Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these Chemistry databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
ACS American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 40 peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences,
ChemWatch This link opens in a new window
Current Chemical Reactions This link opens in a new window
Contains the latest synthetic methods reported in over 100 organic chemistry journals. Each reaction provides complete reaction diagrams, critical conditions, bibliographic data, and author abstracts.
ICSD (Inorganic crystal structure database) This link opens in a new window
Contains an exhaustive list of known inorganic crystal structures including their atomic coordinates.
Index Chemicus (1993+) This link opens in a new window
Over 100 leading organic chemistry journals; includes full graphical summaries, reaction diagrams and complete bibliographic information. Accessed via Web of Science. 200 concurrent users
JoVE Science Education: Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Six video collections teaching key concepts and fundamental techniques in Chemistry: General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry and Inorganic Chemistry.
Nature journals online This link opens in a new window
Covers the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine. Includes daily news, expert opinion, practical methodology, research and reviews.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals in the fields of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics.
ScienceDirect journals This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journal articles from the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences. Includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
SciFinderN This link opens in a new window
SciFinder provides researchers with access to a large collection of chemistry and related scientific literature. It allows you to search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references.
New users must register here before using SciFinderN.
Web of science This link opens in a new window
Indexes high impact journals through ISI's citation indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded - 1956 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index - 1956 to present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1975 to present.
Wiley Online library This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, reference works, laboratory manuals and the Cochrane Library. Content covers a wide range of subjects including: Medicine, science, engineering and the social sciences.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Chemistry web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
PubChem via NLM
The largest open chemistry database by NIH. It contains information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
ChemSpider is Royal Society of Chemistry's free chemical structure database providing access to over 100 million structures, properties, and associated information.
Merck Chemicals Database
This database provides extensive information including Merck chemicals and reagents, safety questions plus tables and data for daily lab work.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
Protein Data Bank (PDB)
Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics PDB is the open access digital data resource that provides access to 3D structure data for large biological molecules (proteins, DNA, and RNA)
WebQC - Chemical Portal
WebQC is a web application with a mission to provide best-in-class chemistry tools and information to chemists and students.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these Chemistry groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI)
The national professional body for chemical sciences in Australia that plays a leading role in promoting the science, practice and positive impact of chemistry to the public, educational sector, industry and government.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
RSC is the professional body and a learned society for advancing chemistry as a science, developing its applications, and disseminating chemical knowledge in the UK and internationally.
Australian Academy of Science (AAS)
AAS provides scientific advice, promotes international scientific engagement, builds public awareness and understanding of science, and supports excellence in Australian science.
American Chemical Society (ACS)
Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, ACS is one of the world’s largest scientific organizations whose mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people.
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Australia's national science agency and one of the world's largest mission-driven multidisciplinary science and research organisations.
International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)
The world authority on chemical nomenclature and terminology including the naming of new elements in the periodic table; on standardized methods for measurement; and on atomic weights, and many other critically-evaluated data.
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Chemistry are: