Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Chicago B: Author-Date Style:  Theses

UON Library guide to Chicago B: Author-Date Style 17th edition

Theses and dissertations

 

The following information is for reference list entries. See also:

 

General rules:

The exact format of references to theses and dissertations is dependent upon whether the thesis/dissertation is published or unpublished, and how it is available (via a database, freely available on the internet, or in print). 

The elements common to all references to a thesis/dissertation are:

Author Name

  • Use full author name as the first element in the reference.

Thesis Title

  • Capitalise the thesis title in headline style in quotation marks—not in italics.

Thesis Type

  • The type of thesis (master’s thesis, or PhD diss.) is included after the title of the thesis.

Academic Institution

  • The academic institution is included after the thesis type.

Date

  • The Date of thesis is included after the academic institution.

DOI or URL or Database Name

  • If the document was consulted online, include the DOI if available, or a URL.
  • For theses retrieved from a commercial database, include the database name instead of URL, and, in parentheses, any identification number supplied by the database, e.g. ProQuest (AAT 3300426). 

Theses and dissertations in databases

 

The following is the general format of a reference to a thesis retrieved from a library database. 

See the general rules for theses for more details. 

 

In-text citation: format and example

... (Author's Last Name Year of Publication) ...

... (Choi 2008) ...

 

Reference list entry: format and example

Author's Last Names, First Name. Year. "Thesis Title: Subtitle." Type of Thesis, University. Database Name (Access No).

Choi, Mihwa. 2008. “Contesting Imaginaires in Death Rituals during the Northern Song Dynasty.” PhD diss., University of Chicago. ProQuest (AAT 3300426).

Open online theses and dissertations 

 

The following is the general format of a reference to a thesis freely available on the internet. 

See the general rules for theses for more details. 

 

In-text citation: format and example

... (Author's Last Name Year of Publication) ...

... (Baker 2018) ...

... (Vedrashko 2006) ...

 

Reference list entry: format and example

Author's Last Names, First Name.  Year. "Thesis Title: Subtitle." Type of Thesis, University. DOI or URL.

Baker, Phillip. 2018. "A Genealogy of Australian Educational Revolutions." PhD diss., University of Newcastle. https://nova.newcastle.edu.au/vital/access/manager/Repository/uon:33328

VedrashkoIlya. 2006. “Advertising in Computer Games.” Master’s thesis, MIThttp://hdl.handle.net/1721.1/39144.

Theses and dissertations - in print

 

The following is the general format of a reference to an unpublished thesis in print. 

See the general rules for theses for more details. 

 

In-text citation: format and example

... (Author's Last Name Year of Publication) ...

... (Rutzi 2013) ...

 

Reference list entry: format and example

Author's Last Names, First Name. Year. "Thesis Title: Subtitle." Type of Thesis, University.

Rutz, Cynthia Lillian. 2013. “King Lear and Its Folktale Analogues.” PhD diss., University of Chicago.

Ask The Library

Ask The Library