University of Newcastle Library guides

Anglican Diocese of Newcastle Archives:  Bishop Housden

The archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle, including parish registers, records of the Bishops of Newcastle and the records of St John's Theological College at Morpeth held by Cultural Collections.

Archives of the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle

Bishops' Registry Records

Bishop Housden with J.J. Auchmuty

James Alan George Housden

Bishop of Newcastle, 1958 - 1972

Correspondence files:

A6801-A6808, A6842-A6843

  • General correspondence, 1958-1972.

A6809-A6810

  • The Anglican, 1958 - 1972.

A6840

  • Anglican encounter, 1966 - 1972;
  • Action for world development, 1966 - 1972;
  • Anglican Society and Anglican women, 1966 - 1972;
  • Australian Board of Missions, 1966 - 1972.

A6811

  • Australian Council of Churches - Newcastle

A6812

  • Branch, 1958 - 1972;
  • Australian College of Theology, 1958 -1972.

A6812

  • Brenda Station, 1959 - 1972.

A6813

  • Boys Grammar School, 1959 - 1972;
  • Booragul Home, 1959 - 1972;
  • Billy Graham Crusade;
  • Bowlers' Sunday, 1959 - 1972;
  • Church Army, 1958 - 1965.

A6814

  • Children's Homes, 1966 - 1972;
  • Christian Education Department, 1966 -1972;
  • Church of England Boys' Society, 1958 -1972

A6815

  • Church of England Men's Society, 1958 -1972;
  • Circulars, 1958 - 1972.

A6817-A6831

  • Clergy, 1958 - 1972. (Access restricted);
  • Postulants, 1959 - 1972. (Access restricted);
  • Possible priests, Rural Deaneries, Retreat, Summer School, 1966 - 1972. (Access restricted).

A6832-A6837

  • Other Dioceses, 1958 - 1972.

A6838-A6839

  • Engagements, 1959 - 1972.

A6840

  • Father & Son Welfare Movement, 1962 - 1972;
  • Freedom from Hunger, 1962 - 1972.

A6840-A6841

  • Girls Friendly Society, 1963 - 1972;
  • Grammar School for Girls, 1958 - 1972;
  • General Board of Religious Education, 1966 - 1972;
  • Guild of the Servants of the Sanctuary, 1966 - 1972.

A6841-A6842

  • A.B. Kerrigan, 1958 - 1972;
  • Walter and Eliza Hall Trust Fund, 1958 -1972.

A6842

  • Liturgical Commission, 1966 - 1972;
  • Long Service Leave, 1966 - 1972.

A6842-A6843

  • Marriage Guidance, 1958 - 1972;
  • Moore Fund, 1958 - 1965;
  • Organ Scholarships, 1958 - 1972;
  • Edith Porter, 1958 - 1965.

A6843

  • Mother's Union, 1966 - 1972;
  • News from the Churches, 1966 - 1972;
  • Ordinations, 1966 - 1972.

A6844

  • Ordinands who left St. John's College, 1966 - 1972.

A6844-A6847

  • Parishes correspondence, 1958 - 1972.

A6847

  • St. Christopher's College, Melbourne & St. John's Theological College, Morpeth, 1959 - 1966.

A6848

  • St. John's Theological College, 1966 - 1972;
  • Seamen's Institute, 1966 - 1972;
  • Social Questions, 1966 - 1972;
  • St. Margaret's Hostel, 1966 - 1972.

A6849

  • Staff, 1958 - 1965;
  • Missions to Seamen, 1958 - 1965.

A6849-A6850

  • Synod, 1958 - 1972.

A6850-A6851

  • Television, 1960 - 1972;
  • Trustees of Church property, 1960 - 1972.

A6851

  • Morpeth Conference, 1966;
  • Australian Society for Theological Studies, 1966-1972;
  • Newcastle Theological Society, 1966-1972;
  • Institute of Post-Ordination, 1966-1972;
  • Studies (Qualifications Committee), 1966 -1972.

A6852

  • University;
  • Wells Education Trust, 1959 - 1965;
  • Church of England Boys Society Anglican Youth Council;
  • Young Anglican Fellowship;
  • University Structure & Theology, 1966 -1972;
  • Wells Theological Scholarships, 1966 - 1972;
  • Women's Missionary Auxiliary, 1966 - 1972;
  • Youth Movement;
  • Department of Christian Education.

A6852

  • Christmas and New Year messages, taped sermons and miscellanea, 1958 - 1972.

A5322

  • Correspondence relating to the appointment of A.P. Lane as Registrar, 1968. (Access restricted);
  • Diaries, 1959 - 1972.

Printed material:

A5322

  • Biographies of Bishop Housden;
  • "Newcastle farewells her Bishop…" Anglican encounter, December, 1972;
  • A.B.C. broadcast, 1972; Photographs of Bishop Housden.

A5322

  • Printing blocks, 1961;
  • Rubber stamp;
  • Seal presses.

Top right: Vice-Chancellor Auchmuty with Bishop Housden

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354