Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these psychology databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
PsycINFO (OVID) This link opens in a new window
An abstract database on behavioural sciences, mental health and related areas.
Psychology and behavioral sciences collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
Psychology Database (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new window
Full text database of psychology, genetics, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, etc.
Medline 1946- (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Index database of medical, biomedical and mental health research.
ScienceDirect journals This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journal articles from the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences. Includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings in a wide range of disciplines
Web of science This link opens in a new window
Indexes high impact journals through ISI's citation indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded - 1956 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index - 1956 to present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1975 to present.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of seven databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection for social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes therapy sessions, case consultations, training videos, demonstrations, lectures, discussions, and workshops.
Psychiatry online This link opens in a new window
Journals, Textbooks, APA Practice Guidelines, Self-assessment tools, Medication handouts and DSM Library titles of DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These psychology web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. This link allows access to the Library's subscribed titles.
National Mental Health Commission
The Commission site providing national policies and strategies, reports, reviews and social determinants related to mental health in Australia
Mental health and suicide prevention
Mental health and suicide prevention resources on the Australian Department of Health website including factsheets, reports, infographics, guidelines and more.
NSW Health - Mental Health Branch
NSW government site for mental health related information including legislation and policies, services and programs, news and statistics, reviews and reports, factsheets and other publications.
NSW Mental Health Commission
An independent statutory agency responsible for monitoring, reviewing and improving mental health and wellbeing for people in NSW and providing relevant information to the community.
A national, government-owned, not-for-profit organisation providing virtual health services and information including resources for mental health
CogPrints is an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and many other areas.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these psychology groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Psychology are: