Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

MLA Style:  Conference papers

UON Library guide to MLA referencing style 8th edition for UON students

General Rules and Examples

Conference papers

 

General rules:

The exact format of references to conference papers is dependent upon whether the conference paper is published or unpublished, if it has a DOI, and how it is available (via a database, freely available on the internet, or in print). A paper included in published conference proceedings is treated like a chapter in a book. If published in a journal, it is treated as an article.

The elements common to all references to a conference paper are:

Author Name

  • Use full author name as the first element in the reference.

Title

  • Capitalise the title of the conference paper in headline style in quotation marks—not in italics.

Type of Paper

  • The type of paper (paper, poster, PowerPoint presentation, etc.) is included after the title of the paper.

Conference Details

  • The sponsorship, location, and date of the meeting is included after the type of paper.

Database Name

  • If the source is located from a library database, add the database name in italics before the DOI or URL, followed by a comma, e.g. JSTOR, www.xxxx.xxx.

DOI or URL 

  • If the conference paper was consulted online, include a DOI if available, or a URL.

Conference papers - online

 

The following is the general format of a reference to an online conference paper. Include the DOI if available, or a URL. For conference papers retrieved from a commercial database or a large collection, include the database or the collection name.

See general rules for conference papers for more details. 

 

In-text citation: format and example

... (Author's Last Name Page/s cited) ...

... (Rohde et al. 2) ...

... (Agarwal and Singh 33) ...

 

Works-cited list entry: format and example

First Author's Last Name, First Name, Other Authors' First Name, Last Name.  "Title: Subtitle." Type of paper presented at Conference Name, Location, Date, URL.

Rohde, Hannah, et al. “Implicit Causality Biases Influence Relative Clause Attachment.” Poster presented at the 21st CUNY Conference on Human Sentence Processing, Chapel Hill, NC, 13-15 Mar. 2008. idiom.ucsd.edu/~rlevy/papers/cuny2008/rohde-levy-kehler-2008-cuny.pdf.

Agarwal, Naman, and Karan Singh. “The Price of Differential Privacy for Online Learning.” Proceedings of the 34th International Conference on Machine Learning, Sydney, Australia, 6-11 August 2017, edited by Doina Precu and Yee Whye Teh. Proceedings of Machine Learning Research, vol. 70, 2017, pp. 32-40, proceedings.mlr.press/v70/agarwal17a/agarwal17a.pdf.

Conference papers - printed

 

The following is the general format of a reference to a freestanding conference paper in print. A paper included in the published conference proceedings is treated like a chapter in a book. If published in a journal, it is treated as an article.

See general rules for conference papers for more details. 

 

In-text citation: format and example

... (Author's Last Name Page/s cited) ...

... (Teplin et al. 5) ...

 

Reference list entry: format and example

First Author's Last Name, First Name, Other Authors' First Name, Last Name. "Title: Subtitle." Type of paper presented at Conference Name, Location, Date. 

Teplin, Linda A., et al. “Early Violent Death in Delinquent Youth: A Prospective Longitudinal Study.” Paper presented at the Annual Meeting of the American Psychology-Law Society, La Jolla, CA, 3-6 Mar. 2005.

Ask The Library

Ask The Library