University of Newcastle Library guides

Anglican Diocese of Newcastle Archives:  Cathedral

The archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle, including parish registers, records of the Bishops of Newcastle and the records of St John's Theological College at Morpeth held by Cultural Collections.

Archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle

Christ Church Cathedral records

Christ Church Cathedral Window

Window designed by Sir Edward Burne-Jones and installed in Christ Church in 1907.
From The Vision Splendid - Christ Church Cathedral, A Parish History by Joan Murray.

CONTENTS

  1. Legal records
  2. Minute books
  3. Correspondence
  4. Records from the Diocesan Registrar
  5. Printed Material
  6. Miscellaneous items
  7. Photographs
  8. Maps, plans and drawings
  9. Artefacts

1. Legal Records:

A5356

  • Legal opinions relating to the Bishop of Goulburn, 1890 - 1893;
  • Notes on Constitutions, 1875;
  • Case for opinion of Council relating to Bishop of Newcastle Trustees, 1880;
  • Cathedral Church Act, 1882;
  • Dioceses of Sydney and Newcastle Lands Investment Act, 1858;
  • Church and Schools Lands Act, 1880;
  • Parliamentary reports on Church Property Bills, 1881; 1887; 1888;
  • Church of England Property Act, 1889:
  • Amendment relating to Goulburn property;
  • Draft for an Act to incorporate the members of the Church of England in New South Wales, and to make property divisions, 1876.

A5359

  • Church of England Property Bill, 1887.

A5356

  • Sydney Church Ordinance, 1892; Draft Ordinance to provide for the election or appointment of a Bishop in the Diocese of Newcastle, 1892;
  • An Act to regulate the temporal affairs of churches and chapels of the United Church of England and Ireland in New South Wales, 1837.

A6734(iii)

  • Cathedral Ordinance, 1932;
  • Parish Financial Rehabilitation Ordinance, 1935;
  • Bishop Election Ordinance, 1937.

A5356

  • Memorandum of Agreement between the Trustees of the Anglican Sunday School and John Russell, 1883.

A5356, A5359, A5367(vii), A5361

  • Court reports and proceedings relating to John Straub and J. Horbury Hunt, 1890,1894.

A5356

  • List of ministers registered for the celebration of marriages, 1889.

A5357

  • Legal correspondence, 1882 - 1889.

A5358

  • Stockton lease, 1886.

A5364

  • Draft Ordinance for providing pensions for aged and infirm clergymen in the Diocese of Newcastle, 1884.

A5369

  • Cathedral Hall licences, 1934 - 1936;
  • Land tax receipts, 1897;
  • Water rate notices, 1895;
  • Fire insurance policy, 1882;
  • Terrier of lands, 1848 - 1869.

A5358

  • Records of Trustees of Christ Church A7898 Glebe, including legal records, correspondence and plans, 1850 - 1902.

A7898

  • Papers and correspondence relating to Australian Agricultural Company's lease for working coal, 1878 - 1883.

A5260
Christ Church Newcastle Land Mortgage Ordinance 1925, containing correspondence to Registrar, Dean and Cathedral Council (Diocesan Registrar's records).

A5361

  • Proceedings: Straub v. Cathedral re building tender, 1890.


2. Minute Books:

B7829a

  • Cathedral Council minute book, 1916 - 1923; Presentation Board minute book, 1926 - 1928.

B7830

  • Vestry minute book, 1859 - 1892.

B7831

  • Vestry minute book, 1938 - 1947.

A5360

  • Vestry minute books, 1948 - 1952.

B7832

  • Vestry minute books, 1955 - 1959.

B7833

  • Church Wardens' minute book, 1877 - 1883.

B7834

  • Building Committee minute book, 1894 - 1904.

B7835

  • Building Committee minute book, 1909 - 1912.

B7836

  • Church of England Men's Society minute book, 1910 - 1919.

B7837

  • Servers' Guild minute book, 1931 - 1932;
  • Temporary Service book, 1938 - 1940.

B7838-B7482d

  • Parochial Council minute books, 1867 - 1937.

B7843

  • Women's Guild memoranda book, 1897 - 1903.

B7844-B7850

  • Women's Guild minute books, 1897 - 1956.

B7851

  • Centennial Fund minute book, 1888 - 1889;
  • Annual meeting of the Cathedral Parish… 20th March, 1975. [Reports and financial statement].


3. Correspondence:

A5359

  • General correspondence, 1892 - 1974.

A5368

  • General correspondence, 1874 - 1900.

A5359

  • Vestry correspondence, 1935 - 1940.

A6734(ii)

  • Vestry correspondence, 1955 - 1961.

A5359

  • Centennial Church Extension Fund correspondence, 1887 - 1899.

A5359

  • Christchurch Trustees correspondence, 1861 - 1863; 1884 - 1890.

A6734(i)

  • Arthur Selwyn's correspondence, 1896.

A5359

  • Correspondence relating to the sale of furniture at Newcastle East Public School, 1886 - 1889.


4. Records from the Diocesan Registrar:

B6944-B6951

  • Cathedral and Cathedral Chapter correspondence, 1931 - 1967.

AB6951

  • Cathedral Columbarium correspondence, 1955 - 1967.

B6952-B6956

  • Cathedral Glebe correspondence and valuation notices, 1933 - 1948.

A6140

  • Letter from Goul & Shaw, Solicitors naming Trustees of Christchurch Cathedral, 28th July, 1896.

Financial Records:

A5362

  • Financial records, 1868 - 1948;
  • Wages sheets, 1892 - 1893;
  • Building Fund statement, 1910.

B7901a-b

  • Reports and financial statements, 1898 - 1952.

B7851

  • Centennial Fund account memoranda book, 1888 - 1889.

B7852

  • Vestry ledger, 1862 - 1884.

B7853

  • Pew rent cash book, 1863 - 1874.

B7854

  • Parochial Council ledger, 1867 - 1888.

B7857

  • Pro-Cathedral cash book, 1885 - 1901.

B7873

  • Ledger, 1933 - 1937.

B7873a

  • Cathedral Completion Fund cash book, 1899 - 1902.

B7875

  • Cathedral Completed Fund cash book, 1929 - 1930.

A5369

  • Bank book, 1937 - 1939;
  • Cathedral Council Fund receipts and invoices, 1929.

A5359

  • Cheque book, 1882.

Building records:

A5361

  • Specifications for Bishop's residence, Morpeth, (n.d.);
  • Specification for Parsonage, Newcastle, (n.d.);
  • Bill of quantities for work on Cathedral, with correspondence and drawings, 1893 - 1894;
  • Newcastle Cathedral Report, October 11, 1899.

A5361

  • Specification and correspondence relating to Deanery garage, 1949 - 1950;
  • Correspondence, plans, schedules, specifications, lighting contracts for Newcastle Cathedral, 1948 - 1951;
  • Diary of John Straub [Cathedral contractor], 1892.

A5361

  • Press clippings, 1910 - 1936, and correspondence, 1909 - 1912 relating to the building of the Cathedral;
  • Estimate of work, Goulburn, by Robert Turner, 1876;
  • Miscellaneous dockets relating to building supplies, 1883 - 1886;
  • Invoices relating to building and furniture, 1885 - 1894.

A5361

  • Correspondence and papers relating to building, 1883 - 1898.

B7834-B7835

  • Building Committee minute books, 1894 - 1904; 1909 - 1912.

B7879

  • Building record book, 1881.

B7880

  • Roll of subscribers to the Centennial Church Extension Fund, 1888 - 1892.

A6137

  • Building file, 1949 - 1972.

A5359

  • Bill of quantities, 1892 - 1893.

B9556

  • Christ Church Building Fund Committee letterbook, 1876 - 1894 (from Diocesan Registry records).

Cemetery records:

A6138(i)

  • Cathedral cemetery file, 1942 - 1973 (includes a description of the wreck of the Cawarra, July 11, 1866).

A5364

  • Correspondence, 1873 - 1898;
  • Registrar's certificates for undertaker, 1895 - 1896.

A5364

  • Cemetery rules and regulations, 1884 - 1892;
  • Plan of Newcastle General Cemetery, 1879;
  • Plan of Church of England portion of the Cemetery, 1879.

A5364

  • Cemetery accounting records, 1881 - 1898.

A5443(xx)

  • Old Christ Church Cemetery by W.J. Gould;
  • Register of grave sites and plan (Newcastle City Council).

A5359

  • The first burials in Christ Church Cemetery.


5. Printed Material

A6137

  • Cathedral history, 1830 - 1980;
  • Warrior's chapel, 1924 - 1979.

A5369

  • A history of Christ Church Cathedral, Newcastle by F.G. Castleden, 1936.

A5371

  • Printed material relating to the completion and dedication of the Cathedral, May, 1979;
  • History of the Cathedral, 1979.

B7901c

  • Newcastle Cathedral leaflets, 1953 - 1962; 1965 - 1966.

A6139

  • Leaflets, 1950 - 1974;
  • Parish notes, 1975;
  • Handbooks and Cathedral history pamphlets including photographs, 1812 - 1983.

