University of Newcastle Library guides

Anglican Diocese of Newcastle Archives:  Archdeacon Williamson

The archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle, including parish registers, records of the Bishops of Newcastle and the records of St John's Theological College at Morpeth held by Cultural Collections.

Archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle

Bishops' Registry Records

A selection of images from Archdeacon Williamson's magic lantern series

These images were scanned from items in the Williamson Collection of some 450 photographic glass slides and other items, which was acquired by the archives section of the Auchmuty Library. The collection was assembled by Archdeacon A. N. Williamson, who served for many years in the diocese of Newcastle, as well as travelling extensively in the South Pacific area. The collection vividly portrays town and country life in Australia, particularly in Sydney and the Hunter Valley, soon after the turn of the century. The collection also illustrates life in Japan, Papua New Guinea, Nauru and Fiji, from the turn of the century until the mid-1930s.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354