Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style:  About Chicago A

UON Library guide to Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style 17th ed.

header image

 

The Chicago Manual of Style includes two referencing styles:

The Chicago A Notes and Bibliography Style is commonly used in the humanities—including literature, philosophy, history, and the arts. It features numbered footnotes in the text, supplemented by an alphabetical bibliography at the end of the document. The bibliography may include the documents you consulted but not directly cited in your essay.

See an example of footnotes and an example of a bibliography on the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) site.

This guide provides general rules for footnote citations and bibliography, and instructions with examples for citing a range of sources such as journal articles, books and book chapters, research reports, government documents, conference papers, theses, course materials, AV materials, and web resources.

For details, follow the links under How to reference at the left of this page, or use the site index there. 

 

Other useful resources:

 

Download our print friendly quick PDF guide to Chicago A below.

As this is a quick reference guide, a number of resources detailed in the full online guide have not been included. Please refer back to the online guide here if you are unable to find examples of your required references.

If printing the guide or downloading to your device - remember to check back for any updates.

 

Please Note:

This guide is based on the Chicago Manual of Style Online (CMOS) 17th edition, 2017. It provides general guidelines only. Students should always check their Course Outline for any variations required or consult their lecturer.

 

Chicago A Manual

This guide is based on the following ebook:

Need some help?

Access librarian support via Book a Librarian or Library Live

Click Ask the library below  to access Library Help and Information 

Use our Library Chat service below (when available)