University of Newcastle Library guides

Anglican Diocese of Newcastle Archives:  Cemeteries

The archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle, including parish registers, records of the Bishops of Newcastle and the records of St John's Theological College at Morpeth held by Cultural Collections.

Archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle

Cemetery records

Funeral

Members of the public wishing to visit Cultural Collections are advised to contact us.

Please note that the Sandgate Cemetery records are now online at www.sandgatecemetery.org.au, courtesy of the Sandgate Cemetery Trust.

A6333B
BALMORAL - Private cemetery near Denman (Bowman Family) 1903-1964.

A5792
BELMONT - Headstone transcripts for burials 1879 - 1980, compiled by Mrs. J. Splatt.
See also the listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6333
BENGALLA - Private cemetery near Muswellbrook (Keys Family) 1860 - 1952.

A5443 (xi,xii)
BISHOP'S BRIDGE: St. Andrew's Anglican Cemetery, Grave listing 1867 - 1978, compiled by Susanne E. Anderson.
See also the listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6053 (v-vi)
BOORAGUL - Grave listing 1892 - 1915, compiled by Mrs. B. Fry.
See also the listing for the Pioneer Cemetery at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6081
BRANXTON GENERAL CEMETERY - Grave listing, compiled by J.W. Delaney, June 1984.
See also the listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6081
BRANXTON CATHOLIC CEMETERY - Grave listing compiled by J.W. Delaney, September 1984.
See also the listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6081 (ii)
BRUNKERVILLE - Grave listing 1872 - 1982, compiled by J. Delaney.
See also the listing for Brunkerville Uniting Church at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6081 (iii)
BUTTAI - Grave listing 1857 - 1976, compiled by J. Delaney.
See also listings of the Buttai Elliott Private Cemetery , the Buttai Price Private Cemetery and the Buttai Wilfred Elliott Private Cemetery at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5398 (vi)
CHRIST CHURCH CATHEDRAL
Manuscript and typescript notes on the Cathedral Cemetery 1936 - 1963.
General plans of the cemetery, but not including grave locations.
Rodd Collection.
See also listings at the Australian Cemeteries Index

A5359 (iii)
The first burials in Christ Church Cemetery: (typescript)
Burials 1804, 1822, 1863, 1866, 1882.

A5443 (xx)
Newcastle City Council Engineering Department Survey Section: Register of graves and plans of Christ Church Cemetery. Burials 1809 - 1894.

A5364 (i)
Cemetery correspondence and miscellanea, 1873 - 1898.

A5364 (i)
Registrar's certificate for undertaker, 1895 - 1896.

A5443 (xixa)
CLARENCE TOWN - Headstone transcripts 1831 - 1976, compiled by members of Raymond Terrace Historical Society.
See also listings at the Australian Cemeteries Index for Clarence Town and Clarence Town Anglican Cemeteries.

A6333B
DENMAN - Headstone transcripts 1877 - 1978.
See also listings at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5885 (xix,xx)
EBENEZER - Alphabetical listing of graves 1812 - 1980, compiled by Mrs. B. Berry.
See also listings at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6081 (iv)
ELLALONG - Grave listing 1863 - 1981, compiled by J. Delaney.
See also listings at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

FOLLY
[See Mayfield]

A6333B
GIANT'S CREEK (near Denman) 1895 - 1977.
See also listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6081 (v)
GLENMORE - Grave listing 1870 - 1979, compiled by J. Delaney.
See also listing for Glenmore Uniting Church at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

B16606
GOORANGOOLA - Service Register. (Goorangoola) 3rd January 1915 - 22nd December 1986. (Register of Goorangoola Cemetery to 1986 inserted at back of register.)
See also listings for theGoorangoola Anglican Cemetery at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5338 (iii)
GOSFORD AREA - Notebook containing tombstone inscriptions and historical notes relating to the Brisbane Water region.

A6081 (xii)
GRETA GENERAL CEMETERY - Grave listing compiled by J.W. Delaney, October 1984.
See also listings at the Australian Cemeteries Index:

A5443 (v, vi)
HINTON - Alphabetical listing of graves 1854 - 1971, compiled by L. Geer.
See also listings for the following at the Australian Cemeteries Index:

A6051 (x)
HUNTER VALLEY CEMETERIES - Copy of a list of references to Hunter Valley cemeteries in records held by the Society of Australian Genealogists, Sydney, 1982.

A5303 (iii)
LISAROW - List of graves until 1963.

A6081
MAITLAND (EAST). St. Peter's old burial ground. Grave listing by James Waddell, 1828 - 1919.
See also listings at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5340 (vi)
MAYFIELD[FOLLY CEMETERY] - List of burials at St. Andrew's Anglican Church Cemetery 1804 - 1904; 1860 - 1982.

A6081 (vi)
MILLFIELD - Grave listing, 1915 - 1982, compiled by J. Delaney.
See also listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6201 (v)
MINMI - General Cemetery 1833 - 1982.
See also listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5443 (xixa)
MORPETH - Headstone lists. Church of England section 1816?, 1839 - 1978. Catholic Section 1862 - 1976. Methodist Section 1849 - 1975.Compiled by members of Raymond Terrace Historical Society.
See also listings at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6333B
MOUNT DANGAR (near Denman) 1864 - 1976.

A6081 (vii)
MOUNT VINCENT - Grave listing 1856 - 1981, compiled by J. Delaney.
See also listings at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6081 (viii)
MULBRING - Grave listing 1865 - 1982, compiled by J. Delaney. See also the Mulbring Uniting Church Cemetery at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5443 (xix)
PATERSON - St. Paul's Church of England Cemetery headstone list, 1823 - 1970, compiled by Mrs. M. Saunderson.
See also listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5885 (xxi, (xxii)
PITT TOWN - Headstone list 1833 - 1979, compiled by Mrs. B. Berry.
See also listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index:
Pitt Town General - http://austcemindex.com/cemetery.php?id=872
Pitt Town Anglican Columbarium - http://austcemindex.com/cemetery.php?id=749

A5443 (i-ii)
RAYMOND TERRACE - Historical Cemetery headstone list 1844 - 1974, compiled by Raymond Terrace Historical Society.
See also listings for the following at the Australian Cemeteries Index:

A6081 (ix)
ROTHBURY (WILDERNESS CEMETERY) - Grave listing 1869 - 1980, compiled by J. Delaney.
See also listing for Rothbury Anglican Cemetery at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5934 (v)
ST. MARY'S (SYDNEY) - Transcript of Anglican headstone inscriptions, 1791 - 1971.
SANDGATE (NEWCASTLE)
ANGLICAN

A5301, A5302
Cemetery correspondence, 1920 - 1946.

A5301
Correspondence relating to various Anglican cemeteries 1886 - 1940.

A5303 (ii)
Cemetery miscellanea 1933 - 1940 including information on oldest known graves in Sandgate Cemetery and details of land transactions concerning Patrick and Thomas Humphries, 1823.

A5303 (ii)
Burial applications of Oliver Gregory Lovell, and Agnes Little, December 1931.

A5303 (ii)
Voucher for grave maintenance, December 28, 1936.

B6957 - B6963
Trustees of Church of England Cemetery correspondence, 1856 - 1964.

B7744 - B7746
Trustees of Church of England Cemetery Minute books, 1881 - 1942.

B7747
Trustees of Church of England Cemetery Letter books, 1889 - 1916, including Burial application 1903.

B7748
Trustees of Church of England Cemetery Letter book, 1934 - 1935.

B7749
Trustees of Church of England Cemetery Cash book, 1881 - 1903.

B7750
Trustees of Church of England Cemetery Index of Purchases, 1883 - 1889.

B7751 - B7755
Trustees of Church of England Cemetery Burial Registers, 1881 - 1914.

B7756 - B7779
Trustees of Church of England Cemetery Burial Certificate books, 1903 - 1952.

A5364 (i)
Plan of Newcastle General Cemetery, surveyed May 22, 1879.

A5364 (i)
Plan of Church of England Portion, November 7, 1879.

A5992 (xv)
CHINESE
Sandgate Chinese Cemetery, 1925 - 1981. Headstone inscriptions transcribed by Nancy Ng, Bill Sheehan and Elaine Sheehan.

A5896 (x)
JEWISH
Jewish Section of Sandgate Cemetery, copy of Burial Register kept by Mr. Fred Boas, Mayfield, donated by Mrs. B. Davis, Melbourne.
Burials 1909 - 1977.

A6083 (iii)
SCONE - Plan with names.
See also listings for Scone Old Catholic Cemetery and Scone St Luke's Anglican Cemetery at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5443 (xixa)
SEAHAM - Headstone list 1851 - 1974, compiled by members of Raymond Terrace Historical Society.
See also listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5443(vii, viii)
TARRO - Headstone list and amended list, 1818 - 1966. Compiled by Mrs. A. Giggins and Mrs. M. Saunderson.
See also listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5340 (i)
WARATAH [See also MAYFIELD] - Burial orders and fees, 1879 - 1900.

A5238 (xii)
WARKWORTH - Plan and list of graves.
See also listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A5792 (vi)
WHITEBRIDGE - Headstone list, 1895 - 1980, compiled by Mrs. J. Splatt.

A5885 (xvii, xviii)
WILBERFORCE - Headstone list, 1815 - 1980, compiled by Mrs. B. Berry.

A6201 (vi)
WINDSOR - Presbyterian Cemetery.

A6081 (x)
WOLLOMBI - Grave listing for the Wollombi Cemetery, compiled by J.W. Delaney, 1981.
See also listing at the Australian Cemeteries Index.

A6333B WYBONG (near Denman) 1863 - 1961.

 

The Sisters' Plot, Sandgate Cemetery

 

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354