Skip to Main Content

Computing and Information Technology: SENG6250 Assignment Help

A Library Guide to Computing and Information Technology resources for students and staff of the University of Newcastle

Hello SENG6250 Students, Welcome to the Help Guide!

School of Information and Physical Sciences

This guide has 9 mini-sections to get you started with your Assessment 3: Research Report and Presentation assignment.

Before you start, it is strongly recommended that you:

  • read the Assessment Instructions in your Canvas course site, and
  • read the Marking Criteria for the assignment in your Canvas course site.

Helpful Libguide resources for this assessment include:

1. Plan for Your Research and Understand the Topic

Before you start looking for information for your assignment, it is important to analyse your topic and plan for your research. Think about:

  • What the question means and how you should go about answering it.
  • How much information do you need?
  • What kind of information have you been asked to use?
  • Are there any limiters such as time or geographic locations?

Identifying key concepts or keywords in your assignment will help you to locate relevant information more effectively. Also think about similar concepts and alternative terms eg Artificial intelligence OR AI, aboriginal OR indigenous. 

These key concepts and keywords will form the basis of your search strategy. 

Watch the following video on topic analysis by UON Academic Learning Support

What are your key concepts and keywords for your research topic?

2. Know the Search Tips and Library Search

Once you have identified the keywords included in your assignment question, you can think about how to use these keywords to conduct your search.

Using appropriate search techniques such as Boolean Operators, phrase search, and truncation can make your search more effective.

Watch the videos below on Search Tips and Using Library Search.

Try the Library Search to find books and articles on your topic

3. Find Scholarly Journal Articles Using Databases

Information or literature can be found in a variety of sources such as Library Search, Databases, and on the Internet.  

Library journal databases are collections of journal articles. You can find the best databases for your topic on the Computing and IT Subject Guide.  

Not sure how to use them? Watch the following videos and try your search in

ACM Digital Library

 

EBSCO Megafile Ultimate

 

ProQuest Databases

 

ScienceDirect Journals

 

Scopus

Scopus basic search

 

Web of Science

4. Evaluate Your Sources Using TRAAP

  • Locating sources appropriate for university assignments takes time and critical evaluation.
  • Understanding how to evaluate information should make it easier for you to choose sources for your assessments.

Watch the following video on evaluating your sources with the TRAAP method. 

 

Learn more using the Resource Evaluation Tool to help you assess resources such as books, websites, images and more.

5. Manage Your Literature Using EndNote

As part of your research, collecting evidence requires searching multiple resources on your topic. A good way to manage all your search results is to use a Citation Management Tool.

The library supports the use of EndNote for you to save, manage, and review the literature you have found for your research. EndNote can also create in-text citations and bibliography in Word automatically for you. 

From the library EndNote Guide, you can:

For a quick overview, watch the following video on how to use EndNote. 

For Windows Users

For Mac Users

6. Be Familiar with IEEE or Other Referencing Styles

The Library provides style guides for most referencing styles used at UON including AGLC, APA, Chicago A, Chicago B, Harvard, IEEE, JAMAMLA and Vancouver

The IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) referencing style is widely used in the electrical, electronic and computing engineering fields. It is a numbered style that uses citation numbers in the text (in-text citations) leading to the relevant numbered entries in the reference list that appears at the end of the work. 

  • The reference list appears at the end of the document and includes only the sources cited in-text.
  • Reference list entries appear in the same order as cited in-text, arranged numerically by citation number.
  • All lines of reference list entries should be indented.

A sample reference list in IEEE style

References

[1]  S. Gandhare and B. Karthikeyan, "Survey on FPGA architecture and recent applications," in Proc. Int. Conf. Vis. Towards Emerg. Trends Commun. Netw. (ViTECoN), Vellore, India, Mar. 2019, pp. 1–4, doi: 10.1109/ViTECoN.2019.8899550.

[2]  A. Chakravorty, S. Panday, S. Pahari, S. Zhao, and E. Alexov, "Capturing the effects of explicit waters in implicit electrostatics modeling: Qualitative justification of Gaussian-based dielectric models in Delphi," J. Chem. Inf. Model., vol. 60, no. 4, 2229-2246, Mar. 2020, doi: 10.1021/acs.jcim.0c00151.

[3]  F. Alexander, Jr., "Optimization of interdigitated electrode (IDE) arrays for impedance based evaluation of Hs 578T cancer cells," J. Phys., Conf. Ser., vol. 224, Oct. 2010, Art. no. 012134, doi: 10.1088/1742- 6596/224/1/012134.

[4]  J. Chen, Z. Fang, J. Liu, and L. Zeng, "A simple and rapid biosensor for ochratoxin a based on a structure-switching signaling aptamer," Food Control, vol. 25, no. 2, pp. 555–560, Jun. 2012, doi: 10.1016/j.foodcont.2011.11.039. 

[5]  L. Li, C. Li, Z. Zhang and E. Alexov, "On the dielectric “constant” of proteins: Smooth dielectric function for macromolecular modeling and its implementation in delphi," J. Chem. Thoery Comput., vol. 9, no. 4, pp. 2126–2136, Mar. 2013, doi: 10.1021/ct400065j.

[6]  T. Designs, "‘Reference design to measure AC voltage and current in protection relay with delta-sigma chip diagnostics," Texas Instruments, Dallas, TX, USA, Tech. Rep., 2016.

[7]  P. Kopyt et al., "Electric properties of graphene-based conductive layers from DC up to terahertz range," IEEE THz Sci. Technol, vol. 6, no. 3, pp. 480-490, May 2016, doi: 10.1109/TTHZ.2016.2544142. 

7. Read Effectively for Your Research

You won’t be able to read everything on your topic and you don’t need to read a source from cover to cover, you need to read effectively.

Watch the video below on reading and note making for your literature review

8. Write and Present Your Report

Writing your report is an ongoing process of writing and re-writing. See the UON Academic Support Team’s Guide to Report Writing for detailed instructions on report writing, and always follow your lecturer’s instructions for what elements you are required to include. 

Watch the video below on Report Writing. Contact academic support for more help.

9. Practice for the Report Presentation

You can practice your presentation using the recording feature of MS PowerPoint or other tools. (Note: Free MS Office Package is available to current UON students if needed. See Software for your personal computer on the Software and tools page)

Watch the following videos on how to create a video from PowerPoint recording.

Recording a PowerPoint Video

Save a PowerPoint Presentation to a Video