LibGuides: Environmental and Life Sciences: MARI1000 Factsheet Assessment

Hello MARI1000 Students, Welcome to the Help Guide!

This guide provides the library resources to support your Factsheet assignment.

Before you start, it is strongly recommended that you:

read the Assessment Instructions in your Canvas course site
read the Marking Rubric for the assignment in your Canvas course site
select your Topic and list each of the questions you need to answer
know the kind of information you are asked to use for this assignment

1. Understand Your Topic and Research Questions

Before you start looking for information for your assignment, it is important to analyse your topic and questions. Think about:

What the question means and how you should go about answering it.
How much information do you need?
What kind of information have you been asked to use?
Are there any limiters such as time or geographic locations?

Identifying key concepts or keywords in your assignment will help you locate relevant information more effectively. Also think about similar concepts and alternative terms eg 4WD or 4-wheel driving, aboriginal or indigenous.

These key concepts and keywords will form the basis of your search strategy.

Watch the video below on topic analysis. What are your key concepts and keywords?

2. Know the Search Tips and Library Search

Once you have identified the keywords included in your assignment question, you can think about how to use these keywords to conduct your search.

Using appropriate search techniques such as Boolean, phrase searching, and truncation can make your search more effective.

Watch the video below and try the Library Search for books and articles

Library Search

3. Find Journal Articles Using Databases

4. Find Government Documents by Google Advanced Search

Government publications such as legal material, government policies, reports, and statistics may only be available on the internet. The simplest way to find such material is by Google advanced search.

Watch the following video on Google advanced search and try a search on “marine protected areas” or your own topic. Do you know how and why to limit the results by .gov.au, or .pdf?

David L. Rice Library: How to Use Google Advanced Search

Q & A Canvas Discussion Forum Sessions

Your Teaching Liaison Librarian is providing Q & A sessions to respond to any questions via the Canvas Discussion Forum starting the week before the due date.

Day	Time
Friday 6th September	2 PM - 3 PM
Monday 9th September	1 PM - 2 PM
Tuesday 10th September	2 PM - 3 PM
Wednesday 11th September	3 PM - 4 PM
Thursday 12th September	4 PM - 5 PM

5. Do a Snowball Search with Google Scholar

Snowball search is using a key document on your topic as a starting point to find more other relevant publications by tracking down the citations.

Looking at the bibliography on the document to find more titles published on the same topic
Using databases or Google scholar to find other article citing this document.

Watch the video below and try a snowball search in Google Scholar using the doi 10.1007/s00267-016-0696-0

Christopher Neuhaus: Snowball Forward - Finding Related Articles

6. Evaluate Your Sources Using TRAAP

Locating sources appropriate for university assignments takes time and critical evaluation.
Understanding how to evaluate information should make it easier for you to choose sources for your assessments.

Watch the following video on evaluating your sources with the TRAAP method.

For more information see our Resource Evaluation Tool

7. Create A Bibliography in APA Style: An Example

This assignment requires you to provide a bibliography in APA style without in-text citation or footnote.
The bibliography should be located at the end of your factsheet within the two page limit, and arranged in one alphabetical order with hanging indent
Visit the Library Guide to APA style for more details.

Watch the video and see the example of a bibliography in APA 7th style below

Bibliography

Baxter, J. M., Laffoley, D., & Simard, F. (Eds.). (2016). Marine protected areas and climate change: Adaptation and mitigation synergies, opportunities and challenges. IUCN. https://doi.org/10.2305/IUCN.CH.2016.14.en.

Caric, H., Cukrov, N., & Omanovic, D. (2021). Nautical tourism in marine protected areas (MPAs): Evaluating an impact of copper emission from antifouling coating. Sustainability, 13(21). https://doi.org/10.3390/su132111897

Davies, C. E. (2021). Invertebrate health in marine protected areas (MPAs). Journal of Invertebrate Pathology, 186. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jip.2020.107524

Dulvy, N. K., Pacoureau, N., Rigby, C. L., Pollom, R. A., Jabado, R. W., Ebert, D. A., Finucci, B., Pollock, C. M., Cheok, J., Derrick, D. H., Herman, K. B., Sherman, C. S., VanderWright, W. J., Lawson, J. M., Walls, R. H. L., Carlson, J. K., Charvet, P., Bineesh, K. K., Fernando, D., . . . Simpfendorfer, C. A. (2021). Overfishing drives over one-third of all sharks and rays toward a global extinction crisis. Current Biology, 31(22), 5118-5119. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cub.2021.11.008

Dwyer, R. G., Krueck, N. C., Udyawer, V., Heupel, M. R., Chapman, D., Pratt, J. H. L., Garla, R., & Simpfendorfer, C. A. (2020). Individual and population benefits of marine reserves for reef sharks. Current Biology, 30(3), 480-489. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cub.2019.12.005

Espinoza, M., Cappo, M., Heupel, M. R., Tobin, A. J., & Simpfendorfer, C. A. (2014). Quantifying shark distribution patterns and species-habitat associations: Implications of marine park zoning. PloS One, 9(9), e106885. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0106885

Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority. (n.d.). Legislation, regulations, agreements and policies. https://www.gbrmpa.gov.au/about-us/legislation-regulations-and-policies

Grorud-Colvert, K., Sullivan-Stack, J., Roberts, C., Constant, V., Horta E Costa, B., Pike, E. P., Kingston, N., Laffoley, D., Sala, E., Claudet, J., Friedlander, A. M., Gill, D. A., Lester, S. E., Day, J. C., Gonçalves, E. J., Ahmadia, G. N., Rand, M., Villagomez, A., Ban, N. C., ... Lubchenco, J. (2021). The MPA guide: A framework to achieve global goals for the ocean. Science, 373(6560), eabf0861. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.abf0861

International Union for Conservation of Nature. (2017). Coral reefs and climate change. https://www.iucn.org/sites/dev/files/mpas_and_climate_change_issues_brief.pdf

Johnson, S. M., & Watson, J. R. (2021). Novel environmental conditions due to climate change in the world's largest marine protected areas. One Earth, 4(11), 1625-1634. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.oneear.2021.10.016

Kriegl, M., Elías Ilosvay, X. E., von Dorrien, C., & Oesterwind, D. (2021). Marine Protected Areas: At the crossroads of nature conservation and fisheries management. Frontiers in Marine Science, 8. https://doi.org/10.3389/fmars.2021.676264

Speed, C. W., Cappo, M., & Meekan, M. G. (2018). Evidence for rapid recovery of shark populations within a coral reef marine protected area. Biological Conservation, 220, 308-319. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.biocon.2018.01.010

8. Use Open Licensed Images

You may find and use some of the images in the public domain or with Creative Commons license from the following Open Access media collections.

Openverse (formerly Creative Commons Search): All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain. You can search or browse by keyword, images, audio, etc.
Pixabay: Millions of shared free stock photos, vector graphics, illustrations and videos that are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0.
Unsplash: All photos published on Unsplash are licensed under Creative Commons 0, which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes.

You need to provide attributions when using any CC resources. See How to give attribution here.