Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

EndNote:  From databases

Manage your references and create in-text citations and bibliographies

From databases

Transferring Records from Databases

Most journal databases include a download option that allows the export of records from the database to an EndNote Library. This is called ‘direct export’.

Direct export generally involves the following 3 steps:

  1. Searching the database
  2. Identifying and marking records to save
  3. Selecting the database’s direct export option

If an EndNote Library is open, records will be imported there. Otherwise, locate the EndNote Library as part of the direct export process.

Some databases do not provide a direct export option - instead you may need to use Endnote's Import process.

This process uses import filters - most filters are supplied with EndNote, or can be downloaded from the EndNote Import Filters site


Database Instructions

The process of transferring records from a database into EndNote differs slightly for each database and web browser used. Check the instructions below for further details.

AMED

CINAHL

Cochrane Library

Design and Applied Arts

EBSCO Databases

Ei Compendex

EMBASE

Emerald

ERIC

GeoBASE

Google Scholar

HeinOnline

IEEE Xplore

Informit Databases

Inspec

JSTOR

Maternity & Infant Care

Medline

OVID Databases

Project MUSE

PsycINFO

Proquest Databases

PubMed

SAGE Journal Online

ScienceDirect Journals

SciFinder Scholar

Scopus

SportDiscus

Wiley Online Library