - CIA
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Austrade
The Australian Trade and Investment Commission – Austrade – is Australia’s leading trade and investment agency. We are experts in connecting Australian businesses to the world and the world to Australian business

Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australian statistics and census data.
ABS Industry statistics
Key statistics about a range of industry related topics.
Australian Key Economic Indicators
A monthly compendium of economic statistics published by the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

OECD iLibrary
Publications and datasets released by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF).

World Trade Organization (WTO)
Find international trade figures for commodities and commercial services such as transport and financial services.

IMF eLibrary
IMF periodicals, books, working papers and studies, data and statistical tools, including authoritative data reports, statistical yearbooks, studies, working papers and important research on the global economy. Covers macroeconomics, globalisation, development, trade and aid, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice and poverty reduction.
Free public resource
IMF eLibrary data
Access to authoritative, harmonised global statistical datasets including International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, Trade and Investment and Government Finance Statistics. Features the ability to produce customisable data tables and graphs. Mozilla Firefox is the preferred browser.
Free public resource

For more information on finding statistics see our Statistics Guide

Patents

Australian Patents

AusPat
Contains all Australian patent specifications and records dating back to 1904.
Free public resource

IP Australia
Online Services for searching Patents, Designs and Trade Marks. IP Australia is the federal government agency responsible for granting rights in patents, trade marks and designs.

International Patents

European Patent Office
Provides access to full page images for most patents from 1790 to present.
US Patent and Trademark Office
Search-able database of US patents with full text of patent documents.
World Intellectual Property Digital Library
Provides access to intellectual property data collections such as PCT (Patents), Madrid (Trademarks), Hague (Industrial Designs), Article 6ter (State Emblems, Official Hallmarks, and Emblems of Intergovernmental Organizations).

Scopus
Access to Australian and International patents.

ANZ Newsstand (Proquest)
Full text of major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.
TVNews (Informit)
Streaming videos of all Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks. TVNews is updated daily.

ABC News Online
Australian Broadcasting Corporation news website
SBS News
Australian news service provided by SBS

Professional Associations

It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these business and entrepreneurship groups as a student, or even throughout your career.

Australian Financial Markets Association
The Australian Financial Markets Association (AFMA) was formed in 1986. They are an industry association promoting efficiency, integrity and professionalism in Australia's financial markets – including the capital, credit, derivatives, foreign exchange and other specialist markets.
Australian Human Resources Institute (AHRI)
The Australian HR Institute (AHRI) is the national association representing human resource and people management professionals with 20,000 members from Australia and across the globe.
Australian Marketing Institute
The Australian Marketing Institute is the requisite organisation for professional marketers and the authoritative voice of Marketing in Australia.

Open Access Textbooks and Resources

Textbooks
Courses and training tools

Did you know that there are many great textbooks and resources that are available for free?

Open Educational Resources (OER) are defined by UNESCO as

“… teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions....”

The following textbooks are examples of resources that are 100% free and available for you to use during your degree and beyond!

Sustainable Tourism Marketing by Estela Marine-Roig, Eva Martin-Fuentes, Natalia Daries Ramón, Eduard Cristobal-Fransi & Berta Ferrer-Rosell
ISBN: 9783039286829
Publication Date: 2020
Next Generation Entrepreneurship by Burak Erkut & Vildan Esenyel
ISBN: 9781839691317
Publication Date: 2022

For information about OER's, please see our guide.

Merlot
Includes a range of freely available courses, texts and learning exercises. Search by discipline to find relevant resources.
edX
Includes courses from Australian and international universities, plus lecture notes, reading lists, open access textbooks and other related course materials.
Academic Earth
Academic Earth was launched on the premise that everyone deserves access to a world-class education. It includes links to a range of freely available tertiary level courses.

Your Subject Librarians

This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting business and entrepreneurship are: