Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style: Book chapters

UON Library guide to Chicago A: Notes and Bibliography Style 17th edition

Book chapters

General rules:

Author Names

Appear first in the reference. Use the full names of authors and invert only the first author in bibliography.
Include all authors in the footnote when a chapter has up to 3 authors; list only the first author followed by et al. for 4 or more authors.
Include all authors in the bibliography when a chapter has up to 10 authors; for more than 10 authors, list the first 7 followed by et al.

Chapter Titles

The title of the chapter appears after the author, and is enclosed in quotation marks.
Capitalise all words in the chapter title and sub-title (except for common words - of, and, etc).

Editor Names

In footnotes, list all for up to 3 editors; for 4 or more editors, list the first editor followed by et al.
In bibliography, list all for up to 10 editors, or list the first 7 followed by et al. for more than 10 editors.
Use the abbreviation ed. (for edited by) before the editor(s) in footnotes; spell out edited by in bibliography.

Book Titles

Capitalise all words in the book title and sub-title (except for common words - of, and, etc).
Book titles appear in italics.

Edition

The edition other than the first is cited and placed after the title. The standard first edition is not cited.
Terms of edition are abbreviated, e.g. 2nd ed. (Second Edition), rev. ed. (Revised Edition), or 1st Aust. ed. (First Australian Edition).
Remove any superscript from editions when typing - all letters should be on the same line (e.g. 2nd ed.).
Any information about volumes follows the edition number, e.g. 2nd ed. 4 vols.

Page Numbers or chapter number

Footnote may list the page(s) cited, or the chapter number.
Inclusive page numbers for the chapter or the chapter number may be included in bibliography.

Place of Publication

Place of publication is the city where the publisher’s main editorial offices are located.
Include the first place of publication, if more than one is listed.
If the city may be confused with another city of the same name, the abbreviation of the state or country is usually added.

Publisher

The publisher’s name may be given either in full or in an abbreviated form.
Omit an initial The from a publisher’s name and the words such as "Inc.", "Ltd.", "Co.", or "& Co."

Year of Publication

For books, only the year, not the month or day, is included in the publication date.
When the publication date of a printed work is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. takes the place of the year.

eBooks Chapter

Chapters in ebooks may have their own individual DOI so where possible use the chapter DOI rather than the one for the whole book.
For books consulted online, include the DOI if available or the URL at the end of the citation.
For an ebook located from a library database without a DOI, add the name of the database at the end of the citation.
For other types of electronic books, add the application, format, device, or medium consulted at the end of citation, e.g. Kindle.

Secondary Sources

For citations taken from secondary sources, see the Secondary Sources page

Book chapters with 1 author

The following is the general format of a reference to a book chapter with one author from an edited book. Ignore the editor's element if the book is a single-author book (the book author is the author for all chapters), as shown in footnote example 2.

See the general rules for book chapters for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Chapter Author's First and Last Names, "Chapter Title," in Book Title: Subtitle, edition, ed. Editor's First and Last Names (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), Page(s) cited.

1. Adrian Ashman, “Contemporary Cultures and Education,” in Education for Inclusion and Diversity, 3rd ed., ed. Adrian Ashman and John Elkins (Frenchs Forest: Pearson Education Australia, 2008), 32.

2. Kate Andersen Brower, “Backstairs Gossip and Mischief,” in The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House (New York: Harper, 2015), 211.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Chapter Author's Last Names, "Shortened Chapter Title," page(s) cited.

2. Ashman, “Contemporary Cultures and Education,” 34.

3. Brower, “Backstairs Gossip and Mischief,” 215.

Bibliography

Chapter Author's Last Names, First Name. "Chapter Title." In Book Title: Subtitle, edition, edited by Editor's First and Last Names, inclusive Page (or chapter) numbers. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Ashman, Adrian. “Contemporary Cultures and Education.” In Education for Inclusion and Diversity, 3rd ed., edited by Adrian Ashman and John Elkins, 3-34. Frenchs Forest: Pearson Education Australia, 2008.

Brower, Kate Andersen. “Backstairs Gossip and Mischief.” In The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House, 207–22. New York: Harper, 2015.

Book chapters with 2-3 authors

When a chapter has up to 3 authors, list them all and use and (not &) before the last author.

The following is the general format of a reference to a book chapter with 2 and 3 authors from an edited book. Omit the editor's element if the book is a single-author book (not an edited book with different chapter authors).

See the general rules for book chapters for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. All Chapter Authors' First and Last Names, "Chapter Title," in Book Title: Subtitle, edition, ed. Editor's First and Last Names (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), Page(s) cited.

1. Jaana Juvonen and Sandra Graham, “Research based interventions on bullying,” in Bullying: Implications for the Classroom, ed. Cheryl E. Sanders and Gary D. Phye (San Diego: Elsevier Academic Press, 2004), 232.

2. Adam Renner, Bridget Brew, and Crystal Proctor, “Plotting Inequality, Building Resistance,” in Rethinking Mathematics: Teaching Social Justice by the Numbers, 2nd ed., ed. Eric Gutstein and Bob Peterson (Milwaukee: Rethinking Schools, 2013), 177.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Chapter Authors' Last Names, "Shortened Chapter Title," page(s) cited.

2. Juvonen and Graham, “Research based interventions,” 244.

3. Renner, Brew, and Proctor, “Plotting Inequality, Building Resistance,” 178.

Bibliography

First Chapter Author's Last Names, First Name, Other Chapter Authors' First Name Last Name. "Chapter Title." In Book Title: Subtitle, edition, edited by Editor's First and Last Names, inclusive Page (or chapter) numbers. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Juvonen, Jaana, and Sandra Graham. “Research based interventions on bullying.” In Bullying: Implications for the Classroom, edited by Cheryl E. Sanders and Gary D. Phye, 229-55. San Diego: Elsevier Academic Press, 2004.

Renner, Adam, Bridget Brew, and Crystal Proctor. “Plotting Inequality, Building Resistance.” In Rethinking Mathematics: Teaching Social Justice by the Numbers, 2nd ed., edited by Eric Gutstein and Bob Peterson, 175-180. Milwaukee: Rethinking Schools, 2013.

Book chapters with 4 or more authors

When a chapter has 4 or more authors, list only the first author followed by et al. in footnotes; include all author names in the bibliography for up to 10 authors, list the first 7 followed by et al. for more than 10 authors.

The following is the general format of a reference to a book chapter with 4 or more authors from an edited book. Omit the editor's element if the book is a single-author book (i.e. not an edited book with different chapter authors).

See the general rules for book chapters for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. First Chapter Authors' First and Last Names, et al., "Chapter Title," in Book Title: Subtitle, edition, ed. Editor's First and Last Names (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), Page(s) cited.

1. Herbert W. Marsh, et al., “In the Looking Glass: A Reciprocal Effects Model Elucidating the Complex Nature of Bullying, Psychological Determinants, and the Central Role of Self-Concept,” in Bullying: Implications for the Classroom, ed. Cheryl E. Sanders and Gary D. Phye (San Diego: Elsevier Academic Press, 2004), 88.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. First Chapter author's Last Names, et al., "Shortened Chapter Title," page(s) cited.

2. Marsh, et al., “In the Looking Glass,” 98.

Bibliography

Marsh, Herbert W., Roberto H. Parada, Rhonda G. Craven, and Linda Finger. “In the Looking Glass: A Reciprocal Effects Model Elucidating the Complex Nature of Bullying, Psychological Determinants, and the Central Role of Self-Concept.” In Bullying: Implications for the Classroom, edited by Cheryl E. Sanders and Gary D. Phye, 63-106. San Diego: Elsevier Academic Press, 2004.

eBook chapters with a DOI

eBook chapters follow the same formatting patterns as those of physical books, but add the DOI to the end of the citation.

The following is the general format of a reference to an ebook chapter from an edited book. Omit the editor's element if the book is a single-author book (i.e. not an edited book with different chapter authors). If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or other number in the notes, if any (or simply omit).

See the general rules for book chapters for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

1. Stephen Lamb, “School Dropout and Completion in Australia,” in School Dropout and Completion: International Comparative Studies in Theory and Policy, ed. Stephen Lamb, et al., (Dordrecht, Springer, 2010), 325, https://doi.org/10.1007/978-90-481-9763-7_18.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Chapter Author's Last Names, "Shortened Chapter Title," page(s) cited.

2. Lamb, “School Dropout,” 328.

Bibliography

Chapter Author's Last Names, First Name. "Chapter Title." In Book Title: Subtitle. edition, edited by Editor's First and Last Names, inclusive Page (or chapter) numbers. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. DOI.

Lamb, Stephen. “School Dropout and Completion in Australia.” In School Dropout and Completion: International Comparative Studies in Theory and Policy, edited by Stephen Lamb, Eifred Markussen, Richard TeeseJohn, and PoleselNina Sandberg, 321-339. Dordrecht: Springer, 2010. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-90-481-9763-7_18.

General guidelines:

Some ebooks do not include page numbers - in these cases, use the chapter number instead.
Chapters in ebooks will have their own individual DOI so where possible use the chapter DOI rather than the one for the whole book.
Include a full-stop after the DOI at the end of the reference.
eBooks do not require an access date unless the date of publication is not available.

eBook chapters without a DOI

eBook chapters follow the same formatting patterns as those of physical books, but add the DOI or URL or Database Name, or the media maker such as Kindle to the end of the citation. If the ebook doesn't have a DOI, use the URL.When a URL points to a location that requires a subscription to a commercial database (e.g., through a library), it may be better to name the database instead.

The following is the general format of a reference to an ebook chapter from an edited book without a DOI. Omit the editor's element if the book is a single-author book (i.e. not an edited book with different chapter authors). If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or other number in the notes, if any (or simply omit).

