University of Newcastle Library guides

Anglican Diocese of Newcastle Archives:  Bishop Tyrrell

The archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle, including parish registers, records of the Bishops of Newcastle and the records of St John's Theological College at Morpeth held by Cultural Collections.

Archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle

Photo of Bishop Tyrrell

Bishops' Registry Records

William Tyrrell

Bishop of Newcastle, 1847 - 1879

B6556-B6557

  • Diaries, 1850 - 1868.

A5308

  • Typed extract from diary, 1855.

A6022

  • Typed extracts of diaries, 1850, 1852, 1855 (Elkin papers).

A5309

  • MS diary or account book, 1849 - 1867.

A5308
Containing:
Legal records:

  • Bishop Tyrrell's wills, 1873, 1878, copy 1910;
  • Mortgages, 1879, 1898;
  • Conveyance to R.W. Thompson, Maitland;
  • Petition to consecrate St. John's Church, Newcastle, 1860;
  • Legal correspondence relating to the Newcastle Proprietary Grammar School and Honeysuckle land, 1840 - 1879.

Correspondence:

  • Letter book relating to College Estate at Newcastle, 1842, 1853 - 1855;
  • Letter from Lands Department relating to land grants at Tinonee, Wingham, West Kempsey, 1857;
  • West Maitland correspondence, 1840 - 1875;
  • Letters from Bishop Tyrrell, 1856 - 1867;
  • Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, 1847 - 1852;
  • Clergy list, 1854;
  • Tracing of Bullock Island and letter, 1875.

A7490

  • Transcriptions of correspondence between Dr. William Tyrrell and the Reverend William Clarkson Hawkins, 1869 - 1876.

A5309 , B6558

  • Accounting records, 1831 - 1879.

A5309
Containing:

  • Minutes of meeting of the Bishops of Australasia, Sydney, 1850;
  • William Tyrrell… Centenary play, by F. de Witt Batty, 1947. [See also A6199];
  • Order of procession and hymns at the burial of…William Tyrrell, 1879;
  • The episcopal character and life work of the late Bishop of Newcastle… by the Rev. S. Simm, 1879;
  • Photograph of Australian bishops at the consecration of St. Andrew's Cathedral, Sydney, 1868;
  • Photograph of Bishop Tyrrell, [n.d.];
  • Printing block of Bishop's bookplate;
  • Wax seal;
  • Plan of vault for William Tyrrell, [n.d.].

B6559

  • Catalogue of books in the Tyrrell Library, 1880.

A5377

  • Letters from Bishop Tyrrell, 1871, 1872 (Markham & Mills records).

A6336

  • Copy of a reference to Timothy Tyrrell, father of William Tyrrell, 1983.
  • R.B.C. The life and labors of William Tyrrell by R.G. Boodle.

A7020

  • Inventory and Description of Bishop Tyrrell's Diaries, Letter Books and Legal Correspondence [B6558, A6556-A6557, B6559, A6022 (xi), A5308] 1990, by Margaret Hammond].

B11757

  • Good Bishop Tyrrell and the Diocese of Newcastle, Australia, by Katherine Redden.

Acts and Proceedings formerly held by the Sydney Diocesan Archives and transferred to Diocese of Newcastle Archives / University of Newcastle Archives on 31 August 1988:

A7762(i)

  • Letters Patent, 25 June 1847;
  • Notarial Act on the Consecration of Rev William Tyrrell 29 June 1847.

A7762(ii)

  • Extracts from Bishop Tyrrell's correspondence, 1848 - 1855.

A7762(iii)

  • Correspondence with Colonial Secretary's Office, 1856 - 1857;
  • with Denominational Board 1851.

A7762(iv)

  • Correspondence with Henry Kerrison James, Secretary to Bishop of Sydney, 1854 - 1855.

A7762(v)

  • Correspondence with Henry Kerrison James, Secretary to Bishop of Sydney, 1856 - 1857.

A7762(vi)

  • Dispute over election of Trustees at Christ Church Newcastle, 1862.

A7762(vii)

  • Correspondence re Title Deeds of Christ Church Newcastle 1874;
  • Ellalong land 1874.

A7762(viii)

  • Executors of the late Bishop Tyrrell - correspondence with Wardens of St John's Lambton 1884, plus 2 photographs of Lambton Church.

A7762(ix)
Containing:

  • List of documents showing Consecration of Churches, Burial Grounds, Clergy appointed as Surrogates. 1847 - 1853;
  • Copy of document inducting William Tyrrell D.D. as the Lord Bishop of Newcastle, by the incumbent of Christ Church, Charles Pleydell Neale Wilton, 1848;
  • Memo - Rev. F.N. Addams of St. Paul's, Paterson - 27th January, 1848 ;
  • Rev. Arthur Douglas of Gosford, 18th January, 1848;
  • Three notes by Bishop Tyrrell - listing Rev. Richard George Boodle, Rev. Henry Offley Irwin, and [Benjamin] Glennie. 20.3.1848;
  • Pencil note - Thomas O'Reilly, St. Thomas at Port Macquarie. 1.10.1848;
  • Document, with Episcopal Seal, appointing Benjamin Glennie Minister in the Parish of Brisbane and District of Moreton Bay. 20.3.1848.

A7762(ii)
Containing:

  • Petition to consecrate the Church of Saint John the Evangelist and Burial Ground at Wollombi. Rev. Robert Thorley Bolton MA, Minister of Hexham. United Parishes of Hexham & Wollombi. Signatures attached Benjamin Sullivan, John Thos. Baker, George Bridge, Thomas Crawford, Thomas Bridge, Benjamin Bridge, David [?], 15.2.1849;
  • Memorandum of particulars required respecting Wolombi (sic). Signed W.Newcastle [Bishop Tyrrell]. Episcopal Seal affixed, 15.2.1849;
  • Sentence of Consecration of Saint John the Evangelist Church at Wollombi. Parchment document and Episcopal Seal. 15.2.1849;
  • Sentence of consecration of the Burial Ground at Wollombi. Parchment document and Episcopal Seal. 15.2.1849;
  • Copy of grant, dated 9.11.1846, of one acre of land for Wollombi Burial Ground, United Church of England and Ireland. Witnessed by Sir Charles Augustus Fitz Roy. For 15.2.1949.

A7762(xi)
Containing:

  • Petition to consecrate Saint Peters Church Armidale. 26.5.1850.
  • Parchment document, Sentence of Consecration of Saint Peters Church at Armidale, plus a note on scrap paper. 26.5.1850;
  • Notes about ministers in the diocese, pencil on back of shipping reports.- Coles Child, Thos. O'Reilly, John Frederick Richardson Whinfield, Frederick Richard Kemp, James Blackwood, Henry Offley Irwin, and B. Glennie. 22.9.1850;
  • Notes on scrap paper of ministers' license dates, and their short letters. C.Williams, M.Whinfield, and W.Rodwell. 25.11.1850.

A7762(xii)
Containing:

  • Petition to consecrate the Church of Saint Matthias at Merton from Rev. Richard George Boodle MA 26.5.1851;
  • Petition to consecrate the Burial Ground at Merton, 12.3.1851;
  • Draft copy of petition to consecrate the Church of All Saints at Singleton from Rev. James Blackwood. 19.3.1851;
  • Parchment document with Episcopal Seal, Sentence of Consecration of the Church of All Saints at Singleton. 19.3.1851;
  • Parchment document with Episcopal Seal, Sentence of Consecration of Church of Saint Matthias at Merton. 20.3.1851;
  • Petition to consecrate the Church of the Holy Trinity at Carrington, County of Gloucester. Church erected by the A.A.Company. Rev. William M. Cowper, MA. 7.5.1851;
  • Draft of sale, from A.A.. Company to Bishop of Newcastle, of church at Carrington, [Port Stephens], County of Gloucester. Includes plan of the site. 7.5.1851;
  • Parchment Sentence of Consecration of the Church of the Holy Trinity at Carrington, by the Bishop of Newcastle. 7.5.1851;
  • Draft of petition to consecrate church and burial ground at Stroud. 1851;
  • Draft of grant of land from A.A. Company to Bishop of Newcastle, 1 acre for 1/-, for church at Stroud, Plan attached, 1851;
  • Parchment document with Episcopal Seal, Sentence of Consecration of the Church of Saint John the Evangelist at Stroud. 8.5.1851;
  • Parchment document with Episcopal Seal, Sentence of Consecration of the Burial Ground at Stroud. 8.8.1851;
  • Petition for Consecration of the Burial Ground at East Maitland. 14.5.1851;
  • Parchment document with Episcopal Seal, Sentence of Consecration of the Burial Ground East Maitland. 14.5.1851;
  • Draft of Commission to Rev. Henry Offley Irwin to administer the oath to Rev. John Wallace to be a Surrogate. 25.6.1851;
  • Commission to Rev. John Wallace, of Ipswich, to be a Surrogate. Oath and declaration signed by John Wallace and by H.O. Irwin. 25.6.1851;
  • Draft of Reference for Josiah Rodwell of Morpeth, travelling to London, 1851;
  • Note referring to Consecration of West Maitland Burial Ground. 27.11.1851.

A7762(xiii)
Containing:

  • Draft letter to appoint Rev. Robert George Boodle a Surrogate. 7.6.1852;
  • Note of Rev. Frederick R. Kemp, Scone, and Rev. John R. Blomfield, Morpeth, 1.5.1852.

A7762(xiv)
Containing:

  • Note of licenses, Rev. Coles Child, Scone and Rev. Arthur Edward Selwyn, Grafton. 8.3.1853;
  • Oath administered to Rev. Edward Tanner for his license, by Rev. William Cowper, Archdeacon of Cumberland, 1.7.1853;
  • Notes for licensing Septimus Hungerford pencilled on draft for Edward Tanner, 1.9.1853;
  • Pencil draft to of letter to appoint Rev. A.E. Selwyn as a Surrogate, 4.7.1853;
  • Draft letter to ask Oliver Fry, JP, Commissioner of Crown Lands for district of Clarence River NSW, to administer oath to Rev. Arthur Edward Selwyn to be a Surrogate, 4.7.1853;
  • Document with Episcopal Seal to Oliver Fry, with Commission as Special Commissary, appointing him to administer the Oath required to Rev. Arthur Edward Selwyn to be Surrogate and Commissary of the district of the Clarence River, 4.7.1853;
  • Draft of letter of commission to appoint Rev. Edward Williams as Surrogate, 23.8.1853;
  • Copy of letter of Commission to Rev. John Henry Durbin to administer the Oath required to Rev. Edward Williams, minister of the District of Liverpool Plains, as Surrogate. 23.8.1853;
  • Copy of warrant to allow the disinterment of Rev. Archibald William Blane. Requested through Philip Gidley King (Governor of N.S.W.) for removal to England to the family vault. 1853;
  • Letter from William Henry Savigny to H.K. James (Secretary to the Bishop of Sydney) from Grammar School, Newcastle, 20.4.1853;
  • Copy of license to William Henry Savigny, 31.12.1853, License, with Episcopal Seal, for William Henry Savigny. 31.12.1853;
  • Printed wording for licenses for ministers in the jurisdiction of William, Bishop of Newcastle and extracts from Letters Patent, on the reverse.

A7762(xv)
Containing:

  • Temporary license of Rev. Septimus Hungerford, Armidale, District of New England. 2.4.1854;
  • Draft copy of temporary license of Rev. Septimus Hungerford;
  • Copy of : Form of Prayer to be used in all Churches and Chapels of the United Church of England and Ireland. Sydney, William Hanson, Government Printer, Hyde Park. 10pp.1854;
  • Noted. Rev. Thomas Lawrence Dodd licensed as minister in the Burnett and Wide Bay District. 25.9.1854;
  • Draft copy of letter appointing Thomas Lawrence Dodd Surrogate in our Diocese, 25.9.1853.[sic.];
  • Prepared letter for appointing Thomas Lawrence Dodd as Surrogate. 25.9.1854;
  • Septimus Hungerford - Surrogate oath. 9.10.1854;
  • Septimus Hungerford - draft on printed form of license for the Church of Saint Peter, Armidale. 1.10.1854;
  • Pencil draft for consecration of a church in Brisbane. Rev. Henry Offley Irwin as minister;
  • Dated draft of Sentence of Consecration of Church in Brisbane by Bishop of Newcastle. 1854.

A7763(i)
Containing:

  • Draft of license for John Mosely to the District of Ipswich, County of Stanley, 1855;
  • Document of license, Oath by Rev. John Mosely, witnesses by Rev.H.O. Irwin, Commissary, 7.2.1855;
  • Draft of appointment of Rev. John Mosely as Surrogate in the District of Ipswich, 1855;
  • Draft letter authorising Rev. H.O. Irwin to administer the oath as surrogate to John Mosely, 1855;
  • Rough draft of oath for Rev. John Mosely and declaration by Rev. H.O. Irwin, 1855;
  • Testimonial for Rev. John Wallace to the Lord Bishop of London, 1855;
  • Petition to consecrate Saint Clement's Church at Falbrook and Jerry's Plains. Rev. Joseph Cooper. 11 signatures attached. 1855;
  • Note - Holy Trinity Church, Merriwa, Rev. R.G.Boodle MA,;
  • Church of Saint Clement's, at Falbrook , Rev. Joseph Cooper, of Jerry's Plains & Falbrook;
  • Parchment document of Sentence of Consecration of Saint Clement's Church at Falbrook. 15.3.1855;
  • Petition of the Rev. R.G. Boodle and 13 signatories asking for consecration of the new church as the Church of the Holy Trinity, at Merriwa. 19.3.1855;
  • Draft of petition to consecrate the Church of the Holy Trinity, Merriwa. 1855;
  • Parchment document Sentence of Consecration of the church of The Holy Trinity of Merriwa by the Bishop of Newcastle, 19.3.1855;
  • Draft for consecration of a new of a new church, overwritten for several applications, i.e. Merriwa, Falbrook, and Singleton;
  • Rough draft for petition of Rev. R.G. Boodle for ground annexed to the Church of St. Matthias at Merton to be consecrated for a burial ground, 1885;
  • Draft of petition from Rev. R.G. Boodle for consecration of Burial Ground annexed to St. Matthias at Muswell Brook.(Fine penmanship), [1855];
  • Parchment document, Sentence of Consecration of the Burial Ground at Merton. 23.3.1855;
  • Letter to H.K. James, Bishop's Registrar, Sydney, from H. Baker, requesting Episcopal Seal be attached to a faculty and commission sent under separate cover;
  • Draft of letter to appoint a Surrogate. Names noted in pencil. Rev. J. Blackwood and Rev. D. O'Reilly, 1855;
  • Draft copy of letter to Rev. James Blackwood, 1855;
  • Draft note of oath by Rev. James Blackwood on appointment as Surrogate, 1855;
  • Copy of letter to Rev. Thomas O'Reilly appointing him as Surrogate in Diocese of Newcastle. (Note on back says "Comm. to Rev. J. Cross"), 24.4.1855;
  • Document with Episcopal Seal, to Rev. John Cross, Minister of Port Macquarie, in the County of Macquarie, appointing him as Commissary to administer the oath to Rev. Thomas O'Reilly, Minister of Port Macquarie to become Surrogate, 24.4.1855;
  • Draft copy of letter to Rev. John Cross to administer oath to Rev. Thomas O'Reilly to become Surrogate, 1855;
  • Draft letter from Rev. John Cross acknowledging he administered the oath to appoint Rev. Thomas O'Reilly as Surrogate for the Diocese of Newcastle. 1855;
  • Copy of license for Rev. Lovick Tyrrell, District of Black Creek and Lochinvar, 24.9.1855;
  • Copy of letter from Rev. Benjamin Glennie of Darling Downs, nominating William Woodman Dove as curate, 1855;
  • Draft license for Rev. William W. Dove as curate in the district of Darling Downs, 24.9.1855;
  • Draft printed form of oaths for Rev. Edward Kelson Yeatman to be licensed as a minister. 26.10.1855;
  • Draft letter to Rev. Robert Creyke at Brisbane as Commissary, appointing Rev. Edward Kelson Yeatman as Surrogate in the District of Brisbane, 1855;
  • Note, showing Rev. Edward Kelson Yeatman, Church of St. John, Brisbane, licensed for fourteen (14) months only unless specially renewed by the Bishop of Newcastle, 1.11.1855;
  • Draft declaration by Rev. Robert Creyke that he administered the oath to Rev. Edward Kelson Yeatman in Brisbane. 8.11.1855;
  • Document with Episcopal Seal requiring Rev. Thomas Cade Battley, Commissary, Brisbane Water to administer the oath to Rev. Alfred Glennie to be Surrogate in the District of Brisbane Water, 28.11.1855;
  • Draft copy of letter to appoint Rev. Edward Kelson Yeatman as Surrogate sworn before Rev. Robert Creyke as Commissary. 8.11.1855;
  • Note of Surrogate oath sworn by Rev. Edward Kelson Yeatman. 8.11.1855;
  • Copy of letter from Rev. Benjamin Glennie, Drayton, Darling Downs nominating Rev. William Woodman Dove as his curate, 10.11.1855;
  • Copy of letter appointing Rev. Alfred Glennie as Surrogate, 13.11.1855;
  • Draft letter to appoint Rev. Edward Kelson Yeatman as Commissary to administer the oath to Rev. Alfred Glennie as Surrogate in Brisbane Water, 8.11.1855;
  • Draft of declaration by the Commissary in delivering the Commission as Surrogate to Rev. Alfred Glennie, from the Bishop, 1855;
  • Pencil draft to appoint Rev. Edward Kelson Yeatman as Surrogate. Rev. R. Creyke [as Commissary], 20.11.1855.

A7763(ii)
Containing:

  • Letter from Rev. J.R. Blomfield to arrange the consecration of St. John's Church at Hinton, 1.1.1856;
  • Note with dimensions of the Church at Hinton. 1.1.1856;
  • Draft- Sentence of consecration of St. Philip's Church at Warkworth, then St. Johns, at Hinton written over in red ink to use for draft letter. January, 1856;
  • Document - petition for the Consecration of the Church of St. Philip at Warkworth. Signed by Rev. Joseph Cooper, William Watts, M. Smith, W. Durham, S.B. Dight, 15.1.1856;
  • Draft Sentence of Consecration of the new Church of St. Philip at Warkworth, overwritten to have St.John's at Hinton's details entered on a new document, 1856;
  • Parchment document with Episcopal Seal, Sentence of Consecration of Saint Philip's Church at Warkworth. 15.1.1856;
  • Printed form of oaths, sworn by Rev. James Carter, witnessed by Rev. W. Cowper. 15.1.1856;
  • Draft of list of Clergy in the Diocese of Newcastle, 1855, 31.1.1856;
  • Draft statement of Rev. Samuel Simm, licensed in the Church of John the Evangelist at Stroud. 4.2.1856;
  • Draft of document to Commission Rev. Samuel Simm as Surrogate. 4.2.1856;
  • Printed form to license Lovick Tyrrell - temporary license until 31.12.1856. 10.5.1856;
  • Minute from Church meeting (21.7.1856), about Lovick Tyrrell, licensed at Raymond Terrace 25.7.1856 until end of 1856;
  • Note - L. Tyrrell and E.K. Yeatman were ordained priests at St. James Church, Morpeth. 21.12.1856.

A7763(iii)
Containing:

  • Draft licenses for Rev. Lovick Tyrell, appointed to St. James Church, Morpeth, and John Roe Blomfield, appointed to District of Raymond Terrace. 1.3.1857;
  • Notes of ministers who received their licenses, i.e. R.G. Boodle, J.A. Greaves, L. Tyrrell and L.H. Kemsley, 1857;
  • Draft and document of Petition to consecrate the Burial Ground annexed to the Church of St.Clement at Falbrook. Rev. Joseph Cooper, Theophilus Foot, John Lethbridge, Henry Hewitt, James Tulloch were petitioners. 26.3.1857;
  • Draft and Parchment Document with Episcopal Seal of Sentence of Consecration of the Burial Ground at Falbrook, 7.3.1857;
  • Note - Bishop of Newcastle arrived in Sydney, 10th or 11th July, 1857;
  • Letter from Rev. Lacy Henry Rumsey asking to be registered to solemnize marriages. 10.8.1857;
  • Printed circular sent to all clergy to substitute " Prince Consort" for "The Prince Albert". 31.10.1857;
  • Document with Episcopal Seal with oaths for the Commission to Arthur Halloran Esq., Tinana, to commission Rev. R. Postlethwaite, Wide Bay, as Surrogate. Letter accompanied the returned documents. 10.11.1857;
  • Note of ordination at St. James, Morpeth, of Rev. William Woodman Dove, P(riest), George Charles Bode, D(eacon) and Charles William Rowe B.A., D(eacon). 20.12.1857.

A7763(iv)

  • Oath taken before Arthur Halloran, Commissary by Rev. Richard Postlethwaite, licensed as Surrogate, Newcastle and draft of license as Surrogate oath by Rev. John James Nash before Rev. Coles Child, Church of St Luke, Scone, 1858;
  • Correspondence from Charles S. Hay and draft copy of a warrant to allow the disinterrment and removal of the remains of William Kitchenham Ogilvie, buried 19.4.1856 in the Burial Ground annexed to the Church of St. Matthias at Merton. Minister was Rev. John Albert Greaves. 30.4.1858;
  • Draft of Commission to Rev. Septimus Hungerford to swear in Rev. Charles William Rowe as Surrogate, District of Warialda, 18.5.1858;
  • George Charles Boodle, Surrogate, Northern portion of the District of New England at Glen Innes, 1858;
  • Letter (black border) from Rev. Pleydell Wilton, re Mr. Oakes interred September 1857, requesting remains be removed from Newcastle Christ Cathedral Burial Ground and transferred to the McCleay on behalf of the widow. Warrant authorised the removal to the McCleay 28.5.1858;
  • Warrant with Episcopal Seal gave permission for the disinterrment and removal of the late James Doherty, by his brother Thomas Doherty, from Burial Ground at St. Matthias Church at Merton, to the family Burial Ground at Murrurundi. Rev. John Albert Greaves at Merton, officiated. Letter written by Bishop Tyrrell to Rev. J.A. Greaves gave permission. (5.4.1858);
  • Letter from Rev. J.A. Greaves to H.K. James , enclosing a declaration of the interment, signed by Stephen Munn and George A.J. Kibble. 17.6.1858;
  • Draft of Commission to Rev. Robert Thorley Bolton as Surrogate;
  • List of licensed ministers
  1. Robert Thorley Bolton MA, Church of Mary Magdalene with the districts of Hawkesbury, Colo and McDonald River.
  2. Arthur Wayn S.A.C., Parish of Hexham in the County of Northumberland.
  3. Thomas Lawrence D.D. , Parish of Dungog with the district annexed;
  • Rough draft of consent to the Hawkesbury District in the Diocese of Sydney being united with the adjoining districts of Colo and McDonald in the Diocese of Newcastle and that the licensed minister should reside in the Parsonage House at the Hawkesbury after. Signed F. Sydney. 1.8.1858;
  • Rough draft of Petition for Consecration and Sealed Document Sentence of Consecration of the Burial Ground at Point Frederick, Gosford. Rev. Alfred Glennie, minister, 16.9.1858;
  • Draft of Commission to appoint Rev. Alfred Glennie of the Parish of Gosford as a Trustee of the Church following the death of Henry Donnison (5.8.1847) late Trustee of the Church. 16.9.1858;
  • Copies of licenses
  1. Rev. L.A. Rumsey, Ipswich and
  2. Rev. William Woodman Dove, Jerry's Plains and Falbrook. 1.10.1858;
  • Draft of a Commission to appoint Commissaries to the Diocese of Newcastle. 4.10.1858;
  • Draft of a certificate of appointment of Trustees of Christ Church Newcastle.
  1. Rev. Charles Pleydell Neale Wilton M.A.
  2. Rev. Richard George Boodle M.A., Canons of our Church. 10.10.1958;
  • Mr. Simon Kemp and Mr. George Tully elected Trustees to replace James Henry Crummer Esq. (resignation), and William Croasdill Esq. (absent from the colony over 6 months.) 19.10.1958.

A7763(v)
Containing:

  • Printed license copy for Rev. William Woodman Dove, 1.1.1859
  • Draft of Commission to the Trustees, Christ Church of Newcastle, to replace Trustee Henry Dumaresq Esq. JP of Stroud (deceased March 1838) by Simon Kemp Esq. Of Newcastle, appointed to be Trustee of Christ Church of Newcastle, 10.1.1859;
  • Draft of Commission to Rev. Robert Chapman to be Surrogate in the Diocese of Newcastle. 21.1.1859;
  • Draft of Commission to Trustees of St. Mary's at West Maitland, appointed Emanuel Hungerford and W. Peter Green. Previous Trustees were H. I. Pilcher, deceased, and George Hobler, removed, 24.1.1859;
  • Draft Commission to the Trustees of the Church at Gosford to appoint (Rev. Alfred Glennie- minister) as Trustees, Edward Hammond Hargraves, James Harrison and Thomas Cade Battley;
  • Commission to appoint as Surrogates, (rough draft),
  1. Arthur Macarthur Esq., of Marouan Special Commissary to swear in George Charles Bode, Glen Innes,
  2. )George Faircloth Esq. Ipswich, Special Commissary to swear in Lacy Henry Rumsey Ipswich,
  3. Alexander McKellar Esq. Runnymede, Special Commissary to swear in William Woodman Dove, Richmond River, and
  4. Frederick Goulburn Panton Esq. of Kempsey to swear in Frederick Richard Kemp, Kempsey, 12.3.1859;
  • Letter from Bishop Tyrrell to H. K. James re documents sent - licenses - L.H. Rumsey, W.W,. Dove, S. Hungerford, 12.3.1859;
  • Correspondence concerning the removal of the bodies of two children of Daniel Nolan, from the Burial Ground attached to St. Lukes Church, Scone, to be interred in the Roman Catholic Burial Ground, recently acquired, 19.3.1859;
  • Draft document of Faculty authorizing the disinterrment and removal of the remains of Daniel Nolan and Mary Nolan from the St. Lukes Burial Ground, Scone, 29.3.1859;
  • Licenses for
  1. Rev. Frederick Dashwood Bode, Church of St. Albans with district annexed at Muswellbrook,
  2. Rev. John Albert Greaves, Church of St. Peter, East Maitland (1.7.1859) and
  3. Rev. Bowyer Edward Shaw, St. John's, Newcastle, 11.10.1859;
  • Petition to consecrate the Church of St. Paul at Tamworth, signed by Rev. Edward Williams, William Robinson, Manager of the Bank of NSW, William Smith, Solicitor Tamworth, Church Wardens Jas. Barnett, C.N. Heness [?] and James Bailey and Philip Gidley King [Pastoralist]. 13.11.1859;
  • Draft of Sentence of Consecration of St. Pauls Church in the district of Tamworth, 11.1859.

A7763(vi)
Containing:

  • Licenses for
  1. Rev. W.E. White, Church of St. Albans, Muswellbrook;
  2. Rev. Francis Dashwood Bode, Warialda with Bundarrah ;
  3. Rev. Whitmore Carr, Dungog, 1860;
  • Correspondence and Document with Episcopal Seal concerning the Consecration of St. John the Evangelist Church at Newcastle. Rev. Bowyer Edward Shaw, minister, 1860;
  • Statement by Rev. Coles Child, St. Luke's Church, Scone to certify that the bodies of the Nolan children were removed from the Burial Ground at St. Luke's, 30.3.1859 [19.4.1860];
  • Note of license for Rev David Gilbert Birds, B.A.. to minister in the District of Cassilis and to reside at Muswellbrook until a Parsonage at Cassilis is provided, 24.4.1860;
  • Copy of license
  1. Rev. William Clarkson Hawkins to the District of the Manning River ;
  2. Rev. Charles Walsh to Church of St. Paul at Paterson with the district annexed in the County of Durham and to reside in the Parsonage at Paterson (in force during the temporary absence of Rev. F.W. Addams, unless confirmed or renewed by Bishop Tyrrell), 7.1860;
  • Note of license for Thomas Lawrence Dodd, minister in the District of Hexham, and to reside in the Parsonage House at Hexham, 1.10.1860;
  • Letter of promise of Edward Irby, Esq. of Bolivia to give land for a Burial Ground at Deepwater and Forty Pounds for keeping the fence of same in repair, 12.11.1860;
  • Draft of petition, and a letter of petition to consecrate the Burial Ground at Deepwater. Document with Episcopal Seal for Sentence of Consecration of the Burial Ground in the district of Deepwater, 12.11.1860;
  • Petition to consecrate Christ Church at Tenterfield from Rev. George Charles Bode, 1860;
  • Draft letter and oath to appoint Rev. Bowyer Edward Shaw as Surrogate in the Diocese of Newcastle, 1860.

A7763(vii)
Containing:

  • Draft petition of W. Windeyer of Tomago to consecrate the new church at Tomago, 1.1861;
  • Note of letters of testimonial to John Bird, Archbishop of Canterbury, for Rev. Richard George Boodle, from Robert Chapman, St. Marys, West Maitland, J.R. Mackeray, St. Pauls, West Maitland and J.A. Greaves, St. Peters, East Maitland, 18.1.1861;
  • Draft document Commission to Rev. Richard George Boodle as Commissary, 1861;
  • License of Rev. John Fletcher to Cathedral Church of Christ Church at Newcastle with the Parish annexed, and reside in the Parsonage House attached, and Commission as Surrogate. 1.2.1861;
  • License for Hugh Calvely Claughton to Church of St. Paul at Paterson and to reside in the Parsonage House, (temporary during absence of Rev. F.W. Addams, 1.2.1861;
  • License for Rev. Charles Walsh to Church of St. James at Morpeth and reside in Parsonage House. 1.2.1861. ;
  • Oath and Commission of Surrogacy for Rev. Charles Walsh, 25.4.1861;
  • Draft Commission and signed oath for
  1. Rev. Whitmore Carr
  2. Rev. John Frederic Richardson Whinfield to be Surrogate in the Diocese of Newcastle, 10.5.1861;
  • License for Rev. John Frederic Richardson Whinfield to Parish of Tamworth in the District of Liverpool Plains, also note in Bishop Tyrrell's hand, 11.7.1861;
  • Draft Commission to Rev. David Gilbert Bird to be Surrogate - Diocese of Newcastle. 7.1861;
  • Temporary License for Rev. Thomas Head Shaw - District of Wollombi, for 6 months, 24.7.1861;
  • Draft Commission to Rev. Francis Dashwood Bode as Surrogate, and draft Commission to E.G. Clerk Esq. as Special Commissary, to swear in Rev. F.D. Bode as Surrogate, 1861;
  • Draft of Faculty authorizing certain alterations in Christ Church Cathedral, Newcastle, 19.9.1861;
  • Commission to Rev. John Roe Blomfield as Surrogate in Diocese of Newcastle, 10.10.1861;
  • Ordinations - Diocese of Newcastle - at St. James Church, Morpeth - 22.12.1861
  1. W.C. Hawkins from Deacon to Priest
  2. Enoch Price a) Ordained as Deacon b) License to District of the Lower Namoi, to reside at Wee Waa c) Commission as Surrogate.
  3. Frederick White a) Ordained as Deacon b). Licensed to District of the Richmond River, to reside at Casino c). Appointed to be Surrogate;
  • Letter from Rev. Alfred Glennie re Election of Trustee at Gosford, Mr. William Leworthy Good Drew to replace Mr. Edward Hammond Hargraves who resigned, 24.12.1861;
  • Draft Commission to William Clarkson Hawkins to be a Surrogate - Diocese of Newcastle 25.12.1861;
  • Draft Petition to consecrate the Church of All Saints at Dungog, and a letter from Rev. Whitmore Carr giving required details for the Petition, 12.1861.

A7763(viii)
Containing:

  • Draft Commission to Beresford Hudson Esq. as Trustee of the Church, Parsonage, Glebe and Burial Ground at Newcastle, 17.1.1862;
  • Letter from Rev. P.H. Shaw, Gunnedah, asking for necessary papers for marriages as he is appointed Surrogate, 29.1.8162;
  • Petition to Consecrate the Burial Ground at Hexham - Rev.Thomas Lawrence Dodd and petitioners, and Document of Sentence of Consecration, 6.4.1862;
  • Commission to Captain Charles Bolton and Charles Boscowen Ranclaud Esq. as Trustees of the Church, Parsonage, Glebe and Burial Ground at Newcastle. Draft and Document with Seal, 18.6.1862;
  • Draft petition and Sentence of Consecration of the Church of St. John the Evangelist at Raymond Terrace, Minister Rev. John Roe Blomfield, 25.9.1862;
  • Draft correspondence and Sentence of Consecration of the Burial Ground at Armidale. Draft and Petition to consecrate the Church of St. John the Evangelist at Uralla. Rev. S. Hungerford, 25.10.1862;
  • Draft Petition and Sentence of Consecration of the additional Burial Ground at Singleton, with diagram and description of the additional area. Rev. James Blackwood. 11.1862;
  • Note of ordination of Deacons Enoch Price, Frederick White, Richard William Young into the Holy Order of Priests, at St. James, Morpeth, 21.12.1862;
  • Drafts of licenses of Rev. Charles George Bode to Parish of St. John, Newcastle, Rev. Francis Dashwood Bode to Parish of Dungog, Rev. James Hart Johnson as assistant minister to Armidale and Rev. Frederick White to the Northern portion of the District of New England and to reside at Glen Innes, 1.12. 1862;
  • Ordination of deacons Enoch Price, Frederick White, Richard Williams into the Holy Order of Priests, at St James Church, Morpeth. . Sunday, 21.12.1862.

A7763(ix)
Containing:

  • Draft license for Rev. William Skinner Wilson, as minister of Cassilis. (Ordained Priest 31.5.1863.) 10.1.1863;
  • Draft /Commission to Rev. S. Hungerford to swear in Rev. J.H. Johnson as Surrogate.31.3.1863;
  • Draft Commissions as Surrogate to Rev. W. E. White and Rev. William Skinner Wilson. 28.3.1863, and to Rev. J.H. Johnson. 31.3.1863;
  • Draft Commission to Edward George Clark, Esq. JP to swear in Rev. John Wright as Surrogate, and the Document with Bishop's Seal, 1.6.1863;
  • Draft Commission to Rev. James Robert Thackeray as Surrogate, and to Rev. John Wright as Surrogate. 20.6.1863;
  • Petition to consecrate Burial Ground at Hinton from Rev. Charles Walsh, and Parchment Document with Bishop's Seal - Sentence of Consecration, 17.9.1863;
  • Petition and Sentence of Consecration (seal loose from document) of the Burial Ground at Broke in the District of Singleton. Incumbent is Rev. James Blackwood, 7.10.1863.

A7763(x)
Containing:

  • Note states Rev. Thomas Lawrence Dodd, Minister of Hexham deceased, Oct. 1864;
  • Description of allotment of 4 acres conveyed upon trust from William Dumaresq to the Lord Bishop, (20.10.1857.) 12.9.1864;
  • Petition to Consecrate the Burial Ground at Scone, Rev. Coles Child is the incumbent. 27.6.1864;
  • Draft license of
  1. Rev. John Shaw to District of Brisbane Water. 1.11.1865,
  2. Rev. Bowyer Edward Shaw to District of Wollombi, 1866;
  • License as Curate of the District of Wollombi of Rev. Frederick White. 1.3.1866;
  • List of ministers and parishes of Newcastle Diocese, 1866;
  • Draft copy of license of Rev. Henry Shaw Millard, 1.4.1866, ;
  • note of Ordination at St. James, Morpeth, of Charles Capel Greenway and William Knight Colyer as Deacons ;
  • Draft License of Rev. Charles Capel Greenway to Lower Hawkesbury ;
  • Draft license of Rev. William Knight Colyer, 28.5.1866;
  • Draft of Petition to consecrate the Burial Ground in District of Muswellbrook, - Rev. W.E. White, and Sentence of Consecration of the Burial Ground. Oct. 1866;
  • Letter requesting disinterrment of the remains of John Hancock, interred in the Burial Ground, Newcastle, 15th October, 1866, to be reinterred at Adelaide S.A., and the Warrant for the disinterrment of the above.13.11.1866.

A7763(xi)
Containing:

  • Draft license of Rev. Samuel Simm to the District of Raymond Terrace, 1.1.1867;
  • Note of ordinations at St James, Morpeth. Charles Capel Greenway - Priest , Archibald Shaw - to Stroud and James Norton - to Macdonald River - Deacons,. 16.6.1867;
  • Draft licenses
  1. Rev. Arthur Edward Selwyn to Christ Church, Newcastle,
  2. Rev. Charles Rowland Currey to Gunnedah, 1.7.1867;
  • Letter from Rev. Archibald Shaw for Surrogate forms, 6.7.1867;
  • Note of ordination at St James, Morpeth, of Archibald Shaw to Priest, and Charles W. Newman to Deacon, 7.6.1868;
  • Documents to consecrate a Burial Ground for Rowland John Traill at his property at Collaroy, Merriwa. The land was conveyed by George Clive, Esq. to the Bishop of Newcastle. 25.2.1867; 8.3.1869;
  • Correspondence and documents of consecration of the Burial Ground at Mount Dangar. 4.3.1869;
  • Documents for the Consecration of the Burial Ground, at Merriwa, of the Church of the Holy Trinity. Incumbent - Rev. William Skinner Wilson, 9.3.1869.

A7763(xii)
Containing:

  • Letter from Rev. James Blackwood, Singleton about the Burial Ground at All Saints Church, 27.1.1870;
  • Draft licenses
  1. Rev. Coles Child to St. James, Morpeth;
  2. Rev. John Shaw to St. Lukes, Scone;
  3. Rev. John Dixon to St. James, Newcastle;
  4. Rev. John James Nash to Christ Church, Dungog;
  5. Rev. Edmund Huband-Smith to Jerry's Plains, 1873.

A7764(i)
Containing:

  • Licenses for
  1. Rev. James Ross to Murrurundi ;
  2. Rev. James Aldridge Newth - curate to St. Pauls, West Maitland ;
  3. Rev. David Dunlop Rutledge, Cassilis. Rev. Charles Markham Mills was appointed as Surrogate 17.12.1875;
  • Petition and Sentence of Consecration of the Church of Saint Matthias at Denman, 1.10.1875;
  • Licenses for
  1. Rev. Basil Tudor Craig DD to Cassilis ;
  2. Rev. John Joseph Grime assistant to Christ Church at Newcastle ;
  3. Rev. Charles Markham Mills to Church of Saint Matthias at Denman, 15.3.1876. 4. Rev. Bowyer Edward Shaw to All Saints, Singleton;
  • Documents for the Consecration of the Church of St. Alban at Muswellbrook. Incumbent - Rev. William Edward White, 17.6.1876;
  • Request from Harry H(yne) Capper, and the Faculty of authorization, for the installation of a memorial window, in memory of Mr. U.B. Christian, in the Church of St. John at Hinton, 28.6.1876;
  • Letter from Bishop Tyrrell to Mr. Robert Atkins, Registrar, Sydney to cancel the license of Rev. William Alexander Gordon Macpherson.( 7.4.1877) attached to note on Rev. Macpherson, 1876.

A7764(ii)
Containing:

  • Note of Ordination of Rev. John William Upjohn & Rev. George McIntosh as Deacons at St. James, Morpeth, Sunday, 25.2.1877;
  • Draft license of Rev. William Alexander Gordon Macpherson as Minister in the United Districts of Cassilis, Turee, Coolah, Uarbry and Denison Town as long as the said Districts are retained under the Bishop's jurisdiction and control, and to reside at Cassilis, 29.3.1877;
  • Licenses for Rev. McIntosh to St. James, Newcastle and Rev. J.W. Upjohn as assistant Minister at St. James, Morpeth, 19.4.1877;
  • Note of licenses for
  1. Rev. Alfred Cayley Thomas - Brisbane Water ;
  2. Rev Walter Tollis - St James, Wickham to reside at Wallsend ;
  3. Rev. Charles Draper Newman - Wollombi ;
  4. Rev. David Dunlop Rutledge - St. James, Wickham, to reside at Wickham ;
  5. Rev. William Skinner Wilson - Merriwa, 1877;
  • Petition, letter from Joseph P. Abbott, solicitor of Haydonton and Parchment Document for the Consecration of the Church of St Paul at Murrurundi. Incumbent - Rev. James Ross, 17.10. 1877;
  • License for Rev. William Henry Cooper for Cassilis, 3.11.1877.

A7764(iii)
Containing:

  • Correspondence from Carl F. Solling, solicitor and documents for the Consecration of the Church of St. Paul, West Maitland. Incumbent - Rev. William Kildahl, 25.1.1878;
  • Correspondence, Petition and Sentence of Consecration of the Church of St. Mary at West Maitland. Incumbent - Rev. Robert Chapman, 31.1.1878;
  • Draft license of Rev. George Henry Johnston to the United Districts of Cassilis, Coolah, Furee (?), Uarboy and Denison Town, 23.3.1878;
  • Draft note of Ordination of
  1. Rev. Alfred Cayley Thomas;
  2. Rev. John William Upjohn;
  3. Rev. Walter Tollis, in the Church of St. James at Morpeth. 22.9.1878;
  • Draft licenses of
  1. Rev. Thomas D. Warner, assistant at St. Marys, West Maitland;
  2. Rev. John Shaw to the Church of St. Paul at West Maitland;
  3. Rev. Alfred Cayley Thomas to the Church of St. Luke at Scone;
  4. Rev. William Marshall, temporary license at Murrurundi;
  5. Temporary license for Rev. J.A. Boake at the Macdonald River and Mangrove Creek;
  6. Temporary license for Rev. William Lund at District of Brisbane Water, 1878;
  • Draft of appointments of Rev. Coles Child as Vicar General, and as Archdeacon of Newcastle, 27.12.1878;
  • Commission to Thomas Cade Battley Esq. to administer the oath to Rev. William Lund as Surrogate, 31.12.1878;
  • Commission for Rev. William Lund to be Surrogate, oath before Thomas Cade Battley Esq. 9.1.1878;
  • Letter from George Owen, West Maitland requesting, and Warrant authorizing the exhumation of the remains of the late Dorcas Owen to be removed to a grave in the Church of England cemetery at Waverley Sydney, 15.1.1879;
  • Note "Rev. William Tyrrell D.D. Lord Bishop of Newcastle this day deceased.", 24.3.1879;
  • Circular about Affidavits and licenses on the decease of the Bishop of Newcastle. 1879;
  • Draft commissions for 1. Rev. Alfred Cayley Thomas as Surrogate 12.5.1879 ;
  • Joseph Palmer Abbott Esq. to administer the oath to Rev. William Marshall of Murrurundi as Surrogate, 3.6.1879;
  • Memo of election of the Bishop of Newcastle, describing the proceedings of the election over two days, 3.9.1879;
  • Draft license as minister for Rev. William Henry Hazell Yarrington MA to the Church of St. Mary at West Maitland, 26.9.1879;
  • and for Rev. Thomas Davenport Warner to the District of Cassilis, 1.10.1879;
  • and for Rev. William Marshall to the Church of St. Paul at Murrurundi, 1.10.1879;
  • Mandate to Rev. William Edward White of Muswellbrook to induct Rev. Thomas Davenport Warner to Cassilis, 1.10.1879;
  • Correspondence and Draft Faculty to erect a tablet in the Church of St. Philip at Hanbury in memory of the late Mrs. Moody (Marion), by Rev. John Dixon, on behalf of Mr. R.W. Moody. 9.10.1879;
  • Temporary license for Rev. William Lund for the Church of St. Mary at West Maitland, 7.10.1879;
  • License and certificate of Induction for Rev. George Henry Johnstone at Brisbane Water. Rev. Coles Child is the Archdeacon of Newcastle and Vicar General during the vacancy of the See. Witnessed by Churchwardens Thomas Battley, J.M.Osborne and G.C. Mane [Drane?], 2.11.1879;
  • Letter to the Metropolitan, Lord Bishop of Sydney advising of the election of, and acceptance by Rev. Dr. Josiah Brown Pearson of the office of Bishop of Newcastle. 17.11.1879;
  • Certificate of Election of Bishop by Rev. Coles Child for the new Bishop Pearson. 17.11.1879;
  • Notice in Christ Church, Newcastle of the elected Bishop, allowing for and dissension before his admission. Signed by Churchwardens A. E. Selwyn, William R. Logan and W.F. Weatherill, 23.11.1879;
  • Licenses of
  1. Rev. John William Upjohn to Dungog, 10.12.1879;
  2. Rev. John James Nash to Newcastle;
  3. Rev. William Lund as assistant minister to St. James, Morpeth;
  4. Rev. Walter Tollis to the Church of St. Luke at Wallsend. 1.1.1880;
  • Certificate of Induction of Rev. William Henry Hazell Yarrington to St. Marys West Maitland. Signed by Churchwardens J.W. Rourke, W. Green, and James D. Prentice, 1880;
  • Oath as Surrogate of Rev. John William Upjohn, Commission same day, 7.1.1880;
  • Certificate of induction written by Archdeacon of Newcastle and Vicar General during the vacancy of the See and witnessed by Robert Lloyd Alison and John Robson, 11.1.1880;
  • Oath as Surrogate and Certificate of Induction of Rev. William Tollis, witnessed by Churchwardens John W. Brooks and A.J. Carrington, 8.2.1880;
  • Oath as Surrogate of Rev. William Henry Hazell Yarrington, 17.2.1880;
  • Correspondence and Faculty to authorise
  1. The erection of a Reredos in the Church of St. Paul at Murrurundi in Memory of the late Rev. W.D.R. Lewis. Incumbent Rev. W. Marshall and Churchwardens F.W.R. Evans and J.P.Abbott 2.3.1880,
  2. The erection of a stained glass window in the Church of St. Mary, West Maitland, in memory of Mr. George Yeomans. 16.3.1880,
  3. The erection of stained glass windows in St. Paul's Church, Murrurundi. Rev. W. Marshall was the incumbent. 11.5.1880,
  4. The erection of two stained glass windows in St. Johns, Newcastle. Rev. Francis Dashwood Bode was the incumbent, 21.8.1880.