A6140

  • Pamphlets on the National Trust Christ Church Cathedral Heritage Project, [c.1984];
  • Towards a complete Cathedral… Cathedral chapter: a report of the Dean (copy).

A5366

  • Newcastle Cathedral, N.S.W.: its history in pictures for one hundred years, 1812 - 1912.

A5366

  • Newcastle Cathedral 1812 - 1910 Souvenir of the dedication of the Chancel, Ambulatories, and the Chapel of St. Nicholas, March, 1910;
  • Christ Church Cathedral, 1961;
  • The Warriors' Chapel, 1924; Handbooks, 1932 - 1971.

A5367

  • Dedication of nave and crossing, 1928;
  • Newcastle Cathedral completion, 1926;
  • Christ Church Cathedral… leaflet, 1961.

A5367

  • Souvenir of re-opening of Cathedral organ, July 15, 1923.

A6073(xiii)

  • Cathedral handbooks and history pamphlets, 1812 - 1932 (Elkin papers).

A6361

  • The nudge of God: the story of Newcastle's Cathedrals, 1975 by Ian Shevill (Humphris papers).

A6361

  • Newcastle Cathedral official handbook, 1932;
  • Christ Church Cathedral, Newcastle, 1948;
  • Tower 200 Club Christ Church Cathedral Heritage Project, 1979 (Humphris papers).

Orders of Service:

A5365, A5371, A6137, A6139, A6140, A6361

  • Consecrations and Enthronements of Bishops, installations of Deans, visits by Archbishops, dignitaries.

B7901c

  • etc., Memorial Services, Dedication Services, Anniversary Services.


6. Miscellaneous items, historical articles and press clippings etc:

A5371

  • Letter relating to the memorial to Dr. Wilfred Nickson, 30th September, 1949.

A6140

  • Copies of two pages on the history of the Cathedral, (n.d.).

A5367

  • Christ Church Cathedral: an historic vindication of its Cathedral character, by George H. Stanton;
  • Programs of By Royal Command and William Tyrrell, 2nd - 5th December, 1947.

A5582(vii)

  • Christ Church Cathedral, Newcastle, 1902 - 1928. (Inta Allegritti: University of Newcastle History essay, 1980).

A5704(xii)

  • A Cathedral is built by Mangala Frost. [Script of a play presented at Christ Church Cathedral, Newcastle, September, 1979].

A6051(ix)

  • Essay: Early and High Victorian: the Gothic revival architecture of Edmund Thomas Blacket and John Horbury Hunt. [Contains references to the design of the Cathedral] (Joan Kerr papers).

A5398(vi)

  • Papers and correspondence relating to Christ Church Cathedral and Cathedral Cemetery 1936 - 1963, including:-
    • Cathedral Ordinance as amended 1937 - 1939;
    • Minutes of meetings of Cathedral Chapter and Vestry, 1958 - 1961;
    • Press clippings relating to the Cemetery, 1959 - 1961;
    • Plans of Cathedral and cemetery; Photograph of Cathedral, 1917;
    • Invitation to Commemorative Service for the wreck of the "DUNBAR", August 20, 1857 (Brent Burnell Rodd papers).

A5342

  • Christ Church pro-cathedral report and financial statement, 1899.

A5359

  • The Warriors' Chapel: press clipping, 1935.

Press clippings:

  • "Early history Newcastle Cathedral…" - review by S.G. Castledon, (n.d.).
  • "Way of the Cross" (n.d.).
  • "Bishop Housden".

A5359

  • Cathedral Festival, 1920 [1 page].

A6138

  • Press clippings on the death of Canon Selwyn, 1891.

A6138

  • Press clippings, 1947 - 1983.

A6139(iii)

  • Press clippings on Michael Erikson, 1975;
  • The Link TOC H journal, August 1, 1953.

A6140

  • Two by two… a book about the performance of Noye's Fludde performed in the Cathedral, 1969;
  • Hove Parish Church, Parish calendar, 1948;
  • The Gothic Revival architecture of Edmund Thomas Blacket and John Horbury Hunt from Australian Art and Architecture, 1980;
  • Typescript memorial to C.A. Brown, (n.d.);
  • Communion Certificate Rupert Seymour Timbury, 1902;
  • Press clipping of obituary to Mr. F.A. Timbury, (n.d.).

A6140

  • Australia's first bishop : a brief memoir of William Grant Broughton, by the Rev. P.A. Micklem, 1936;
  • From sunset to sunset: our Saviour's last day of suffering represented in fourteen panels… by George Tinworth. London, Royal Doulton Potteries, [c.1914+];
  • Newcastle Business Men's Club: Vision, Vol.12, No.37, November, 1979;
  • Tales of Talbot House, 1915 - 1918, by P.B. Clayton, 1919;
  • TOC H Petition for lamp of maintenance, 1926.

