Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Food Science Databases
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these Food Science databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
EBSCO Megafile Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases including food sciences such as CINAHL and Health Source databases
FAOSTAT This link opens in a new window
Provides data and statistical information relating to food and agriculture for over 200 countries.
Medline (1946-) This link opens in a new window
Journal database covering biomedicine, nursing, life sciences, toxicology, nutrition and other related disciplines.
Nature journals online This link opens in a new window
Covers the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine. Includes daily news, expert opinion, practical methodology, research and reviews.
ScienceDirect journals This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journal articles from the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences. Includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings in a wide range of disciplines. Includes author and affiliation searches, citation impact and analytical tools.
Scopus has a limit of 2,000 citation exports.
Web of science This link opens in a new window
Indexes high impact journals through ISI's citation indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded - 1956 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index - 1956 to present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1975 to present.
Wiley Online library This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, reference works, laboratory manuals and the Cochrane Library. Content covers a wide range of subjects including: Medicine, science, engineering and the social sciences.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Food Science web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
Catalogue of the National Agriculture Library (USA) providing a comprehensive source of literature covering all aspects of agriculture.
Australia New Zealand Food Standards Council (ANZFSC)
This website provides information about the activities and processes in the joint Australia and New Zealand food regulation system, including roles and responsibilities of the relevant food standards setting and regulatory authorities.
Australian Government. Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment
The website is divided into comprehensive topics sites for : A cleaner environment, Biodiversity, Climate change, Environment protection, Heritage, Land, Marine, National parks, Sustainable communities, Science and research, Water. The website also provides information on legislation and policies, as well as access to publications.
BMC: part of Springer Nature
BMC is part of Springer Nature. It has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Codex Alimentarius: International food standards
Codex Alimentarius is a collection of standards, guidelines and codes of practice adopted by the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC), the Joint FAO/WHO Food Standards Programme protect consumer health and promote fair practices in food trade.
Department of Health | Food and nutrition
Food and nutrition information from the Australian Department of Health website
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
FAO is the UN agency that leads international efforts to defeat hunger,to achieve food security for all, and make sure that people have regular access to enough high-quality food to lead active, healthy lives.
Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ)
FSANZ) is a statutory authority in the Australian Government Health portfolio. FSANZ develops food standards for Australia and New Zealand.
HACCP Australia is a leading food science organisation specialising in the HACCP Food Safety Methodology and its applications within the food and related non food industries.
Health Star Rating
Health Star Rating is a front-of-pack labelling system that rates the overall nutritional profile of packaged food and assigns it a rating from ½ a star to 5 stars. It provides a quick, easy, standard way to compare similar packaged foods.
National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA)
Australia’s leading national accreditation body, recognised by government to assess organisations against a number of international standards for laboratories, inspection bodies, proficiency testing scheme providers and reference material producers.
National Residue Survey (NRS)
NRS is a vital part of the Australian system for managing the risk of chemical residues and environmental contaminants in Australian animal and plant products.
PubChem via NLM
The largest open chemistry database by NIH. It contains information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
PubMed comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
The 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals including Life below Water, Life on Land, Clean Water and Sanitation, Climate Change, Zero Hunger, Sustainable Consumption and Production, and others
Water Quality Australia
Water Quality Australia website is a product of the National Water Quality Management Strategy (NWQMS). It provides information and links to resources related to water quality and associated health issues in Australia. Includes the Australian Drinking Water Guidelines.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these Food Science groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
Australian Food and Grocery Council (AFC)
AFC is the principal representative body for the Australian processed food and beverage industry
Food Safety Information Council (FSIC)
FSIC is a health promotion charity and a national voice for science-based, consumer-focused food safety information in Australia.
Nutrition Australia / Australia Nutrition Foundation
Nutrition Australia aims to ‘inspire healthy eating’ through information, education and consultation services.
Institute of Food Technologists (IFT)
IFT is a forum for food professionals to collaborate, learn, and contribute all with the goal of inspiring and transforming collective scientific knowledge into innovative solutions for the benefit of all people around the world.
International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST)
IUFoST promotes the advancement of global food science and technology through its education programmes, leadership opportunities, encouragement of young scientists, Industry innovation, workshops, regional symposia, international engagement with other global bodies
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Food Science are: