University of Newcastle Library guides

Anglican Diocese of Newcastle Archives:  Synod

The archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle, including parish registers, records of the Bishops of Newcastle and the records of St John's Theological College at Morpeth held by Cultural Collections.

Archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle

Bishops' Registry Records

Synod

B7435

  • Minute book, 1865.

B7437a

  • Minute book,1865 - 1868.

B7436

  • Minute book,1895 - 1924.

B7437

  • Minute book,1925 - 1935.

B7414

  • Minute book,1919 [Extracts only].

B7438-B7449

  • Synod reports, 1865 - 1870.

B7450-B7469

  • Synod reports, 1871 - 1879.

B7468-B7471a

  • Synod reports, 1880 - 1884.

B7472-B7476

  • Synod reports, 1883 - 1891.

B7477-B7483

  • Synod reports, 1889 - 1897.

B7484-B7488

  • Synod reports, 1898 - 1902.

B7489-B7494

  • Synod reports, 1902 - 1928.

A5376

  • Synod reports, 1882, 1903, 1912, 1926.

B7495-B7495c

  • Synod reports, 1945 - 1966 (with gaps).

B7496

  • Synod report, 1973.
  • Synod addresses by Bishop Batty, 1952 -1958.

A5323

  • Synod reports, 1911, 1951.
  • Synod proceedings, 1871 - 1885.

B9546-B9553

  • Synod business papers, 1978+ [continuing series].

B7497, B7500

  • N.S.W. Provincial Synod reports, 1869 - 1965.

B7501

  • Queensland Synod report, 1869.

B7502-B7512

  • General Synod proceedings, 1872 - 1966.

A5323

  • General Synod reports, 1945.
  • Determinations, 1921.
  • Documents relating to autonomy, 1921.

B7514

  • Determinations and Standing Orders, 1872 -1950.

B9550

  • President's charge to Synod, 1978 - 79, 1981, 1982.

B7514-B7515a

  • Constitution files, 1872 - 1950.

A5327

  • Constitution files, 1926 - 1955.

B7517-B7533a

  • Ordinances, 1872 - 1972.

A5376

  • Ordinances, 1892.

A5326

  • Ordinances, 1895 - 1960.

B7420a-b

  • Letter books, 1888 - 1907.

A5276

  • Correspondence, 1916 - 1930.

B7412-B7420

  • Correspondence, 1931 - 1972.

B7535

  • Diocese of Bathurst Ordinances, Church Acts and Standing Orders, 1877 - 1919.
  • General Synod and Provincial Synod legislation, 1877 - 1919.
  • Instructions for management of burial grounds 1877 - 1919.

B7536

  • Diocese of Goulburn Ordinances, 1895 - 1924.
  • Church of England Trust Property Act, 1917.

B7537

  • Diocese of Sydney Constitutions and Ordinances, 1876 - 1908.

A5323

  • Declaration books, 1930.
  • Synod roll, [n.d.].
  • Synod rules or Standing Orders [n.d.].
  • Diocese of Sydney, presidential address.
  • Report of a Conference on Mission and Ministry, 1971.
  • Canon 51 of accusations and appeals, [n.d.].

A5324
Nominations, Ballot papers and election certificates, 1930.

A5325

  • Synod nomination papers, 1960.

B9103-B9145

  • Diocese of Newcastle Year books, 1866 - 1899; 1916 - 1995 [continuing series]. [See also B7534(a) 1909 - 1914 and B7534(b)].

B7538

  • Diocese of Sydney Handbook, 1969.

A5327

  • Committee of Proposed Intermediate Maternity Hospital minutes, 1923.

B9562

  • Press clipping book, 1916 - 1920.

A5317

  • Bishop Batty's Synod correspondence, 1951.

A5318

  • Circular letters to Synod members, 1955.

A6199

  • Synod address by Bishop Batty, 1956.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354