B7891-B7892

  • Prayer books presented to Arthur Renwick, 1902.

B7893

  • Bible, 1903.

B7894

  • Prayer book, 1855.

A5368

  • Prayer book, 1905.

A5366

  • Closebourne: Morpeth, 1949 [published by Church of England Grammar School for Boys]; The Right Reverend George Merrick Long… a memoir, by the Reverend W.H. Johnson; Message from the Archbishop of Canterbury, (n.d.);
  • The accord of Winchester, 1072 [anonymous typescript, n.d.];
  • Page from Newcastle Churchman, April, 1913, with photograph of Cathedral built 1818, demolished 1884;
  • Program of Newcastle Bach Festival, October, 1950.

A5366

  • Christ Church Cathedral every member canvass, 1958; Mission to youth, 1950.

A5367

  • Christ Church Cathedral Columbarium;
  • Newcastle Cathedral Magazine, 1912; 1916;
  • The Certosa of Pavia, by Mario Salmi [plate 22 shows a bronze standard candlestick similar to the one in use at Christ Church Cathedral];
  • A Treasury of prayers and praises for use in TOC H, [1924].

A5368

  • Press clippings, 1891 - 1968.

B7895-B7896

  • Press clipping books, 1925 - 1956.

A5368

  • Newspapers: The Maitland Mercury: Synod Centenary facsimile issue, Sunday, 30th May, 1965;
  • The Anglican, Friday, 7th April, 1961.

A5368

  • The Catholic Weekly, Sydney, 12th March, 1959.

A5369

  • Text of a sermon preached in the Cathedral by the Bishop of Armidale, 1926;
  • Australasian Performing Right Association Subscribers Certificate, 1933;
  • Statistics relating to the Diocese of Newcastle Official Yearbook, 1883 - 1884;
  • Architect's report on restoration and maintenance of the Anglican parish Hall (formerly Pro-Cathedral), May, 1980.

A5369

  • The Architectural Review:
  • Wagnerian High Church, (1965).
  • Byzantium Brighton, (1966).
  • Visitors book, 1973 - 1974.

B7882-B7890

  • Cathedral service books, 1867 - 1970.

A6137

  • Bishop Crotty file, January, 1952.

A6138

  • Cathedral School of Religion lectures, 1951 - 1955; 1959 - 1960.

B7897

  • Bishop's visitation book, 1892 - 1905.

A5369

  • Church and Sunday School returns, 1890.

A5356

  • Printed and written material on the Centennial Fund, 1888; The Cathedral and modern life (n.d.).


7. Photographs:

Original church

Original church, 1882

A5370

  • Cathedral in various stages of construction, 1893+;
  • Cathedral and Cathedral Cemetery, 1962;
  • Interior and exterior photographs, 1962;
  • Belfry before its restoration in 1965;
  • Interior photographs, 1970.

A5370

  • Photographs of Cathedral erected 1819 (copies);
  • The first telecast from Christ Church Cathedral, 5th July, 1959;
  • Stained glass window, (n.d.);
  • Photograph of architects drawing of an archway;
  • Bishop of Ballarat;
  • Bishop of Kalgoorlie;
  • Group of Bishops? (n.d.? Bishop Tyrrell era);
  • Clergy, Guild of Service, Servers, Choir, Newcastle Cathedral, 1914;
  • The Rev. Leslie Stibbard and the Ven. A.N. Williams, (n.d.); The Installation of the Right Revd. Leslie Stibbard at the Synod Evensong, June, 1964;
  • Dean Falkingham and Newcastle Herald reporter discussing conversion of the Cathedral Cemetery into a rest part, 1964;
  • The Verger Edward Pritchard mopping water after a storm, beside the eagle lectern, 1963;
  • Christ Church Cathedral Sunday School picnic, Toronto, October, 1902;
  • Group photo of men and women, (c. 1890 - 1905).

A6139
Pro Cathedral and Cathedral, 1909 - 1979;

  • Bishop Housden;
  • Photographs of Horbury Hunt's Cathedral drawings;
  • The Old Deanery;
  • Stained glass window;
  • George Merrick Long;
  • Dean Beal laying the first brick of completion;
  • Dean Beal on the Cathedral roof; The Book of Gold;
  • Reredos, Whippingham Church;
  • W.R. Campion in uniform; Michael Erikson, 1975.

A5371

  • Dean Beal; Box of colour transparencies of the Cathedral.

M2270

  • Cathedral at night, 1979.

A5351

  • Cathedral (c.1970s);
  • Pro Cathedral.

