This guide provides the library resources to support your Research Project.
Before you start, it is strongly recommended that you:
Library resources for this assignment include:
A literature review is a critical and in depth evaluation of previous research on a topic. Through your literature review, you can find what research, knowledge and practice have been developed in the area; the strength or weakness and the trends or gaps of the research; and how the research is closely related to your project.
Watch the video by Krueger Library WSU below on what is a literature review.
The Library Literature Review Guide is an introduction to the Literature Review process. It covers:
Click the following image to visit the Literature Review Guide.
Information or literature can be found in a variety of sources such as Library Search, Databases, and on the Internet.
Library journal databases are collections of journal articles. You can find the best databases for your topic on the Computing and IT Subject Guide.
Not sure how to use them? Watch the following videos and try your search in
Snowball search is using a key document on your topic as a starting point to find more other relevant publications by tracking down the citations.
Watch the video below and try a snowball search in Google Scholar using the doi:10.1016/j.compedu.2011.07.017
Watch the following video on evaluating your sources with the TRAAP method.
A literature review requires searching multiple resources on your topic. A good way to manage all your search results is to use a Citation Management Tool.
The library supports the use of EndNote for you to save, manage, and review the literature you have found for your literature review. EndNote can also create in-text citations and bibliography in Word automatically for you.
From the library EndNote Guide, you can:
For a quick overview, watch the following videos on how to use EndNote.
For Windows Users
For Mac Users
The Library provides style guides for most referencing styles used at UON such as AGLC, APA, Chicago A, Chicago B, Harvard, IEEE, JAMA, MLA, and Vancouver.
APA Referencing Style 7th edition (APA 7th)
Watch the video below on reading and note making for your literature review
A literature review in essay format should include an introduction, body, and conclusion.
Watch the following video (17 min) by David Taylor on how to write a literature review.
Writing your report is an ongoing process of writing and re-writing. See the UON Academic Support Team’s Guide to Report Writing for detailed instructions on report writing, and always follow your lecturer’s instructions for what elements you are required to include.