Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental Studies Databases
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these Environmental Studies databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
Environment complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of a wide range of topics in STEM including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics
GeoBase This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research in the areas of human and physical geography, geology, geomechanics, ecology, international development, and oceanography.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research across the geosciences.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
JoVE Science Education: Environmental Sciences This link opens in a new window
Three video collections teaching key concepts and fundamental techniques in Environmental Sciences - Environmental Science, Environmental Microbiology and Earth Science.
Medline (1946-) This link opens in a new window
Journal database covering biomedicine, nursing, life sciences, toxicology, nutrition and other related disciplines.
Meteorological and geoastrophysical abstracts This link opens in a new window
Proquest index of literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences.
Nature journals online This link opens in a new window
Covers the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine. Includes daily news, expert opinion, practical methodology, research and reviews.
Pollution abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Topics include standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues.
ProQuest databases This link opens in a new window
Over 15 journal databases of abstracted and full-text articles including Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection (1950 - current) and Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (1960 - current)
ScienceDirect journals This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journal articles from the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences. Includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings in a wide range of disciplines. Includes author and affiliation searches, citation impact and analytical tools.
Scopus has a limit of 2,000 citation exports.
Water resources abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics, covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
Web of science This link opens in a new window
Indexes high impact journals through ISI's citation indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded - 1956 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index - 1956 to present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1975 to present.
World development indicators This link opens in a new window
Time series data for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 onwards.Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Environmental Studies web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
Catalogue of the National Agriculture Library (USA) providing a comprehensive source of literature covering all aspects of agriculture.
Atlas of Living Australia (ALA)
ALA is a collaborative, digital, open infrastructure that pulls together Australian biodiversity data from multiple sources, making it accessible and reusable.
Australian Government. Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment
It covers topics of A cleaner environment, Biodiversity, Climate change, Environment protection, Heritage, Land, Marine, National parks, Sustainable communities, Water, Science and research, Policies and law.
Australia State of the Environment
The government site contains the links to commonwealth and state SoE reports, State reports provide links to local government reports, and links to the data used in the reports, and the Supplementary material.
Bureau of Meteorology
Information on Australia's weather and climatic conditions, as well as links to relevant international sites.
Environment, Energy and Science Group: NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
The Environment, Energy and Science Group is part of the Department of Planning, Industry and Environment. EES works with communities, businesses, and governments to protect, preserve and strengthen the quality of our natural environment.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
IPCC is the United Nations body for assessing the science related to climate change. It provides regular assessments of the scientific basis of climate change, its impacts and future risks, and options for adaptation and mitigation
International Directory Network (IDN)
The CEOS International Directory Network (IDN) - a Gateway to the world of Earth Science data. The CEOS IDN is an international effort developed to assist researchers in locating information on available datasets.
National Environmental Information Infrastructure (NEII)
NEII is an information platform designed to improve discovery, access and re-use of nationally significant environmental data. It is comprised of a network of standards-based IT components, which have been developed in collaboration with a number of technical and strategic partners.
National Landcare Program (NLP)
The National Landcare Program is a key part of the Australian Government’s commitment to protect and conserve Australia’s water, soil, plants, animals and ecosystems, as well as support the productive and sustainable use of these valuable resources.
NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
The Department of Planning, Industry and Environment brings together specialists in urban and regional planning, natural resources, industry, environment, heritage, Aboriginal and social housing, and regional New South Wales.
PubChem via NLM
The largest open chemistry database by NIH. It contains information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
PubMed comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
UK Environmental Change Network (ECN)
ECN is the UK's long-term environmental monitoring and research programme. It has been making regular measurements of air, soil, water and a range of animals and plants across a network of sites for over 25 years, supporting science to determine how and why the natural environment is changing.
UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
The 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals including Life below Water, Life on Land, Clean Water and Sanitation, Climate Change, Zero Hunger, Sustainable Consumption and Production, and others
Water Quality Australia
Water Quality Australia website is a product of the National Water Quality Management Strategy (NWQMS). It provides information and links to resources related to water quality and associated health issues in Australia. Includes the Australian Drinking Water Guidelines.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these Environmental Studies groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
Australian Academy of Science (AAS)
AAS provides independent, authoritative and influential scientific advice, promotes international scientific engagement, builds public awareness and understanding of science, and champions, celebrates and supports excellence in Australian science.
Australian and New Zealand Land Information Council (ANZLIC)
ANZLIC—the Spatial Information Council is the peak intergovernmental organisation providing leadership in the collection, management and use of spatial information in Australia and New Zealand.
Australian Conservation Foundation
"ACF is Australia's national environment organisation. We are 700,000 people who speak out for the air we breathe, the water we drink, and the places and wildlife we love. We are proudly independent, non-partisan and funded by donations from our community."
Australian Heritage Council (Australian Govt. DAWE)
The Australian Heritage Council is the principal adviser to the Australian Government on heritage matters. The Council assesses nominations for the National Heritage List, the Commonwealth Heritage List, and relevant international matters related to Australia.
Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS)
A consortium of 61 agencies operating 172 satellites worldwide working together to ensures international coordination of civil space-based Earth observation programs and promotes exchange of data to optimize societal benefit and inform decision making for securing a prosperous and sustainable future for humankind.
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
CSIRO is Australia's national science agency and one of the world's largest mission-driven multidisciplinary science and research organisations. It works with the government, universities, industry and the community to solve challenges through innovative science and technology and create new value for Australians
A global environmental charity aiming to engages people in research and education to promote the understanding and action necessary for a sustainable environment
Environmental Institute of Australia and New Zealand
A not-for-profit, professional association for environmental practitioners from across Australia and New Zealand
European Environment Agency (EEA)
EEA provides information on the environment for developing, adopting, implementing and evaluating environmental policy. In close collaboration with the European Environmental Information and Observation Network (Eionet) and its 32 member countries, the EEA gathers data and produces assessments on a wide range of topics related to the environment.
Firesticks - Cultural burning: healthy communities, healthy landscapes
Firesticks Alliance Indigenous Corporation is an Indigenous led network and aims to re-invigorate the use of cultural burning by facilitating cultural learning pathways to fire and land management.
Future Earth Australia
"Future Earth Australia, based at the Australian Academy of Science, is a peak initiative that convenes leaders across expertise, sectors, and the nation to advance the sustainability agenda and forge pathways to a thriving future."
Group on Earth Observations (GEO)
GEO is an intergovernmental partnership working to improve the availability, access and use of open Earth observations, including satellite imagery, remote sensing and in situ data, to impact policy and decision making in a wide range of sectors.
Indigenous Flora and Fauna Association (IFFA)
IFFA is dedicated to the future of the Australian flora and fauna, whether in habitats of world heritage quality or in the urban back yard
International Erosion Control Australasia (IECA)
IECA is a non-profit, international, member organisation that provides education, resource information and business opportunities for professionals in the erosion and sediment control industry.
National Environmental Monitoring Sites Register (NEMSR)
NEMSR provides a consolidated view of Australia's environmental monitoring sites. It brings together a diverse range of networks across environmental domains, including seismic monitoring stations, ocean radars, long-term weather observation sites, flux stations, and ground cover reference sites.
Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC)
A worldwide community committed to improving access to geospatial, or location information.
United States Environmental Protection Agency
US agency for protecting human health and the environment in the United States, on tribal lands, and around the world
via research, monitoring, standard setting, and enforcement activities
World Resources Institute (WRI)
WRI is a global research organization that works with governments, businesses, multilateral institutions and civil society groups to develop practical solutions that improve people’s lives and protect nature.
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Environmental Studies are: