Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

EndNote:  Use EndNote with Word

Manage your references and create in-text citations and bibliographies

Insert in-text citations

Insert citations into your document

You can use EndNote with Word to insert correctly formatted in-text citations in your document, using the referencing style of your choice, and automatically create a bibliography at the end of your document.

This is called Cite While You Write (CWYW).

Top 3 things you need to know:

  • Use only one EndNote library for all of your writing - references used in one document should NOT come from different EndNote libraries.
  • Use the Edit & Manage Citation command to make changes to citations in Word documents. Do NOT use the [Delete] or [Backspace] keys on the keyboard to remove the citations.
  • If you are using footnote styles, Word controls the numbering and placement of the footnote and EndNote controls the formatting. So you will first need to insert the footnote using Word, then insert the EndNote citation into that footnote.

Check out these video tutorials about CWYW:​

Or look at the 'Using EndNote with Word' section of the UON Introduction to EndNote X9 guide.

Edit your citations

Edit citations in your document

If you choose to edit a citation that you have inserted into your Word document, you MUST use the and Manage Citations menu on the EndNote X7 toolbar in Word.

Changes that you can make include:

  • Excluding the author's name
  • Excluding the year
  • Adding page numbers

Look at the UON Introduction to ​EndNote guide for step by step instructions on editing your citations​

Format your bibliography

Format your bibliography

EndNote will automatically create your bibliography in your chosen referencing style at the end of your document, and you can then choose to change the layout or style of your bibliography using the Format Bibliography menu on the EndNote toolbar in Word.

You may choose to add a title, change the font style and size or the line spacing for your bibliography.

Look at the UON Introduction to EndNote X9 guide for detailed instructions, or Mac users check out the video tutorials at the EndNote YouTube channel: