Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style: Books & eBooks

UON Library guide to Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style 17th edition

Books & ebooks

Brochure, pamphlet, exhibition catalog, corporate report, and other freestanding publication are often published as a book and is treated as such.

General rules:

Author Names

Appear first in the reference. Use the full names of authors and invert only the first author in bibliography.
Include all author names in the footnote when a book has up to 3 authors; list only the first author followed by et al. for 4 or more authors.
List all for up to 10 authors, or the first 7 followed by et al. for more than 10 authors in the reference list.
For an edited book, place the editor names in the author position followed by ed. (for editor) or eds (for editors). Note that the shortened footnote does not include ed.
If the book does not have an author, editor, or translator, move the title to the author position.

Book Titles

Capitalise all words in the title and sub-title (except for common words - of, and, etc).
Book titles appear in italics.

Edition

The edition other than the first is cited and placed after the title. The standard first edition is not cited.
Terms of edition are abbreviated, e.g. 2nd ed. (Second Edition), rev. ed. (Revised Edition), or 1st Aust. ed. (First Australian Edition)
Remove any superscript from editions when typing - all letters should be on the same line (e.g. 2nd ed.).

Place of Publication

Place of publication is the city where the publisher’s main editorial offices are located.
If the city may be confused with another city of the same name, the abbreviation of the state or country is usually added.
Include only the first place of publication, if more than one is listed.
When there is no place of publication, the abbreviation n.p. (or N.p. if following a period) may be used, or just omit that element.

Publisher

The publisher’s name may be given either in full or in an abbreviated form.
Omit an initial 'The' from a publisher’s name and the words such as "Inc.", "Ltd.", "Co.", or "& Co."

Year of Publication

For books, only the year, not the month or day, is included in the publication date.
When an entire multivolume, multiyear work is cited, the range of dates is given, e.g. 1952-63.
When the publication date of a printed work is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. takes the place of the year

eBooks

For books consulted on the web, include the DOI if available, or the URL at the end of the citation.
For an ebook located from a library database, include the DOI if available, or the name of the database at the end of the citation.
For other types of electronic books, add the application, format, device, or medium consulted at the end of citation, e.g. Kindle

Secondary Sources

For citations taken from secondary sources, see the Secondary Sources page

Books with 1 author

The following is the general format of a reference to a print book with one author.

See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

1. Terri Janke, True Tracks: Respecting Indigenous Knowledge and Culture (Sydney: NewSouth Publishing, 2021), 66.

2. Martin Weller, The Digital Scholar: How Technology Is Transforming Academic Practice (New York: Bloomsbury Publishing, 2011), 35.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Author's Last Names, Shortened Book Title, page(s) cited.

3. Janke, True Tracks, 99

4. Weller, The Digital Scholar, 48.

Bibliography

Author's Last Names, First Name. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Janke, Terri. True Tracks: Respecting Indigenous Knowledge and Culture. Sydney: NewSouth Publishing, 2021.

Weller, Martin. The Digital Scholar: How Technology Is Transforming Academic Practice. New York: Bloomsbury Publishing, 2011.

Books with 2 authors

The following is the general format of a reference to a print book with two authors.

See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Full Names of Author One and Author Two, Book Title, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

1. Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman, A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life (New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015), 55.

2. William Strunk Jr. and E. B. White, The Elements of Style, 4th ed. (New York: Allyn and Bacon, 2000), 25.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Last Name of Author One and Author Two, Shortened Book Title, page(s) cited.

3. Grazer and Fishman, A Curious Mind, 68.

Bibliography

1st Author's Last Name, First Name, and 2nd Author's First name Last name. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015.

Strunk, William, Jr., and E. B. White. The Elements of Style. 4th ed. New York: Allyn and Bacon, 2000.

Books with 3 authors

The following is the general format of a reference to a print book with three authors.

See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Full Names of Author 1, Author 2, and Author 3, Book Title, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

1. Robert Garner, Peter Ferdinand, and Stephanie Lawson, Introduction to Politics, 3rd ed. (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2016), 66-67.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Last Name of Author 1, Author 2, and Author 3, Shortened Book Title, page(s) cited.

3. Garner, Ferdinand, and Lawson, Introduction to Politics, 78.

Bibliography

1st Author's Last Name, First Name, 2nd Author's First name Last name, and 3rd Author's First Name Last Name. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Garner, Robert, Peter Ferdinand, and Stephanie Lawson. Introduction to Politics. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2016.

Books with 4+ authors

When a book has 4 or more authors, list only the first author followed by et al. in footnotes. List all for up to 10 authors, or the first 7 followed by et al. for more than 10 authors in the bibliography.

The following is the general format of a reference to a print book with four or more authors.

See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. 1st Author's First Name and Last Name et al., Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

1. Michael Haralambos et al., Sociology: Themes and Perspectives, 8th ed. (London: Collins Educational, 2013), 81.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. 1st Author's Last Names et al., "Shortened Book Title," page(s) cited.

2. Haralambos et al., Sociology, 160.

Bibliography

1st Author's Last Name, First Name, 2nd Author's First name Last name, 3rd Author's First name Last name, and 4th Author's First name Last name. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Haralambos, Michael, Martin Holborn, Steve Chapman, and Stephen Moore. Sociology: Themes and Perspectives. 8th ed. London: Collins Educational, 2013.

Books with corporate authors

'Corporate authors' are groups, societies or organisations who have written publications. This includes universities, research groups, museums, government departments, professional associations, and so on.

The following is the general format of a reference to a book by a corporate author.

See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Corporate Author, Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

1. American Welding Society, Guide for the Visual Examination of Welds, 3rd ed. (Miami: American Welding Society, 2015), 78.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Corporate Author, Shortened Book Title, page(s) cited.

2. American Welding Society, Guide for the Visual Examination, 88.

Bibliography

Corporate Author. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

American Welding Society. Guide for the Visual Examination of Welds, 3rd ed. Miami: American Welding Society, 2015.

Edited books

Edited books usually contain chapters written by different authors. In most cases, you would actually want to reference the individual chapters you use from the edited book, not the edited book itself. See the Book chapters page for more information.

An edited work of one author is normally cited under the name of the author. See more details under the edited work of one author at the bottom of this page.

The following is the general format of a reference to an edited book of one editor. The editor is listed in place of an author, followed by the abbreviation ed. (editor; for more than one editor, use eds.). Note that the shortened form does not include ed.

See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Editor's First and Last Names, ed., Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

1. Justin Healey, ed., Stolen Generations: The Way Forward (Thirroul: Spinney Press, 2009), 12.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Editor's Last Names, Shortened Book Title, page(s) cited.

2. Healey, Stolen Generations, 18.

Bibliography

Editor's Last Name, First Name, ed. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Healey, Justin, ed. Stolen Generations: The Way Forward. Thirroul: Spinney Press, 2009.

Edited work of one author

The edited work of one author is normally listed with the author’s name appearing first and the name(s) of the editor(s) appearing after the title, preceded by edited by (as in bibliography) or ed. (as in notes). For example:

1. Yves Bonnefoy, New and Selected Poems, ed. John Naughton and Anthony Rudolf (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995), 23.

Bonnefoy, Yves. New and Selected Poems. Edited by John Naughton and Anthony Rudolf. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995.

Books with no author listed

Some books may not have an author or editor listed. If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title. An initial article (e.g. A, The, An) is ignored in alphabetising.

The following is the general format of a reference to a print book with no author.

See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

1. Anzac Memorial: Published for the Benefit of the Returned Soldiers Association of New South Wales (Sydney: Returned Soldiers Association, 1916): 35.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Shortened Book Title, page(s) cited.

2. Anzac Memorial, 48.

Bibliography

Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Anzac Memorial: Published for the Benefit of the Returned Soldiers Association of New South Wales. Sydney: Returned Soldiers Association, 1916.

Please note that if a work is explicitly attributed to “Anonymous” (e.g., on the title page or at the head of the work), it should be cited accordingly.

Books with no listed publication date

When the publication date of a printed work cannot be ascertained, the abbreviation n.d. takes the place of the year in the publication details.

The following is the general format of a reference to a print book without a publication date.

See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, n.d.): page(s) cited.

1. Virginia Kirby-Smith, The Development of Australian Theatre and Drama, 1788-1964 (Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, n.d.), 45.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Author's Last Names, Shortened Book Title, page(s) cited.

2. Kirby-Smith, The Development of Australian Theatre, 48.

Bibliography

Author's Last Names, First Name. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, n.d.

Kirby-Smith, Virginia. The Development of Australian Theatre and Drama, 1788-1964. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, n.d.

eBooks with a DOI

eBooks follow the same formatting patterns as those of print books, but add the DOI to the end of the citation. If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the notes, if any (or simply omit).

The following is the general format of a reference to an ebook by one author with a DOI.

See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Book Title, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(or book section) cited, https://doi.org/10.xxxxxxxxxx.

1. Mark Evan Bonds, Absolute Music: The History of an Idea (New York: Oxford University Press, 2014), chap. 3, https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0004.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Author's Last Names, Shortened Book Title, page(or book section) cited.

2. Bonds, Absolute Music, chap. 4, https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0005

Bibliography

Author's Last Names, First Name. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. DOI of the book.

Bonds, Mark Evan. Absolute Music: The History of an Idea. New York: Oxford University Press, 2014. https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.001.0001.

Notes:

Remove the University proxy (ezproxy.newcastle.edu.au) from any link used.
Do not insert a hyphen if you need to break a URL across lines. Break the URL before a slash or dash or at another logical division point.
Include a full-stop after the URL at the end of the reference.
Use the chapter DOI for the pinpoint section in footnotes if available; use the DOI for the book in the bibliography.

Books without DOI

eBooks follow the same formatting patterns as those of print books, but add the DOI or URL or Database Name, or the media maker such as Kindle to the end of the citation. For Open Access eBooks without a DOI, use the URL. For eBooks from commercial databases (e.g. library databases), use the name of the database instead.

The following is the general format of a reference for an ebook without a DOI.

See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Book Title, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(or book section) cited, URL or Database Name.

1. Karen Lystra, Dangerous Intimacy: The Untold Story of Mark Twain’s Final Years (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2004), 54, http://ark.cdlib.org/ark:/13030/kt8779q6kr/.

2. Kalwant Bhopal and Patrick Alan Danaher, Identity and Pedagogy in Higher Education: International Comparisons (London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2013), 32, ProQuest Ebook Central.

3. Adam Begley, Updike (New York: Harper, 2014), 15, Kindle.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Author's Last Names, Shortened Book Title, page(or book section) cited.

4. Lystra, Dangerous Intimacy, 59.

Bibliography

Author's Last Names, First Name. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. URL or Database Name or Media Maker.

Begley, Adam. Updike. New York: Harper, 2014. Kindle.

Bhopal, Kalwant, and Patrick Alan Danaher. Identity and Pedagogy in Higher Education: International Comparisons. London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2013. ProQuest Ebook Central.

Lystra, Karen. Dangerous Intimacy: The Untold Story of Mark Twain’s Final Years. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2004. http://ark.cdlib.org/ark:/13030/kt8779q6kr/.

Notes:

Remove the University proxy (ezproxy.newcastle.edu.au) from any link used.
Do not insert a hyphen if you need to break a URL across lines. Break the URL before a slash or dash or at another logical division point.
Include a full-stop after the URL at the end of the reference.

Translated texts

Translated texts are republished works that have been translated from another original language. They can include ancient texts and modern works.

The translated work of one author is normally cited under the name of the author. See more details under the translated work of one author at the bottom of this page.

The following is the general format of a reference to a translated book without an author. See the general rules for books for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Translator's First and Last Names, trans., Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

1. Theodore Silverstein, trans., Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1974), 34.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Translator's Last Names, Shortened Book Title, page(s) cited.

2. Silverstein, Sir Gawain, 38.

Bibliography

Translator's Last Names, First Name, trans. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Silverstein, Theodore, trans. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1974..

Translated work of one author

The translated work of one author is normally listed with the author’s name appearing first and the name(s) of the translator(s) appearing after the title, preceded by translated by (as in bibliography) or trans. (as in footnotes). For example:

1. Rigoberta Menchú, Crossing Borders, trans. and ed. Ann Wright (New York: Verso, 1999), 23.

Menchú, Rigoberta. Crossing Borders. Translated and edited by Ann Wright. New York: Verso, 1999.

Reference works

Be sure to check with your lecturer if these kinds of resources are suitable for use in your assignments.

For information on how to reference entries or chapters from reference works such as:

Dictionaries
Encyclopaedias
Thesaurii
Indexes, etc

see the Book chapters page.

Course Readers and Compiled Texts

Course readers and compiled texts are usually collections of chapters and articles specifically chosen as readings for a particular subject.

To reference from these publications see the notes on the Course Material page.