Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library Guides

Education: Resources

A Library Guide for Education resources for students and staff of the University of Newcastle

Education Databases

Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these Education databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.

EBSCO Databases

ProQuest Databases

Emerald Databases

Informit Databases

Sage

            Covers educational research, special education and music education

Scopus

Web Resources

Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Education web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library. 

Syllabus for Australian Curriculum

Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Education web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library. 

Early Childhood 

Early Learning Languages Australia

The Early Learning Languages Australia program (ELLA) program is a digital, play-based program which includes a series of interactive applications (apps), aimed at making language learning engaging and interesting to young children in preschool and the early years of school.

Universal Access to Early Childhood Education

Universal access ensures that a quality preschool program (also referred to as kindergarten in some states) is available for all children in the year before full-time school. ...

Australian Early Development Census (AEDC)

The Australian Early Development Census (AEDC) is a population measure of how young children in Australia have developed by the time they start their first year of full-time school. The AEDC looks at groups of children in the community, not individuals.

English Language Learning for Indigenous Children (ELLIC) trial

The English Language Learning for Indigenous Children (ELLIC) trial will aim to improve English literacy outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander preschool children for whom English is an additional language or dialect (EAL/D). ELLIC will be underpinned by a play-based, interactive...

The Disability Standards for Education 2005

The Disability Standards for Education 2005 clarify the obligations of education and training providers, and seek to ensure that students with disability can access and participate in education on the same basis as other students. ...

Starting Blocks

Learning Tools

English

ABC Education English Resources

English for the Australian Curriculum

Victorian State Government: Literacy and English Teaching Resources

The Teacher's Toolkit for Literacy Podcast

 

Maths

Australian Curriculum Lessons

ABC Education Maths Resources

Aussie Educator: Mathematics Resources

Mathematical Association of NSW Inc 

Maths 300 is a library of maths lessons that is owned and maintained by the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers (AAMT).

 

Science/Technology

STEM Australia

Early Learning STEM Australia Early Learning STEM Australia (ELSA) is a play-based digital learning program for children in preschool to explore science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). ELSA allows children to play, experiment and make sense of the world around them – which is part of STEM, and also part of being a child. ELSA’s STEM Practices encourage children to ask questions, make predictions, experiment, and reflect on what happened and why.

Future Makers: Useful STEM links

STEM Women

STEP Up Program

ABC Education

Early Learning STEM Australia

STEM Education Research Centre

 

Humanities

Australian Curriculum SA: Working with Curriculum (HASS)

ABC Education Geography Resources

ABC Education History Resources

ABC Education Civics & Citizenship Resources

Australian Government: Support for Humanities and Social Sciences

 

Arts

Art Education Australia

Aussie Educator: The Arts Resources

Victorian Registration & Qualifications Authority: The Arts Online Resources

National Gallery of Australia: Curriculum Art Sets

ABC Education Arts Resources

 

Health & Physical Education

Janice Atkin Education Consultant: Resources to support implementation of PDHPE 

FUSE: Start exploring resources aligned to the Victorian Curriculum

NSW Government Teaching Resources

Nestle for Heathier Kids - The Good Village

 

Languages

NSW Government: Languages

Aussie Educator: Languages Resources

First Languages Australia: Education Initiatives

Professional Associations

Key eBooks

Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching. 

Your Subject Librarians

This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Education are:

Research Liaison Librarian

Jennie Skulander