This guide lists library resources to support your Assessment 2: Research Proposal, Presentation and Report assignments.
Before you start, it is strongly recommended that you:
Helpful Libguide resources for this assessment include:
Research can be primary or secondary, and there are different types of research methods and tools. The library Research Methods Guide provides an introduction to research methods and search strategies for finding research.
A literature review is a critical and in depth evaluation of previous research on a topic. Through your literature review, you can find what research, knowledge and practice have been developed in the area; the strength or weakness and the trends or gaps of the research; and how the research is closely related to your project. There are many types of literature reviews including the Systematic Literature Reviews (SLR).
The Library provides a Literature Review Guide and also a Systematic Review Guide.
Watch the following video on research and systematic literature review.
Before you start looking for information for your assignment, it is important to analyse your topic and plan for your research. Think about:
Identifying key concepts or keywords in your assignment will help you to locate relevant information more effectively. Also think about similar concepts and alternative terms eg Artificial intelligence OR AI, aboriginal OR indigenous.
These key concepts and keywords will form the basis of your search strategy.
Watch the video below on topic analysis. What are your key concepts and keywords?
Once you have identified the keywords included in your assignment question, you can think about how to use these keywords to conduct your search.
Using appropriate search techniques such as Boolean Operators, phrase search, and truncation can make your search more effective.
Watch the video below and try the Library Search to find books and articles
Information or literature can be found in a variety of sources such as Library Search, Databases, and on the Internet.
Library journal databases are collections of journal articles. You can find the best databases for your topic on the Computing and IT Subject Guide.
Not sure how to use them? Watch the following videos and try your search in
Snowball search is a search method that uses a key document on your topic as a starting point to find more other relevant publications by tracking down the citations.
Watch the video below and try a snowball in Google Scholar by doi:
Watch the following video on evaluating your sources with the TRAAP method.
A literature review requires searching multiple resources on your topic. A good way to manage all your search results is to use a Citation Management Tool.
The library supports the use of EndNote for you to save, manage, and review the literature you have found for your literature review. EndNote can also create in-text citations and bibliography in Word automatically for you.
From the library EndNote Guide, you can:
For a quick overview, watch the following videos on how to use EndNote.
For Windows Users
For Mac Users
The Library has created style guides for most referencing styles used at UON such as AGLC, APA, Chicago A, Chicago B, Harvard, MLA. Vancouver and more.
References
Ahmed, Z., Mohamed, K., Zeeshan, S., & Dong, X. (2020). Artificial intelligence with multi-functional machine learning platform development for better healthcare and precision medicine. Database: The Journal of Biological Databases and Curation, 2020, Article baaa010. https://doi.org/10.1093/database/baaa010
Denicolo, P., & Becker, L. (2012). Developing research proposals. SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781526402226
Denscombe, M. (2013). The role of research proposals in business and management education. The International Journal of Management Education, 11(3), 142-149. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijme.2013.03.001
Frederick, H., O'Connor, A., & Kuratko, D. F. (2019). Entrepreneurship: Theory, process, practice. Cengage Learning.
Motlagh, N. H., Mohammadrezaei, M., Hunt, J., & Zakeri, B. (2020). Internet of Things (IoT) and the energy sector. Energies, 13(2), 494. https://doi.org/10.3390/en13020494
Open University. (2008). Sample Research Proposals. https://fass.open.ac.uk/sites/fass.open.ac.uk/files/files/research/sample-research-proposal.pdf
Schindler, P. S. (2021). Business research methods (14th ed.). McGraw-Hill.
Sudheesh, K., Duggappa, D., & Nethra, S. (2016). How to write a research proposal? Indian Journal of Anaesthesia, 60(9), 631-634. https://doi.org/10.4103/0019-5049.190617
Taeihagh, A., & Lim, H. S. M. (2019). Governing autonomous vehicles: Emerging responses for safety, liability, privacy, cybersecurity, and industry risks. Transport Reviews, 39(1), 103-128. https://doi.org/10.1080/01441647.2018.1494640
Terrell, S. R. (2015). Writing a proposal for your dissertation: Guidelines and examples. Guilford Publications. [see catalog record here]
University of Melbourne. (n.d.). Writing a research proposal. https://students.unimelb.edu.au/academic-skills/explore-our-resources/graduate-research/writing-a-research-proposal
Walshaw, M. (2015). Planning your postgraduate research. Palgrave Macmillan.
York St John University. (2021). Examples of research proposals. https://www.yorksj.ac.uk/study/postgraduate/research/apply/examples-of-research-proposals/
You won’t be able to read everything on your topic and you don’t need to read a source from cover to cover, you need to read effectively.
Watch the video below on reading and note making for your literature review
Writing your report is an ongoing process of writing and re-writing. See the UON Academic Support Team’s Guide to Report Writing for detailed instructions on report writing, and always follow your lecturer’s instructions for what elements you are required to include.
For group presentation, see the Group Work and Presentation Skills Guide.
Watch the video below on Report Writing. Contact academic support for more help.