Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style:  Conference papers

UON Library guide to Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style 17th edition

General Rules and Examples

Conference papers

 

General rules:

The exact format of references to conference papers is dependent upon whether the conference paper is published or unpublished, if it has a DOI, and how it is available (via a database, freely available on the internet, or in print). A paper included in the published conference proceedings is treated like a chapter in a book. If published in a journal, it is treated as an article.

The elements common to all references to a conference paper are:

Author Name

  • Use full author name as the first element in the reference.

Title

  • Capitalise the title of the conference paper in headline style in quotation marks—not in italics.

Type of Paper

  • The type of paper (paper, poster, PowerPoint presentation, etc.) is included after the title of the paper.

Conference Details

  • The sponsorship, location, and date of the meeting is included after the type of paper.
  • This information is put in parentheses in a note but not in a bibliography. 

DOI or URL or Database Name

  • If the conference paper was consulted online, include the DOI if available, or a URL.
  • For conference papers retrieved from a commercial database, include the database name instead of URL.

Conference papers - online

 

The following is the general format of a reference to an online conference paper. Include the DOI if available, or a URL. For conference papers retrieved from a commercial database, include the database name instead of URL.

See the general rules for conference papers for more details. 

 

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, "Title: Subtitle" (type of paper presented at Conference Name, Location, Date), page(s) cited, DOI or URL or Database Name.

1. Hannah Rohde, Roger Levy, and Andrew Kehler, “Implicit Causality Biases Influence Relative Clause Attachment” (poster presented at the 21st CUNY Conference on Human Sentence Processing, Chapel Hill, NC, March 13-15, 2008), http://idiom.ucsd.edu/~rlevy/papers/cuny2008/rohde-levy-kehler-2008-cuny.pdf.

 

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number.  Author's Last Names, "Shortened Title,"  page(s) cited.

2. Rohde, Levy, and Kehler, “Implicit Causality Biases." 

 

Bibliography

First Author's Last Names, First Name, Other Authors' First Name, Last Name. "Title: Subtitle." Type of paper presented at Conference Name, Location, Date. DOI or URL or Database Name.

Rohde, Hannah, Roger Levy, and Andrew Kehler. “Implicit Causality Biases Influence Relative Clause Attachment.” Poster presented at the 21st CUNY Conference on Human Sentence Processing, Chapel Hill, NC, March 13-15, 2008. http://idiom.ucsd.edu/~rlevy/papers/cuny2008/rohde-levy-kehler-2008-cuny.pdf.

Conference papers - printed

 

The following is the general format of a reference to a conference paper in print. 

See the general rules for conference papers for more details. 

 

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, "Title: Subtitle" (Type of Paper presented at Conference Name, Location, Date), page(s) cited.

1. Linda A. Teplin et al., “Early Violent Death in Delinquent Youth: A Prospective Longitudinal Study” (paper presented at the Annual Meeting of the American Psychology-Law Society, La Jolla, CA, March 2005), 3.

 

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number.  Author's Last Names, "Shortened Title,"  page(s) cited.

2. Teplin et al.“Early Violent Death," 4.

 

Bibliography

First Author's Last Names, First Name, Other Authors' First Name, Last Name. "Title: Subtitle." Type of paper presented at Conference Name, Location, Date. 

Teplin, Linda A., Gary M. McClelland, Karen M. Abram, and Jason J. Washburn. “Early Violent Death in Delinquent Youth: A Prospective Longitudinal Study.” Paper presented at the Annual Meeting of the American Psychology-Law Society, La Jolla, CA, March 2005.

Ask The Library

Ask The Library