Chicago style uses the terminology 'illustrations' or 'figures' when discussing images presented separately from the run of text in sources. 'Figures' includes the following image types:
Information about standalone maps, paintings, photographs, sculptures, or other works of art can usually be presented in the text rather than in a note or bibliography. If a note or bibliography entry is needed, see the tabs above for Maps and Art works for instructions.
Note that tables are a separate designation with differing rules. See the Tables tab for more information.
Citing illustrations (figures or tables)
1. Catherine Anderson, Essentials of Linguistics (McMaster University, 2018), figure 8.1, https://ecampusontario.pressbooks.pub/essentialsoflinguistics/.
Using (reprinting or adapting) illustrations (figures and tables)
When citing (not reprinting) a figure from a book, article or other sources, cite the source as usual and add the page number and figure number in the notes.
The following is the general format of a reference to a figure in a book. If the source is available online, add the DOI or URL to the end of the citation.
Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page cited, Figure no. DOI or URL if available.
1. Catherine Anderson, Essentials of Linguistics (McMaster University, 2018), figure 8.1, https://ecampusontario.pressbooks.pub/essentialsoflinguistics/.
Note Number. Author's Last Names, Shortened Book Title, page cited, figure no.
2. Anderson, Essentials of Linguistics, figure 8.2.
First Author's Last Names, First Name, Other Author's First and Last Names. Book Title: Subtitle. edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. DOI or URL if available.
Anderson, Catherine. Essentials of Linguistics. McMaster University, 2018. https://ecampusontario.pressbooks.pub/essentialsoflinguistics/.
If you are including a figure from another source in your assignment, you need provide the source citation and credit lines with the figure. If the work being credited is listed in the bibliography, only a shortened form needs appear in the credit line.
The following is an example of reprinting a figure from a book. For reusing figures from other sources, follow the citation pattern for that source.
|
Figure 1. Surgical mask (left) and N95 mask (right). Reprinted from Glynda Rees Doyle and Jodie Anita McCutcheon, Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care (BCcampus, 2015), chap. 1.4, https://opentextbc.ca/clinicalskills/. Copyright 2015 by British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT), licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0. [This ebook does not use page numbers or figure numbers so the chapter information has been included instead. This will assist with locating the original figure] |
In the caption under the figure change the word 'Reprinted from' to 'Adapted from' to show that you have changed the original (even in a small way).
Where Creative Commons licences are involved (and allow adaptation), you should include a statement at the end that explains how you have change the material. Short and simple is OK here, it's more to show that the material has been changed.
The figure above, reprinted from Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care, has been reproduced under the Creative Commons License. This notice is separate from the figure so as not to confuse the referencing in the figure caption.
Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care by . R. Doyle and J. A. McCutcheon: Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License
Information about maps can usually be presented in the text rather than in a note or bibliography. If a note or bibliography entry is needed, list the cartographer (if known) and the title of the map (in italics) or a description, followed by the scale and size (if known) and publication details or location of the map. Undated maps consulted online should include an access or revision date.
The following is the general format and examples of citing a map from a book, a Google map, and an online historical map.
Note Number. Cartographer's First and Last Names, Map Title: Subtitle, Year of Map Creation, scale and size, Publication Details, Location of Map, URL.
1. Samuel de Champlain, cartographer, Carte geographique de la Nouvelle Franse, 1612, 43 × 76 cm, in The History of Cartography, vol. 3, Cartography in the European Renaissance (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007), fig. 51.
2. Satellite view of Newcastle, Google Earth, accessed July 30, 2018, https://www.google.com/maps/@-32.9546526,151.6396797,36081m/data=!3m1!1e3.
3. US Geological Survey, California: Yosemite Quadrangle, 1909; repr., 1951, 30-minute series quadrangle, 1:125,000 scale, National Map, Historic Topographic Map Collection, https://www.usgs.gov/media/images/scan-1909-usgs-quadrangle-yosemite-california-area-include-el-capitan-usgs-historic.
Note Number. Cartographer's Last Names, Shortened Title.
4. Champlain, Carte geographique.
5. Satellite view of Newcastle.
6. US Geological Survey, California.
Cartographer's Last Names, First Name. Map Title: Subtitle. Year of Map. scale and size. Publication Details. Location of Map. URL.
Champlain, Samuel de, cartographer. Carte geographique de la Nouvelle Franse. 1612. 43 × 76 cm. In The History of Cartography, vol. 3, Cartography in the European Renaissance. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007.
Satellite view of Newcastle. Google Earth. accessed July 30, 2018. https://www.google.com/maps/@-32.9546526,151.6396797,36081m/data=!3m1!1e3!
US Geological Survey. California: Yosemite Quadrangle. 1909; repr., 1951. 30-minute series quadrangle, 1:125,000 scale. National Map, Historic Topographic Map Collection. https://www.usgs.gov/media/images/scan-1909-usgs-quadrangle-yosemite-california-area-include-el-capitan-usgs-historic.