A5189

  • TOC H Newcastle, Chapel interiors;
  • Newcastle soldiers;
  • George Merrick Long;
  • Cyril John Mooney;
  • Russell Clifford;
  • Group photograph, 1926 - 1930.

Christ Church with horse

Original church, ca.1880s

Christ Church under construction

Cathedral under construction, n.d.

Ralph Snowball Collection Photographs

While the following photographs are not part of the archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle, they may be of interest to those researching the history of the Cathedral. They were taken by Ralph Snowball and belong to the Ralph Snowball Collection.


8. Maps, Plans, and Drawings

M79-M80

  • Drawings for windows, (n.d.).

M2470

  • Plan for windows.

M81-M82

  • Cathedral plans, 1965.

M83

  • Cathedral Close and Cemetery plans.

M84

  • Alterations to Cathedral Hall, 1975.

M86-M86a, M86h

  • Cathedral Park.

M86b

  • Proposed parking area beside the Newcastle Club.

M86c

  • Newcastle: engraving, 1889.
  • Wickham subdivision plans:

M86d

  • Wickham-Carrington, 1964.

M86e

  • Hamilton-Wickham, 1963.

M86f

  • Hamilton, 1963.

M86g

  • Merewether, 1964.

M2271-M2273

  • Drawings of Cathedral from the harbour and Church Street.

M2274-M2275

  • Plans of Cathedral seating arrangements.

M2276

  • Belfry design.

M2277

  • Sketch plan for Hall of Remembrance, 1953.

M2278-M2279

  • Deanery plans, 1947, 1949.

M2280

  • Clergy House.

M2459

  • Cathedral: ground plan.

M2460

  • Cathedral: architectural sketch, 1970.

M2461-M2467

  • Horbury Hunt's plans for the Cathedral

M2530-M2531

  • Cathedral [c.1882].

M2468-M2469

  • Cathedral plans, [c.1816].

M2471

  • Plans of second church, 1817 - 1884.

M2472

  • Cathedral: pen drawing.

M2473

  • Drawing of cross, 1984.

M2474

  • Plan of Paterson Cemetery, 1887.

M2475

  • Plan of Church property at Pokolbin, 1863.

M2494

  • Cathedral plan.

M2495-M2496

  • Cathedral: porch and door details, 1946.

M2497-M2499

  • Plans of re-roofing, 1951 - 1952.

M2500

  • Floor plan showing seating.

M2501

  • Details of chapel screen, 1950.

M2502

  • Space beyond south transept, 1950.

M2503

  • Proposed setting for sculptured memorial panel to Reredos, 1936.

M2504

  • Photograph of sculptured memorial panel completed.

M2505

  • Arch on east side of south transept, 1950.

M2506

  • Detail of Reredos.

M2507

  • Proposed porch and alterations to St. Christopher's Chapel and gallery front, 1951.

M2508

  • Space beyond south transept, 1950.

M2509

  • Pencil sketches of exterior of Cathedral Hall.

M2510

  • Address in memory of Australian dead, by the Bishop of Amiens, (coloured print).

M2511

  • Plans of Sedilia, 1909.

M2512

  • Annie Fowler Berkeley memorial

M2514

  • Reredos.

M2513

  • Internal porch to door next to south transept, 1950.

M2515-M2516

  • Proposed re-arrangement of St.Christopher's Chapel, 1950.

M2516, M2523-M2525

  • Nickson Memorial Porch, 1949 - 1950.

M2517-M2519

  • Alterations and additions to electric lighting.

M2520

  • Correspondence and specifications for Cathedral construction, 1947 - 1952.

M2520

  • Cathedral tower specifications, 1939.

M2521, M2523-M2525

  • Sketch designs for internal porch, 1949.

M2522

  • Diagram of tower requirements for bells.

M2526

  • Plan of tower, 1950.

M2526-M2629

  • Transepts and tower, 1950.

M2532

  • South-west porch specifications and correspondence, 1946 - 1947.

M2533

  • Cathedral exterior.

M2534

  • Font and cover.

M2535-M2536

  • Newcastle maps: Cathedral area.

M2537-M2539

  • Plans of Cathedral and church property, Newcastle.

A5367

  • Drawings of Cathedral.

M2540

  • Vestry residence plan, 1961.

A5369

  • Plan of Newcastle Showground.

A5241

  • Maps and documentation relating to Newcastle inner-city parish boundaries.

9. Artefacts:

A5371

  • Wooden mallet; Tape recording of Dedication, 1979.

A5369

  • Tape recording of Enthronement of Bishop Shevill, 6th August, 1963.

Original Christ Church Newcastle

Photograph of original church ca.1880

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354