It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library Guides
Environmental and Life Sciences: Biology
A Library Guide for Environmental and Life Sciences including biology, chemistry, environmental science, food science, marine science, geology and geography
Indexes over 6000 international life science journals, including biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 75% of the records include abstracts. 3 concurrent users
Full-text coverage of a wide range of topics in STEM including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings in a wide range of disciplines. Includes author and affiliation searches, citation impact and analytical tools.
Indexes high impact journals through ISI's citation indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded - 1956 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index - 1956 to present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1975 to present.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Biological Sciences web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
PubMed comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these Biological Sciences groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
AusBiotech is Australia’s life sciences organisation that connects industry, government and individuals including therapeutics, medical technology (devices and diagnostics), digital health, and agri-biotech sectors.
Publisher: Kenyon College
Conditions of Use: CC BY-NC
Open Educational Resources (OER) are defined by UNESCO as
“… teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions....”
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Biological Sciences are: