Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biological Sciences Databases
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these Biological Sciences databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
American Society for Microbiology Journals
ASM journals publish high-quality research that has been rigorously peer reviewed by experts.
Biological Abstracts 1985-2009
Indexes over 6000 international life science journals, including biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 75% of the records include abstracts.
3 concurrent users
Birds of North America
Information for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA, Hawaii and Canada.Contains image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, recordings of bird songs and calls.
CSIRO Publishing journals
Peer-reviewed journals covering a broad range of subjects.
Full-text coverage of a wide range of topics in STEM including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics
JoVE Biology includes techniques and experimental approaches in the field of cellular, molecular and organismal biology.
Journal database covering biomedicine, nursing, life sciences, toxicology, nutrition and other related disciplines.
Nature journals online
Covers the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine. Includes daily news, expert opinion, practical methodology, research and reviews.
Access full-text journal articles from the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences. Includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings in a wide range of disciplines. Includes author and affiliation searches, citation impact and analytical tools.
Web of science
Indexes high impact journals through ISI's citation indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded - 1956 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index - 1956 to present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1975 to present.
World Scientific Journals
Full text from over 120+ internationally peer reviewed journals in the fields of nanotechnology, biomedical, computational and medical sciences.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Biological Sciences web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
Atlas of Living Australia (ALA)
An open infrastructure of Australian biodiversity data on all Australian species from multiple sources such as museums, herbaria, communities, government and universities.
Australian Biological Resources Study (ABRS)
ABRS provides national leadership and support for the discovery, naming and classification of Australia’s living organisms.
BioMed Central Open Access (BMC)
BMC is part of Springer Nature. It has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences, by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
Catalogue of Life (COL)
A complete authoritative list of the world's species (animals, plants, fungi, and microbes) - maintained by hundreds of global taxonomists.
International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV)
A part of the Virology Division of the International Union of Microbiological Societies, ICTV authorizes and organizes the taxonomic classification of and the nomenclatures for viruses
Protein Data Bank (PDB)
Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics PDB is the open access digital data resource that provides access to 3D structure data for large biological molecules (proteins, DNA, and RNA)
PubMed comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these Biological Sciences groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Biological Sciences are: