Attaching Files to Records
EndNote provides the ability to attach files to records in your library. Added files are stored in the library’s Data folder. Any of the common file formats may be attached, including audio & multimedia files (wav, mp3, mov, Quicktime), PDF, Microsoft Access/Excel/PowerPoint/Project/Visio/Word files, and text files (txt, rtf, html).
Attaching files
- Click on a record in the Library Window, then select References | File Attachments | Attach File
- Select a file, then Open. The file will be copied to the DATA\PDF folder, and an icon will appear in the Paperclip field within the Reference Window.
You can also attach files by dragging and dropping a file onto a record in either the Library Window or the Reference Window.
Up to 45 files may be attached to each record.
Using the Find Full Text command
EndNote can automate the process of locating and attaching full text files to EndNote records using the Find Full Text command. Find Full Text works most efficiently when the EndNote record includes a DOI within the DOI field.
|
Before using Find Full Text the first time, you must configure EndNote:
- In EndNote, click Edit | Preferences (on Mac click EndNote | Preferences)
- The EndNote Preferences Window will now appear, as in the example below. Select Find Full Text from the left hand panel.
Ensure that each of the check boxes are ticked in this window and enter the following addresses in the corresponding fields:
- OpenURL Path:
https://newcastle.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/61UON_INST/openurl?
- Authenticate with URL: http://ezproxy.newcastle.edu.au/login?url=
(include the “=” in the last URL)
Click OK (MAC - follow the steps above, click Save, then close the EndNote Preferences Window).
|
- Highlight the reference(s) to be checked (you can select up to 250 at a time), then click the Find Full Text icon
OR select Find Full Text from the References drop down menu
- Enter your University login details on the Find Full Text Login screen, click Login, then Continue on the next screen.
- EndNote will now search for the PDF files and attach to the appropriate record.
|
The Find Full Text Group Set will appear in the Groups pane .
This group set provides details of the number of PDFs found and attached, PDFs not found, or URLs for PDFs that were found but could not be sourced.
|
 |
|
Reasons why Find Full Text may not locate a PDF:
- The University of Newcastle Library does not have a current subscription to access the article
- The article is too old to have a PDF available online
- The article is 'buried' in an aggregated database and does not allow individual articles to be located
- The journal has embargoed access to current articles
- The publisher website does not support or allow this capability
- Proxy or firewall issues are preventing access.
|
