Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style:  Other: statistics, standards, etc.

UON Library guide to Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style 17th ed.

General Rules and Examples

Citing other sources

Select a tab to view the general rules and examples for various other sources

Book reviews

 

Book reviews can be published in a variety of sources such as newspapers or journals. When citing book reviews, the general formatting is reliant on the source material in which the book review is published, but the following information should be always added after the title of the review in the format of Review of Title of book, by Author's First and Last Name.

The following is the general format with an example of a reference to a book review published in a newspaper and in an online journal.

 

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Reviewer,  "Title of Review," review of Title of book, by Author's First and Last NameTitle of Source Work, vol no, issue no (Date of Publication): page(s) cited, DOI or URL. 

1. Michiko Kakutani"Zadie Smith’s ‘Swing Time’ Explores Friends’ Diverging Paths," review of Swing Time, by Zadie Smith, New York Times, (November 7, 2016), https://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/08/books/zadie-smiths-swing-time-explores-friends-diverging-paths.html. 

2. Bruce R. Schatz,  "Learning by Text or Context?" review of The Social Life of Information, by John Seely Brown and Paul DuguidScience, 290, no. 5495 (November 2000), doi:10.1126/science.290.5495.1304. 

 

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number.  Author's Last Names,  "Shortened Article Title," page(s) cited.

3. Kakutani, "Zadie Smith’s." 

 

Bibliography

Reviewer's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Review." Review of Title of book, by Author's First and Last NameTitle of Source Work, vol no, issue no (Publication Date): Page Range. DOI or URL.

Kakutani, Michiko. "Zadie Smith’s ‘Swing Time’ Explores Friends’ Diverging Paths." Review of Swing Time, by Zadie Smith. New York Times, November 7, 2016. https://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/08/books/zadie-smiths-swing-time-explores-friends-diverging-paths.html.

Schatz, Bruce R. "Learning by Text or Context?" Review of The Social Life of Information, by John Seely Brown and Paul Duguid. Science, 290, no. 5495 (November 2000):1304. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.290.5495.1304.

‚Äč

Case studies

 

Chicago does not have a specific format for how to reference case studies as an individual resource - the formatting is reliant on the source material in which the case study is found, e.g. for a case study featured in a book, you would reference the book.

If required for your assignment, the case study can be specifically mentioned in your text, just add the standard notes for the source. As the case study is something specific within a larger resource, it is recommended that you add a page number to your notes to help the reader locate it.

Data sets

 

To cite a data set, the minimum elements include the name of the dataset, a descriptive phrase or record locator (such as a data marker or accession number) indicating the part of the dataset being cited or explaining the nature of the reference, an access date, and a URL. In bibliographies, list under the name of the dataset. For example:

 

Footnote entry

1. GenBank (for RP11-322N14 BAC [accession number AC087526.3]; accessed July 6, 2018), http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/19683167.

 

Bibliography entry

GenBank (for RP11-322N14 BAC [accession number AC087526.3]; accessed July 6, 2018). http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/19683167.

Patents

 

Cite the patents under the names of the creators, followed by Patent Name, Patent no, filing date and issuing date, and the source from which the patent information can be retrieved. For example: 

 

Footnote entry

1. Masanori Iizuka and Hideki Tanaka, Cement Admixture, US Patent 4,586,960, filed June 26, 1984, and issued May 6, 1986, https://patents.google.com/patent/US4586960.

 

Bibliography entry

Iizuka, Masanori, and Hideki Tanaka. Cement Admixture. US Patent 4,586,960, filed June 26, 1984, and issued May 6, 1986. https://patents.google.com/patent/US4586960.

Reference works

 

For information on how to reference entries or chapters from reference works such as:

  • Dictionaries
  • Encyclopaedias
  • Thesaurii
  • Indexes, etc

see the Book chapters page.

Be sure to check with your lecturer if these kinds of resources are suitable for use in your assignments.

'Research Starters' from the Library Catalogue

 

For Research Starters accessed from the Library catalogue, refer to the Book Chapters page.

Be sure to check with your lecturer if these kinds of resources are suitable for use in your assignments.

Standards

 

To cite a standard published by a specific industry group or by a national or international standards organization, include the name of the organization, the title of the standard (in italics), an edition or other identifying number or label, and publication information. Standards consulted online should include a URL. In the notes, standards can be cited by title; in a bibliography entry, list under the group or organization, even if that entity is also the publisher. 

 

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Title of Standard, Standard No (Publication details), page(s) cited, URL.

1. The Storage and Handling of Corrosive Substances, AS 3780-2008 (SAI Global, 2008), https://www.saiglobal.com.

2. Bibliographic References, ANSI/NISO Z39.29-2005 (Bethesda, MD: National Information Standards Organization, approved June 9, 2005; reaffirmed May 13, 2010), 3.2.2.

 

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Shortened Standard Title,  page(s) cited.

3. The Storage and Handling, 4.

 

Bibliography

Organisation. Title of Standard. Standard No. Publication details. URL.

Standards AustraliaThe Storage and Handling of Corrosive Substances. AS 3780-2008. SAI Global, 2008. https://www.saiglobal.com.

National Information Standards Organization. Bibliographic References. ANSI/NISO Z39.29-2005. Bethesda, MD: NISO, approved June 9, 2005; reaffirmed May 13, 2010.

ABS Statistics

 

The following is the general format of a reference to an ABS document. Add the URL if the document is found online. 

  • If the author and publisher are both Australian Bureau of Statistics, the publisher can be abbreviated to ABS.
  • If there are personal authors, cite the item by the personal authors and use the full name of publisher: Australian Bureau of Statistics. 

 

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Australian Bureau of Statistics, Title: Subtitle, cat. no. (Canberra: ABS, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

1. Australian Bureau of Statistics, Regional Population Growth, Australia, 2016-17, cat. no. 3218.0 (Canberra: ABS, 2018), http://www.abs.gov.au/. 

 

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number.  Australian Bureau of StatisticsShortened Title,  page(or section) cited.

2. Australian Bureau of Statistics, Regional Population Growth, New South Wales.

 

Bibliography

Australian Bureau of Statistics. Title: Subtitle. Catalog No. CanberraABS, Date of Publication. URL.

Australian Bureau of Statistics. Regional Population Growth, Australia, 2017-18. Cat. no. 3218.0. Canberra: ABS, 2019. http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/3218.0.

 


The general format (i.e. NOT Chicago specific) for referencing ABS publications is available online from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Ask The Library

Ask The Library