See the general rules for book chapters for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

1. Andrew J. Martin, “Student Motivation and Engagement: Strategies for Parents and Educators,” in Better Than OK: Helping Young People to Flourish at School and Beyond, ed. Helen Street and Neil Porter (Chicago: Fremantle Press, 2014), 45, ProQuest Ebook Central.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Chapter Author's Last Names, "Shortened Chapter Title," page(s) cited.

2. Martin, “Student Motivation and Engagement,” 46.

Bibliography

Martin, Andrew J. “Student Motivation and Engagement: Strategies for Parents and Educators,” In Better Than OK: Helping Young People to Flourish at School and Beyond, edited by Helen Street and Neil Porter, 41-47. Chicago: Fremantle Press, 2014. ProQuest Ebook Central.

General guidelines:

Some ebooks do not include page numbers - in these cases, use the chapter number instead.
Do not insert a hyphen if you need to break a URL across lines. Break the URL before a slash or dash or at another logical division point.
If the book is located in one of the library databases, use the database name instead of the URL.
Include a full-stop after the URL or database name at the end of the reference.
eBooks do not require an access date unless the date of publication is not available.

Entries/chapters from reference works

Be sure to check with your lecturer if these kinds of resources are suitable for use in your assignments.

General notes:

Reference works include dictionaries, encyclopaedias, thesaurii, handbooks, indexes, etc.
It is often sufficient simply to describe a reference content in the text or notes, unless there is a need for a bibliography entry.
If a DOI is assigned it should be included in the reference. Otherwise, include the URL or database name.
For entries without an author, cite the entry under the entry title.
No access date is required unless the date of publication is not available..
Remove the university proxy information from the URL [e.g. use http://www.oed.com NOT http://www.oed.com.ezproxy.newcastle.edu.au/]

The following is the general format of a reference to an entry from an electronic reference book. Omit the last element if the source is in print.

See the general rules for book chapters for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Entry Author's First and Last Names, "Entry Title," in Book Title: Subtitle, edition, ed. Editor's First and Last Names (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), Page(s) cited, DOI or URL or Database Name.

1. Richard Middleton, “Lennon, John Ono (1940–1980),” in Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford University Press, 2004; online ed., 2017), https://doi.org/10.1093/ref:odnb/31351.

Shortened / Subsequent Footnote

Note Number. Chapter Author's Last Names, "Shortened Chapter Title," page(s) cited.

2. Middleton, “Lennon, John Ono.”

Bibliography

Entry Author's Last Names, First Name. "Entry Title." In Book Title: Subtitle, edition, edited by Editor's First and Last Names, inclusive Page numbers. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. URL or Database Name.

Middleton, Richard. “Lennon, John Ono (1940–1980).” In Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Oxford University Press, 2004; online ed., 2011. https://doi.org/10.1093/ref:odnb/31351.

Introduction, preface, foreword, or afterword

Citing the introduction, preface, foreword, or afterword is similar to citing a book chapter, but add the relevant descriptive term before the book title.

If the reference is to a generic title such as introduction, preface, or afterword, that term (lowercased unless following a period) is added before the title of the book.
If the author of the introduction or other part is someone other than the main author of a book, that author comes first, and the author and/or editor of the book follows the title.
In the footnote cite the page/s cited; in the bibliography entry, include the page number range for the part cited.

The following is the general format of a reference to an introduction, preface, foreword, or afterword from a book and an edited book.

See the general rules for book chapters for more details.

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number. Preface Author's First and Last Names, "Preface Title," preface to Book Title: Subtitle, edition, by Author's First and Last Names (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), Page(s) cited.

1. John Felstiner, preface to Selected Poems and Prose of Paul Celan, by Paul Celan, translated by John Felstiner (New York: W. W. Norton, 2001), xix.

2. Rich Wallach, “Cormac McCarthy's Canon as Accidental Artifact,” introduction to Myth, Legend, Dust: Critical Responses to Cormac McCarthy, edited by Rich Wallach (Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2000), xiv.

3. Harvey Mansfield and Delba Winthrop, introduction to Democracy in America, by Alexis de Tocqueville, translated and edited by Harvey Mansfield and Delba Winthrop (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000), xvii.

Bibliography: format and example

Preface Author's Last Names, First Name. "Preface Title." Preface to Book Title: Subtitle, edition, by Author's First and Last Names, Page range of preface. Other contributors. Place of publisher: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Felstiner, John. Preface to Selected Poems and Prose of Paul Celan, by Paul Celan, xix-xxxxvi. Translated by John Felstiner. New York: W. W. Norton, 2001.

Mansfield, Harvey, and Delba Winthrop. Introduction to Democracy in America, by Alexis de Tocqueville, xvii–lxxxvi. Translated and edited by Harvey Mansfield and Delba Winthrop. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000.

Wallach, Rick. “Cormac McCarthy's Canon as Accidental Artifact.” Introduction to Myth, Legend, Dust: Critical Responses to Cormac McCarthy, xiv-xvi. Edited by Rich Wallach. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2000.