It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library Guides
Computing and Information Technology: Key Resources
A Library Guide to Computing and Information Technology resources for students and staff of the University of Newcastle
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these Computing and Information Technology databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Computing and Information Technology web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
As a part of ZDNet, ZDNet Australia presents news coverage and analysis of trends and technologies in computing and IT in Australia and across the globe.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these Computing and Information Technology groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
ACS is the national association for Information & Communication Technology professionals in Australia to empower the Australian community in fostering an environment that creates world class tech leaders and innovators.
AISA is a national organisation that aims to build the capacity of professionals in Australia and advance the cyber security and safety of the Australian public as well as businesses and governments in Australia.
IAPA is the national analytics association in Australia that promotes the growing strategic role played by data analytics in the business arena including establishing standards of practice, excellence, accreditation, and education.
IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization for the advancement of technology through highly-cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.
"A patent is a legally enforceable right for a device, substance, method or process. For your application to be successful, your invention must be new, useful and inventive or innovative. When granted, a patent will give you exclusive commercial rights to your invention." (IP Australia)
Patents from the US Patent and Trademark Office and European Patent Office. Includes patent and non-patent references, inventors and assignees, patent abstracts, links to full-text PDF patent documents, U.S patent classication codes, European Classification system (ECLA) codes and International Patent Classification system (IPC) codes. The database can be cross-searched with other databases on Engineering Village (Compendex, Inspec, GeoBase and GeoRef), retrieving results both from patents and scientific literature.
Provides access to intellectual property data collections such as PCT (Patents), Madrid (Trademarks), Hague (Industrial Designs), Article 6ter (State Emblems, Official Hallmarks, and Emblems of Intergovernmental Organizations).
What is a Standard?
"Standards are documents setting out specifications, procedures and guidelines. They are designed to ensure products, services and systems are safe, reliable and consistent." (Standards Australia)
This resource provides access to the current collection of ASTM Standards using IHS Standards Expert. These standards begin with the acronym 'ASTM'. IHS Standards Expert also provides access to an index of over 1.6 million standards, specifications, codes, regulations and related documents from government, military and commercial sources. Users must create their own account before using this database. Please click this link to create an account. Once your account is activated, please return here and access the platform via the ASTM link. Please note that only a limited selection of Standards are available to University of Newcastle staff and students. To search the subscribed content, please filter by "My Subscriptions".
Over 3-million full-text documents in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
The Library's subscription INCLUDES IEEE Journals, Conference Proceedings and Standards (published and approved).
The Library's Subscription EXCLUDES IEEE Draft Standards.
NOTE: all above links will require login by a current student or staff to view information
Free Software for UON Students
A number of software packages and programs are available for you to download to your devices for free while you are a student here. These include anti-virus software, as well as programs that may be helpful for your course.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are defined by UNESCO as
“… teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions....”
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Computing and Information Technology are: