Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style: Film, video, etc.

UON Library guide to Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style 17th edition

Citing film, TV, music and other AV sources

Select a tab to view the general rules and examples for various AV sources
For YouTube videos, podcasts and other free AV resources, see the Web Resources page

General rules:

The citation for recordings and other multimedia content usually includes some or all of the following elements:

The name of the composer, writer, performer, or other person primarily responsible for the content. Include designations such as vocalist, conductor, or director as appropriate.
The title of the work, in italics or quotation marks, as applicable.
Information about the work, including the names of additional contributors and the date and location of the recording, production, or performance.
Information about the publisher, including date of publication.
Information about the medium or format (e.g., LP, DVD, MP3, AVI). Supplementary information, such as the number of discs in an album and the duration of the recording, as applicable, may also be given.
Any additional information that might be relevant to the citation.
For sources consulted online, a URL.

The order of these elements—and which ones are included—will depend not only on the nature of the source but also on whether a part or the whole is cited and whether a particular contributor is the focus of the citation.

Film and video

General Notes:

Citations of video and film recordings vary according to the nature of the material (television show, movie, etc.).
Any facts relevant to identifying the item should be included.
Indexed scenes are treated as chapters and cited by title or by number.
Ancillary material, such as critical commentary, is cited by author and title.
If the major contributors of the work are unknown, move the title to the author position.
Medium types include DVD, Blu-Ray, VHS, streaming video (Via Kanopy, ClickView, Netflix, etc.).
If the item is consulted online, include the DOI, URL or database name.

The following is the general format of a reference to a film and a video. See the general rules for Film, TV, video & music for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Contributor's First and Last Names, type of contribution, Title: Subtitle (Original release date; Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), Medium, duration. DOI or Database name or URL if applicable.

1. Alfonso Cuarón, dir, Gravity (2013; Burbank, CA: Warner Bros. Pictures, 2014,) Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD.

2. Sunny Leunig, dir, Integrating Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Perspectives in Schools, written by Simon Garner, produced by Katrina Stavridis (Bendigo: VEA, 2011,) DVD.

3. Ang Lee, dir, Brokeback Mountain (2005; San Francisco: Kanopy Streaming, 2014), streaming video, 134 min, Kanopy.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Contributor's Last Name/s, Shortened Book Title, part(s) cited.

4. Cuarón, Gravity.

5. Leunig, Integrating Aboriginal.

6. Lee, Brokeback Mountain.

Bibliography

Contributor's First and Last Names, type of contribution. Title: Subtitle. Original release date; Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. Medium, duration. DOI or Database name or URL if applicable.

Cuarón, Alfonso, dir. Gravity. 2013; Burbank, CA: Warner Bros. Pictures, 2014. Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD.

Lee, Ang, dir. Brokeback Mountain. 2005; San Francisco: Kanopy Streaming, 2014. Streaming video, 134 min. Kanopy.

Leunig, Sunny, dir. Integrating Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Perspectives in Schools. Written by Simon Garner. Produced by Katrina Stavridis. Bendigo: VEA, 2011. DVD.

TV shows

The following is the general format of a reference to a TV show or content taken from one. The order of the elements will depend not only on the nature of the source but also on whether a part or the whole is cited and whether a particular contributor is the focus of the citation.

See the general rules for Film, TV, video & music for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Contributor's First and Last Names, Type of contribution, Title: Subtitle, episode no, "Episode Title," Publication details including Publisher and Date of Publication, URL.

1. Russ Mayberry, dir, The Brady Bunch, season 3, episode 10, “Her Sister’s Shadow.” Aired November 19, 1971, on ABC. https://www.hulu.com/the-brady-bunch.

2. Graham Phillips, reporter, "The Private Space Race Heats Up," 7:30 Report, posted July 25, 2018, on ABC, expires January 25, 2020, http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/the-private-space-race-heats-up/10036086.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Contributor's Last Names, Shortened episode Title.

3. Mayberry, “Her Sister’s Shadow.”

4. Phillips, "Private Space Race."

Bibliography

Contributor's Last Names, First Name. Title: Subtitle. episode no, "Episode Title." Publication details including Publisher and Date of Publication. URL.

Mayberry, Russ, dir. The Brady Bunch. Season 3, episode 10, “Her Sister’s Shadow.” Aired November 19, 1971, on ABC. https://www.hulu.com/the-brady-bunch.

Phillips, Graham, reporter. 2018. "The Private Space Race Heats Up." 7:30 Report. Posted July 25, 2018, on ABC, expires January 25, 2020. http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/the-private-space-race-heats-up/10036086.

Recorded music on CDs

General Notes:

A note citation may begin with the author or title of the music.
Bibliography entry is cited by author (writer or composer), performer, or other primary contributor. If the conductor or performer is the focus of the recording or is more relevant to the discussion than the composer, either one may be listed first.
For the date, include the date of the recording or the copyright date or published date included with the recording, or both. If no date can be found, use “n.d.” (for no date).
Recordings on LP or disc typically include acquisition numbers, which follow the name of the publisher with no intervening comma.
For streaming audio formats and downloads, list the service or the file format, as applicable.
Musical recordings may be listed in a separate discography or under a subhead within the bibliography

The following is the general format of a reference to a music recording. See the general rules for Film, TV, video & music for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Contributor's First and Last Names, type of contribution, "Title of Music," other contributors and role, on Title of Album, Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication, Medium.

1. Billie Holiday, vocalist, “I’m a Fool to Want You,” by Joel Herron, Frank Sinatra, and Jack Wolf, recorded February 20, 1958, with Ray Ellis, track 1 on Lady in Satin, Columbia CL 1157, 33⅓ rpm.

2. Paul Simon, "50 Ways to Leave Your Lover," on Still Crazy After All These Years: The Greatest Hits of Paul Simon. New York: CBS Digital, 2010, CD.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Contributor's Last Names, "Shortened Music Title."

3. Holiday, “I’m a Fool."

4. Simon, "50 Ways."

Bibliography

Contributor's First and Last Names, type of contribution. "Title of Music." Other Contributors and Role. On Title of Album. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. Medium.

Holiday, Billie, vocalist. “I’m a Fool to Want You.” By Joel Herron, Frank Sinatra, and Jack Wolf. Recorded February 20, 1958, with Ray Ellis. Track 1 on Lady in Satin. Columbia CL 1157, 33⅓ rpm.

Simon, Paul. "50 Ways to Leave Your Lover." On Still Crazy After All These Years: The Greatest Hits of Paul Simon. New York: CBS Digital, 2010. CD.

Radio Interviews

The following is the general format of a reference to a radio interview.

See the general rules for Film, TV, and other AV materials for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Interviewee's First and Last Names, "Interview Title: Subtitle," interview by Interviewer, Title of Program, Radio Company, Medium, Duration, Date of Publication, DOI or URL if available.

1. Kory Stamper, “From ‘F-Bomb’ to ‘Photobomb’ How the Dictionary Keeps Up with English,” interview by Terry Gross, Fresh Air, NPR, April 19, 2017, audio, 35:25, http://www.npr.org/2017/04/19/524618639/from-f-bomb-to-photobomb-how-the-dictionary-keeps-up-with-english.

Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Interviewee's Last Names, "Shortened Interview Title."

2. Stamper, “From ‘F-Bomb’ to ‘Photobomb'."

Bibliography

Interviewee's Last Names, First Name. "Interview Title: Subtitle." Interview by Interviewer. Title of Program, Radio Company, Date of Publication. Medium, Duration. DOI or URL if available.

Stamper, Kory. 2017. “From ‘F-Bomb’ to ‘Photobomb,’ How the Dictionary Keeps Up with English.” Interview by Terry Gross. Fresh Air, NPR, April 19, 2017. Audio, 35:25. http://www.npr.org/2017/04/19/524618639/from-f-bomb-to-photobomb-how-the-dictionary-keeps-up-with-english.

Quoting from film, TV and AV media

To cite a specific part or direct quote from an audio or video content, you need to use the time stamp in the format of Hours:Minutes:Seconds.

Check the time that the quote starts on the audio or video, and cite that in the footnotes, e.g.1:13:20. Here the 1:13:20 refers to 1 hour 13 minutes 20 seconds into the film, where the quote we want starts.

Hours/minutes/seconds follows the pattern H:MM:SS
Minutes/seconds follows the pattern MM:SS
Where you are only using seconds (e.g. for a short clip), use a zero at the front, e.g. 0:39 for 39 seconds.