Please Note:
What you need (see more details at the EndNote website):
Depending on the security setting of your Mac, you may encounter error messages when you try to install your downloaded EndNote package. Here are some of the screenshots of the error messages provided by our students and our suggested solutions.
Also many thanks to those students who sent us the screenshots for helping other students.
| Screenshots of Error Messages | Suggested Solutions |
 |
EndNote doesn't open. When you first open EndNote after downloading, no windows will open. However, you can see the app open in the dock at the bottom and the EndNote menu in the ribbon at the top. Click File > New to create a library, and you will see the application open in a window. |
|
Solution: change the Security & Privacy setting to allow installation
|
Error message: EndNote 20 cannot be opened because it is from an unidentified developer. Solution: This will depend on your MacOS gatekeeper settings. If you click the question mark in the top right corner of the pop up, it should give you some instructions about how to change the security and privacy settings and allow the installation, e.g.
|
 |
Error message: To install EndNote20.x, you need to install Rosetta.
Solution: This problem is unique to M1 machines with no Rosetta installed. Click the Install button. Once Rosetta is installed, you should be able to install EndNote properly. |
 |
Error message: Word wasn't able to load an add-in. your add-in isn't compatible with this version of Word. ...
Solution:
|
|
|
Error message: The EndNote tools are disabled or do not load properly while opening Word.
Solution: EndNote 20 with Word 2016/2019:
|
See the UON Guide to EndNote 20 for Mac for more details.
You can add references to your EndNote library using any of the following methods:
(or Select References | New Reference from the EndNote toolbar.) This will open a New Reference edit window.
|
 |
Most journal databases include a download option that allows the export of records from the database to an EndNote Library. This is called ‘direct export’.
Direct export generally involves the following 3 steps:
If an EndNote Library is open, records will be imported there. Otherwise, navigate to and open the EndNote library.
Direct export differs slightly depending on the database and web browser used to search the database. Check the exact instructions on using direct export for specific databases on this guide.
The Online Search Mode allows you to connect to library catalogues (including the University of Newcastle catalogue), PubMed, and Web of Science (need to be on campus for WoS) to search and download records, all from within your EndNote library.
Note: Whilst the Online Search Mode includes links for many journal databases, PubMed and Web of Science are the only databases searchable from within EndNote. Use the Direct Export option for the other University subscribed databases.
To use the Online Search Mode:
1. Open the Online Search dropdown menu from the left of the EndNote Library Window
2. Select the connection to search, or click more … to view the complete list of catalogues and databases.
3. Enter your search terms, then click Search. The results will display in the Retrieve results box below.
4. Select all or individual records (hold the <command⌘> key while selecting), then click the plus sign (
) to add the selected references to your library
5. When you have finished searching, click All References to return to your EndNote library.
EndNote can create new records from PDF files that include a DOI in the metadata or the first two pages of the PDF. EndNote sends the DOI to two online databases (PubMed and CrossRef) capable of looking up reference data by DOI. If located, the bibliographic data is then sent back to EndNote, where a record is created and the PDF attached.
It is possible to import a single file, or a folder (and sub-folders) of PDF files.
If the PDF does not have a DOI, or the bibliographic details are not retrieved, EndNote will create a record, attach the PDF and include just the file name in the Title field.
The Import Window will appear:
Locate and select the pdf file you want to import
Click Options to show more options
Select PDF File or Folder as the Import Option
Select Discard Duplicates or Import All from the Duplicates drop down list as you wish
Click Import
The Import Window will appear:
Select the folder of pdf files you want to import
Click Options to show more options
Select PDF File or Folder or PDF Folder as a Group Set as the Import Option as you wish
Select Discard Duplicates or Import All from the Duplicates drop down list as you wish
Click Import
After the import process has finished, you will see the references imported in your EndNote library.
You can set PDF Handling Preference to automatically import PDF files saved in a specific folder.
EndNote allows you to attach files to records in your library.
Importing from a database does not automatically transfer the full text of the article. Instead, you will need to attach files using one the following methods.
You can also attach files by dragging and dropping a file onto a record in either the Library Window or the Reference/Edit Window.
EndNote can automate the process of locating and attaching PDF files to EndNote records using the Find Full Text command. Find Full Text works most efficiently when the EndNote record includes a DOI within the DOI field.
Before using Find Full Text the first time, you must configure EndNote:
|
Ensure that
OpenURL Path: https://newcastle.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/61UON_INST/openurl? http://ezproxy.newcastle.edu.au/login?url= (include the “=” in the last URL)
|
 |
(you can select up to 250 at a time), then
|
 |
|
The Find Full Text Group Set will appear in the Groups Panel This group set provides details of the number of
|
 |
Reasons why Find Full Text may not locate a PDF:
|
You can set PDF Handling options to automatically rename your PDF files imported or attached.
You can also set up an auto-import folder to automatically import PDF files saved in that folder if you wish.
Quality control of your EndNote library is very important as mistakes in the records in your library will translate into mistakes in your in-text citations and reference list entries.
EndNote identifies a record as a duplicate if two or more records included in the Library are assigned the same reference type (such as Journal Article), and have the same information in the Author, Year and Title fields.
To identify and delete duplicated records:
|
 |
Note: It is important to follow up this automatic checking process with a manual check for duplicates. Re-sort your Library Window alphabetically by title (click the Title column heading), visually scan, identify and delete duplicate records.
As your library grows in size, you may need to sort your library to locate records or check on data in the records.
By default your EndNote Library is sorted alphabetically by the surname of the first author, but you can re-sort the records by any field as needed.
The EndNote Library Window can display up to 10 columns. Each column is based on details included in a specific field included in each record in your library. The position of columns can also be changed by dragging a column heading and dropping to a new column position.
To sort records, click on any of the column headings. For example, clicking on the Title column heading will resort title in alphabetical order A-Z. Click once again to resort in Z-A order.
You can sort the library by up to 5 fields of the records. Click Library > Sort Library to re-sort using up to 5 fields as criteria
As your library grows in size, using the search feature will make it easier to locate the records you want to use.
To search a library, either use the Simple Search or the Advanced Search mode for a more thorough search.
Organise your Library by storing records into Groups. Multiple groups can appear within a Group Set. An individual record can be linked to more than one group.
To create a new group:
To create a group set:
Smart groups
Smart groups use search criteria to dynamically update groups as existing records are edited or new records are added to the library. Once a smart group is created it works in the background, automatically adding new records that match the smart group's criteria.
To create a smart group
EndNote provides a feature that allows you to simultaneously add text to a number of records. This feature is particularly useful when you are transferring records from databases into EndNote and need to add text to records, such as keywords or details about the name of the database.
To add text to multiple records:
Select Library | Change/Move/Copy Fields. The Change/Move/Copy Fields Window will appear (see below).
|
|
 |
It is essential to make a back-up of your EndNote library (and associated Data folder) in case disaster strikes. Create a backup copy whenever you make significant changes to your library – ensure you re-name the backup library (for example, add the date of backup to the file name).
Several methods can be used:
Note: It is also advisable to save backup copies of any Word documents which include links to your library.
You can use EndNote and Microsoft Word together to format your in-text citations and create bibliographies automatically. Please note in order for Word, EndNote and the MacOS to work properly with each other, you must meet the specific compatibility and system requirements.
Open both Microsoft Word and your EndNote library. In Word, the EndNote toolbar looks like this:
In EndNote, you can use the quick toolbar Insert Citation icon or the Insert button to insert citations into Word:
An output style determines how the information in your EndNote records will appear in in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies.
About 500 styles are pre-loaded in EndNote with an additional 6,000+ styles freely available for download at endnote.com/downloads/styles
By default, EndNote shows Author-Date, Annotated, Numbered and Show All Fields on the Output Styles menu.
|
 |
A number of methods are available for inserting references from an EndNote library into a Word document.
You will be returned to Word, where the in-text citation/s for the selected reference is inserted, and a reference list entry created at the end of the document.
|
|
 |
The EndNote 20 Find & Insert My References will appear.
|
You will be returned to Word, where the in-text citation/s for the selected reference is inserted, and a reference list entry created at the end of the document. |
 |
Editing of citations must be done using the Edit & Manage Citation(s) command on the EndNote 20 tab in Word.
There are various reasons that you may need to edit your in-text citations, for example:
A Note about Page Numbers:
In EndNote 20, adding page numbers using the Edit & Manage Citation(s) command will work if you are using the APA 7th or MLA output styles. If you are using a different style, and the page numbers you type in here do not appear in your in-text citation, it means that the output style you are using is not configured to recognise them. In this case, you could put them in the Suffix field. However, if you use the Suffix field for page numbers, you must also enter the punctuation and spaces exactly as you want it to appear in the text, e.g. p. 313.
If you insert a citation in error, or in the wrong place, DO NOT USE the <Delete> or <Backspace> keys on the keyboard to remove it. Click within the in-text citation in your document (the in-text citation will turn grey), then click on the Edit & Manage Citation(s) command on the EndNote 20 toolbar. The EndNote 20 Edit & Manage Citations window will open, and the citation you selected will be highlighted. Click on the Edit Reference drop-down menu. Select Remove Citation, then OK
You can highlight any text that includes citations, then use Cut or Copy, and then Paste it elsewhere in the document.
BUT, if you move or copy ONLY the citation itself, make sure you highlight the ENTIRE citation (including surrounding delimiters). Then Cut or Copy and Paste it elsewhere in the document.
If references you insert from EndNote 20 into your Word document look like this: {Jones, 2015 #14} - where Jones = author; 2015 = year; and #14 = the EndNote record number – it means that EndNote’s Instant Formatting feature has been disabled.
To turn Instant Formatting back on in your Word document, select the EndNote 20 tab, click the dropdown arrow next to Instant Formatting is Off, and select Turn Instant Formatting On.
For changes to the font size, indentation, or line spacing within and between entries in your reference list use the following instructions.
If the style you are required to use is a footnote style, such as Chicago A or AGLC4, you must first create a footnote in your document, before inserting a reference using one of the methods described above. EndNote will then format the in-text citation in the footnote and add the reference details to the bibliography.
There may be times when you simply want to produce a stand-alone list of references from your EndNote library (i.e. without the in-text citations).
Method 1: Using Copy Formatted
If you need to copy just a few references, the easiest process is:
Method 2: Using File Export
The FAQs here are related to Mac computers only. Otherwise see our EndNote FAQs page.
Click the question to see the answer and click it again or another question to close
The security settings on most macOS may prevent you from opening and running your EndNote download. The default settings for these Macs do not allow any files to be opened unless they have been downloaded from the App Store.
To allow Mac to install EndNote
See the Download and Install page for more details
This problem is unique to M1 machines with no Rosetta installed.
Click the Install button. Once Rosetta is installed, you should be able to install EndNote properly.
Some students with M1 Macs have reported an error message stating that “Word can’t load an add-in. Your add-in isn't compatible with this version of word." The workaround for this is to set Word to open with Rosetta.
On some machines with Mojave and Catalina, attempting to use the EndNote Cite While You Write tools may result in returning to the EndNote library, or an Error message. The reason is that Mojave and Catalina includes new Security & Privacy functions which can prevent EndNote from being able to correctly automate.
To correctly set these options:
With this automation turned off, the Cite While You Write functions will not work.
EndNote libraries that are created on the Mac or Windows version of EndNote are compatible across platforms. You can transfer the files via saving to portable media, emailing the compressed library to yourself, or via EndNote Online.
.