Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style:  Magazine and newspaper articles

UON Library guide to Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style 17th ed.

General Rules and Examples

Magazine and newspaper articles

 

General rules:

Articles from magazines or newspapers are cited similarly to journal articles. However there are some variations. 

Author Names

  • Appear first in the reference. Use the full names of authors and invert only the first author in bibliography.
  • If a magazine article does not have an author move the title to the author position.
  • If a newspaper article is unsigned, the title of the newspaper stands in place of the author.

Article Titles

  • Capitalise all words in the title and sub-title (except for common words - of, and, etc).
  • Article titles appear in double quotation marks.

Magazine or Newspaper Title

  • Capitalise all words in the magazine or newspaper title (except for common words - of, and, etc).
  • Magazine or newspaper titles appear in full (not abbreviated), and in italics. e.g. New York Times.
  • An initial The in the magazine or newspaper title is usually dropped.

Volume and Issue Numbers

  • Magazine and newspapers articles, even if numbered by volume and issue, are usually cited by date only.
  • No volume or issue numbers are needed in bibliography. 

Date of Publication

  • The date, in the format of month day, year, being an essential element in the citation, is not enclosed in parentheses.

Page Numbers

  • In footnotes citations, only specific pages need be cited.
  • The inclusive page numbers of a magazine or newspaper article are not needed in the bibliography.

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)

  • If a DOI is available, include it in the footnote and the bibliography in the format of https://doi.org/xxxxxxx.

  • In the absence of a DOI, include the URL if available. If the source is located from a library database, cite by the database name instead. 

  • Check the What are DOIs? page for more information on DOIs.

Secondary Sources

For citations taken from secondary sources, see the Secondary Sources page

Magazine articles

 

Many of the guidelines for citing journals apply to magazines. However there are some variations:

  • Magazines, even if numbered by volume and issue, are usually cited by date only. 
  • The date, being an essential element in the citation, is not enclosed in parentheses. 
  • Cite only a specific page number in a note; the inclusive page numbers of a magazine article are not needed in bibliography.
  • A comma, rather than a colon, separates the date and the page cited.
  • If you consulted the article online, include a URL or the name of the database at the end of the citation.

The following is the general format of a reference to a print and an online magazine article with one author.

See the general rules for magazine and newspaper articles for more details. 

 

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, "Article Title: Subtitle," Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, page(s) cited, DOI or URL if available.

1. Mandy Walker, “Secrets to Stress-Free Flying,” Consumer Reports, October 2016, 18.

2. Walter Sinnott-Armstrong, "How to Win Every Argument," Time, July 1, 2018, http://time.com/5318965/how-to-win-an-argument/.

 

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number.  Author's Last Names,  "Shortened Article Title,"  page(s) cited.

3. Walker, “Secrets," 23.

4. Sinnott-Armstrong, "How to Win."

 

Bibliography

Author's Last Names, First Name. "Article Title: Subtitle." Title of Magazine,  Date of Publication,  DOI or URL if available.

Sinnott-Armstrong, Walter. "How to Win Every Argument." Time, July 1, 2018. http://time.com/5318965/how-to-win-an-argument/.

Walker, Mandy. “Secrets to Stress-Free Flying.” Consumer Reports, October 2016.

Newspaper articles

 

Articles from newspapers or news sites are cited similarly to journal or magazine articles. Many of the guidelines for citing journals apply to newspapers. However there are some variations:

  • Newspapers are more commonly cited in notes or text than in bibliographies.
  • Newspapers, even if numbered by volume and issue, are usually cited by date only. 
  • The date (month day, year), being an indispensable element in the citation, is not enclosed in parentheses. 
  • The page numbers of an online newspaper article are usually omitted. Citations of print editions may include a specific page reference.
  • Column titles are capitalized but without quotation marks when included in a citation.
  • Editorials and published letters to the editor may be described generically, see the example 2 below.
  • Unsigned newspaper articles or features are best dealt with in text or notes. But if a bibliography entry should be needed, the title of the newspaper stands in place of the author. See the example 3 below.
  • For a book review published in newspaper, see the example 4 below.
  • If you consulted the article online, include a DOI, or URL, or the name of the database.

The following is the general format of a reference to a newspaper article. The examples include:

  • an online newspaper article,
  • an editorial of an online newspaper,
  • an unsigned newspaper article, and 
  • a book review published in a newspaper

See also the general rules for magazine and newspaper articles for more details. 

 

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, "Article Title: Subtitle," Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication,  DOI or URL if available.

1. Lauren Hard, “Your Graduation Speeches in 50 Words,” New York Times, June 6, 2018, https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/06/us/graduation-commencement-speech.html.

2. "The Sweet Taste of Excess," editorial, Sydney Morning Herald, June 27, 2018, https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/the-sweet-taste-of-excess-20180626-p4znua.html.

3. “In Texas, Ad Heats Up Race for Governor,” New York Times, July 30, 2002.

4. Michiko Kakutani, “Friendship Takes a Path That Diverges,” review of Swing Time, by Zadie Smith, New York Times, November 7, 2016.

 

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number.  Author's Last Names,  "Shortened Article Title." 

5. Hard, “Your Graduation Speeches."

6. "Sweet Taste."

7. “In Texas.” 

8. Kakutani, “Friendship."

 

Bibliography

Newspapers are more commonly cited in notes or text than in bibliographies. However, if a bibliography entry were needed, it would appear in the format as below:

Author's Last Names, First Name. "Article Title: Subtitle." Title of Newspaper,  Date of Publication,  DOI or URL if available.

Hard, Lauren. “Your Graduation Speeches in 50 Words.” New York Times, June 6, 2018. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/06/us/graduation-commencement-speech.html.

Kakutani, Michiko. “Friendship Takes a Path That Diverges.” Review of Swing Time, by Zadie Smith. New York Times, November 7, 2016.

New York Times. “In Texas, Ad Heats Up Race for Governor.” July 30, 2002.

Sydney Morning Herald. "The Sweet Taste of Excess." Editorial. June 27, 2018. https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/the-sweet-taste-of-excess-20180626-p4znua.html.

Ask The Library

Ask The Library