A7764(v)

Containing:

  • Draft Petition and Sentence of Consecration for
  1. The Church of St. John the Evangelist, at Branxton. Rev. Charles Walsh. Rev. Charles Walsh was the incumbent, 13.1.1881.
  2. The Burial Ground at Bylong. Rev. William Skinner Wilson and six petitioners signed the petition. 23.3.1881.
  3. The Burial Ground attached to St. Luke's at Wollar in the County of Phillip. Rev. William Skinner Wilson the incumbent, and Consecration Deeds for the Church of St. Stephen, Bylong.
  4. The Burial Ground at Cassilis. Rev. Thomas Davenport Warner was the incumbent, 30.3.1881
  5. The Burial Ground at St. Matthias at Denman. Rev. Charles Markham Mills, 1.6.1881;
  • Draft licenses of Rev. F.R. Newton to Wollombi, and Rev. Charles Frederick Wishey as assistant minister at St. James Church at Morpeth, 22.7.1881.

A7764(vi)
Containing:

  • Correspondence for the Ordination of William Swindlehurst as Deacon at St. James, Morpeth, license as Curate at St. Peters, East Maitland, and later ordination as Priest, 6.5.1882;
  • Documents for the consecration of the Burial Ground at Booral. Rev. Archibald Shaw was the incumbent in the District of Stroud, 1.7.1882;
  • Licenses of Rev. Charles Frederick Wishey to the Parish of Hamilton and as assigned by the Bishop;
  • and Rev. R. William Swindlehurst to the Parish of the Upper Manning, 1.7.1882;
  • Form recording the Trustees elected for Gundy, 7.12.1882;
  • Correspondence and documents for the Consecration of the additional area to the Burial Ground at Muswellbrook, 28.1.1883;
  • License and commission for Rev. Charles Edward Amos in St James, Morpeth, 7.3.1883;
  • License and documents for Rev. Albert Alexander Maclaren to Merriwa. The oath for Surrogacy was administered by Canon W.E. White, who had been appointed Commissary, 26.4.1883;
  • Documents for the ordination as priest of Rev. Alfred James Hawkshaw, appointed to St. Peters at East Maitland as Curate to Rev. Lovick Tyrrell, 25.5.1883;
  • Letter from the Bishop and draft of ordination of Rev. Popham Street Luscombe at St. Alban at Muswellbrook, 19.12.1883.

A7764(vii)
Containing:

  • License of Rev. Philip Cuthbert Anderson for two years at Gundy, 1.1.1884;
  • License of Rev. Popham Street Luscombe and nomination, by Rev. Lovick Tyrrell, as Curate at St. Peters at East Maitland, 17.1.1884;
  • Licenses for
  1. Rev. Albert Alexander Maclaren to the Church of St Paul at West Maitland;
  2. Rev. Charles A. Senhouse Minton to Muswellbrook ;
  3. Rev. Charles Edmund Amos to the Church of St. Paul at Paterson;
  4. Rev. Frederick William Addams;
  5. Rev. David Henry Ellis;
  6. Rev. Robert Edward Goddard to Church of St. James, Morpeth;
  7. Rev. Alfred James Hawkshaw Priest;
  8. Rev. William Fenton James;
  9. Rev. Richard Henry Phillips to Taree, 1884;
  • Note of the resignation of Rev. P.C. Anderson from Gundy, 23.5.1884;
  • Ordinations of
  1. Rev. William Fenton James,
  2. Rev. Alfred James Hawkshaw Priest at Church of St. Paul at West Maitland, 1884;
  • Correspondence and documents for the consecration of the new Church of St. Mark at Laguna. Incumbent at Wollombi - Rev. F.R. Newton, 26.11.1884;
  • Ordination and licenses for Rev. John King Brown and Rev. George Morehead Brown at St. Mary's Church at West Maitland 22.12. 1884;
  • Correspondence and licenses for
  1. Rev. W.C. Hawkins;
  2. Rev. John Longbottom;
  3. Rev. Alfred J.H. Priest to Gresford;
  4. Rev. George Frederick Rushforth to Lambton with Hanbury ;
  5. Rev. Popham Street Luscombe to Wollombi;
  6. Rev. Henry Jephson Campbell to Paterson for three months from 10.10.1885;
  • Correspondence and documents about the consecration of the Church of St. James at Jerry's Plains. William Pearse of Hambledon Hill, Singleton, held the deeds of the land grant;
  • Bishop's letter listing priests ordained at St. Paul's Church at West Maitland on Sunday, 20.12.1885. Deacon Robert Milroy Walker, Priests John King Brown to St. Albans, George Morehead Brown and William Fenton James to Gundy, 20.12.1885.

A7764(vii)
Containing:

  • Draft licenses for Clergy March 1886-1889;
  • Order of service for the Installation of Bishop Stretch, 4.7.1900.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354