Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library Guides

Environmental and Life Sciences: FSHN3100 Assignment Help

A Library Guide for Environmental and Life Sciences including biology, chemistry, environmental science, food science, marine science, geology and geography

Hello FSHN3100 Students, Welcome to the Help Guide!

school banner

This guide has 11 mini-sections to get you started with your Assessment One: Research Proposal with a brief literature review.

Before you start, it is strongly recommended that you:

  • read the Assessment Instructions in your Canvas course site
  • read the Marking Rubric for the assignment in your Canvas course site

Helpful Libguide resources for this assessment include:

1. What Is a Literature Review

A literature review is a critical and in depth evaluation of previous research on a topic. Through your literature review, you can find what research, knowledge and practice have been developed in the area; the strength or weakness and the trends or gaps of the research; and how the research is closely related to your project. 

Watch the video by Krueger Library WSU below on what is a literature review.

2. Library Guide to Literature Review

The Library Literature Review Guide is an introduction to the Literature Review process. It covers:

  • What is a literature review?
  • Searching for the literature
  • Critical reading
  • Writing your review
  • Keeping track of your literature, and
  • Examples

Click the following image to visit the Literature Review Guide

Literature Review Libguide

3. Get Started with Your Topic and Research Questions

Before you start looking for information for your assignment, it is important to analyse your topic and plan for your research. Think about:

  • What the question means and how you should go about answering it.
  • How much information do you need?
  • What kind of information have you been asked to use?
  • Are there any limiters such as time or geographic locations?

Identifying key concepts or keywords in your assignment will help you to locate relevant information more effectively. Also think about similar concepts and alternative terms e.g. sport OR exercise, aboriginal OR indigenous. 

These key concepts and keywords will form the basis of your search strategy. 

Watch the video below on topic analysis. What are your key concepts and keywords?

4. Know the Search Tips and Library Search

Once you have identified the keywords included in your assignment question, you can think about how to use these keywords to conduct your search.

Using appropriate search techniques such as Boolean Operators, phrase search, and truncation can make your search more effective.

Watch the video below and try the Library Search to find books and articles 

5. Find Journal Articles Using Databases

Information or literature can be found in a variety of sources such as Library Search, Databases, and on the Internet.  

Library journal databases are collections of journal articles. You can find the best databases for your topic on the Subject Resource Guides to 

Exercise & Sport Science and Food Science

Not sure how to use them? Watch the following videos and try your search in

EBSCO Megafile Ultimate

ScienceDirect Journals

Scopus

Web of science

6. Use Snowball Search with Google Scholar

Snowball search is a search method that uses a key document on your topic as a starting point to find more other relevant publications by tracking down the citations.

  • Looking at the bibliography on the key document to find more titles published on the same topic 
  • Using databases or Google scholar to find other articles citing this document. 

Watch the video below and try a snowball search in Google Scholar on your key article. See the following for examples.

7. Evaluate Your Sources Using TRAAP

  • Locating sources appropriate for university assignments takes time and critical evaluation.
  • Understanding how to evaluate information should make it easier for you to choose sources for your assessments.

Watch the following video on evaluating your sources with the TRAAP method. 

8. Manage Your Literature Using EndNote

A literature review requires searching multiple resources on your topic. A good way to manage all your search results is to use a Citation Management Tool.

The library supports the use of EndNote for you to save, manage, and review the literature you have found for your literature review. EndNote can also create in-text citations and bibliography in Word automatically for you. 

From the library EndNote Guide, you can:

For a quick overview, watch the following video on how to use EndNote. 

9. APA 7th Referencing Style

The Library has created style guides for most referencing styles used at UON including APA 7th

  • APA referencing style is an author-date style. It uses short in-text citations, with full details in the reference list.
  • Visit the Library Guide to APA 7th style for more details.
  • Watch the video and see the example reference list in APA 7th style below

 

References

Denicolo, P., & Becker, L. (2012). Developing research proposals. SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781526402226

Denscombe, M. (2012). Research proposals: A practical guide. Open University Press. [see catalog record here]

Kumar, R. (2011). Research methodology: A step-by-step guide for beginners (3rd ed.). SAGE Publications. [see catalog record here]

Open University. (2008). Sample Research Proposals. https://fass.open.ac.uk/sites/fass.open.ac.uk/files/files/research/sample-research-proposal.pdf

Terrell, S. R. (2015). Writing a proposal for your dissertation: Guidelines and examples. Guilford Publications. [see catalog record here]

University of Melbourne. (n.d.). Writing a research proposal. https://students.unimelb.edu.au/academic-skills/explore-our-resources/graduate-research/writing-a-research-proposal

Walshaw, M. (2015). Planning your postgraduate research. Palgrave Macmillan.

York St John University. (2021). Examples of research proposals. https://www.yorksj.ac.uk/study/postgraduate/research/apply/examples-of-research-proposals/

10. Read Effectively for Your Research

You won’t be able to read everything on your topic and you don’t need to read a source from cover to cover, you need to read effectively.

Watch the video below on reading and note making for your literature review

11. Write and Present Your Research

Writing your report is an ongoing process of writing and re-writing. See the UON Academic Support Team’s Guide to Report Writing for detailed instructions on report writing, and always follow your lecturer’s instructions for what elements you are required to include. 

For group presentation, see the Group Work and Presentation Skills Guide.

Watch the video below on Report Writing. Contact academic support for more help.