Information about paintings, photographs, lithographs, sculptures, or other works of art can usually be presented in the text rather than in a reference list.
If a reference list entry is needed, list the artist, the title (in italics), and date of creation or completion, followed by information about the medium and the location of the work. For works consulted online, add a URL.
The following is the general format of a reference to an art work.
Note Number. Artist's First and Last Names, Title, Date, medium and other information, Location of Work, URL.
1. Salvador Dalí, The Persistence of Memory, 1931, oil on canvas, 9½ × 13″ (24.1 × 33 cm), Museum of Modern Art, New York, http://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018.
2. Pablo Picasso, Bull’s Head, Spring 1942, Bicycle saddle and handlebars, 33.5 × 43.5 × 19 cm, Musée Picasso Paris.
Note Number. Artist's Last Names, Shortened Title.
3. Dalí, The Persistence of Memory.
4. Picasso, Bull’s Head.
Artist's Last Names, First Name. Title. Date. Medium and other information. Location of work. URL.
Dalí, Salvador. The Persistence of Memory. 1931. Oil on canvas, 9½ × 13″ (24.1 × 33 cm). Museum of Modern Art, New York. http://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018.
Picasso, Pablo. Bull’s Head. Spring 1942. Bicycle saddle and handlebars, 33.5 × 43.5 × 19 cm. Musée Picasso Paris.
When citing (not reprinting) a table from a book, an article or other sources, provide the page number where the table is located in notes, preceding the table number, with a comma between them.
The following is the general format of a reference to a table in a book. For tables from other sources, follow the pattern for that source and add the page and table number as required. If the source is available online, add the DOI or URL to the end of citation.
Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page cited, table no.
1. Jean-Paul Chavas, David Hummels, and Brian D. Wright, eds., The Economics of Food Price Volatility (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2014), 167, table 4.4.
Note Number. Author's Last Names, Shortened Book Title, page cited, table no.
2. Chavas, Hummels, and Wright, "The Economics," 167, table 4.4.
First Author's Last Names, First Name, Other Author's First and Last Names. Book Title: Subtitle. edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.
Chavas, Jean-Paul, David Hummels, and Brian D. Wright, eds. The Economics of Food Price Volatility. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2014.
If you are including a table from another source within an assignment, you need provide the source notes and credit lines with the table. If the work being credited is listed in the bibliography, only a shortened form needs appear in the credit line.
Where Creative Commons licences are involved (and allow adaptation), if you change the material you should include a statement at the end that explains how changed it. Short and simple is OK here, it's more to show that the material has been changed.
The following is an example of reprinting a table from a book. For reusing tables from other sources, follow the citation pattern for that source.
|
Table 1. Nursing Interventions for the Stages of Dying
|
Reproduction note:
The table above, reprinted from Nursing Care at the End of Life has been reproduced under the Creative Commons License. This notice is separate from the table so as not to confuse the referencing in the table notes.
Nursing Care at the End of Life by Susan. E. Lowey: Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License
If you are including a figure or table you found in another source, and you are WRITING FOR PUBLICATION (for a journal, conference paper, thesis, website, etc) you must:
An example is shown below using the template for a figure from a journal article. The pattern follows the style of caption for your image source, plus a notice of permission, the source citation, and the copyright statement.
For figures from other sources, follow the pattern for the source and add the required notice of permission and copyright statement.
Note that If the work being credited is listed in the bibliography, only a shortened form needs appear in the credit line.
Figure 1. The clinical reasoning process with descriptors. Reprinted with permission from Tracy Levett-Jones, et al.,“The Five Rights of Clinical Reasoning: An Educational Model to Enhance Nursing Students' Ability to Identify and Manage Clinically 'At Risk' Patients,” Nurse Education Today 30, no. 6 (August 2010): 158. Copyright 2010 by Elsevier.
An example is shown below using the template for a table from a journal article. The pattern follows the style of note for your image source, plus a notice of permission after the copyright statement: "Copyright 2010 by Elsevier. Reprinted with permission.".
For tables from other sources, follow the pattern for that source and add the required notice of permission and copyright statement.
Note that if the work being credited is listed in the bibliography, only a shortened form needs appear in the credit line.
Table 1. The Difference Between Cue Collection in Experienced and Novice Nurses Source: Reprinted with permission from Tracy Levett-Jones, et al., “The Five Rights of Clinical Reasoning: An Educational Model to Enhance Nursing Students' Ability to Identify and Manage Clinically 'At Risk' Patients,” Nurse Education Today 30, no. 6 (August 2010): 518. Copyright 2010 by Elsevier. |
In the caption under the figure (or source note under the table) change the wording 'Reprinted with permission from' to 'Adapted with permission from' to show that you have changed the original (even in a small way).
Reproduction note:
The figure and table above, reprinted from Nurse Education Today, have been reproduced with permission. This notice is separate from the figure and table so as not to confuse the referencing in the figure caption and table note.
