Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exercise and Sport Science Databases
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these Exercise and Sport Science databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
SPORTDiscus with full text This link opens in a new window
Sports, health, fitness and well-being.
Medline 1946- (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Journal database covering biomedicine, nursing, life sciences, toxicology, nutrition and other related disciplines from 1946.
PsycINFO (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics and engineering.
ScienceDirect journals This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journal articles from the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences. Includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A journal citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings covering sport science
Web of science This link opens in a new window
Indexes high impact journals through ISI's citation indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded - 1956 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index - 1956 to present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1975 to present.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Exercise and Sport Science web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
Australian Sports Commission (ASC)
ASC is the Australian Government agency responsible for managing, supporting and investing in sport. ASC comprises Australian Institute of Sport - Australia’s premiere sports training institute, and Sport Australia
Clearinghouse for Sport
The Clearinghouse for Sport (Clearinghouse) is the information and knowledge sharing platform for Australian sport.
Sport Integrity Australia (SIA)
SIA is a new organisation combining the functions of the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority, the National Integrity of Sport Unit and the nationally focused integrity functions of Sport Australia.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Journal database covering biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books
Medlineplus: Exercise and physical fitness
A health information resource by the US National Library of Medicine covers exercise and physical fitness.
Medscape provides physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide with the latest medical news and expert perspectives, point-of-care drug and disease information including sports medicine.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these Exercise and Sport Science groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Exercise and Sport Science are: