Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Vancouver Referencing Style:  Health resources: AMH, BMJ, JBI etc.

UON Library guide to Vancouver Style for UON students

General Rules and Examples

Health resources

 

Information on citing the following health resources is available via the tabs above. 

  • AMH Australian Medicines Handbook
  • BMJ Best Practice topics
  • Cochrane Reviews
  • Critical appraisal tools
  • Joanna Briggs Institute resources
  • MIMS Online
  • UpToDate topics

 

Australian Medicines Handbook entries

 

Citations to AMH entries are formatted similar to book section entries. 

  • Cite AMH as an eBook first.
  • Add the name of the entry followed by the updated and cited dates in square brackets.
  • Add an estimation of the number of pages for the section followed by ‘p.’ Include this detail in square brackets.
  • End with the URL

 

Reference list entry: format and example

 

Citation No. MIMS Online [Internet]. Location of Publication: Publisher;  Year.  Section title [date updated; date cited]; page no. Available from: URL

 

1.           Australian Medicines Handbook [Internet]. Adelaide: AMH; c2020. Timolol [cited 2020 Jan 20]; [about 3 screens] . Available from: https://amhonline.amh.net.au/chapters/eye-drugs/drugs-glaucoma/beta-blockers-eye/timolol

 

BMJ Best Practice topics

 

Citations to topics included in BMJ Best Practice are formatted similar to book chapter entries from an edited book.

Author details and the date the topic was last updated are listed in the 'Summary' page under the 'Overview' tab.

 

Reference list entry: format and example

 

Citation No. Author. Topic title: subtitle. In: BMJ Best Practice [Internet]. Place of Publication: BMJ Best PracticeYear of publication. [date updated; date cited]. Available from: BMJ Best Practice.

 

1.           Sambursky R. Acute conjunctivitis. In: BMJ Best Practice [Internet]. London: BMJ Publishing Group; c2018. [updated 2019 July; cited 2020 Jan 15]. Available from: BMJ Best Practice.

 

Cochrane Reviews

 

Citations to Cochrane Reviews follow the same format as for journal articles.

Use the abbreviation 'Cochrane Database Syst Rev' for the full name of  'Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews'.

 

Reference list entry: format and example

 

Citation No. Author/s. Title: subtitle. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. Date of Publication; Issue No: Cochrane Access No. doi:10.xxxxxxxx

 

1.           Mehrholz J, Kugler J, Storch A, Pohl M, Elsner B, Hirsch K. Treadmill training for patients with Parkinson's disease. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2015 Sep 13; 9: CD007830. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD007830.pub4

 

Critical appraisal tools

 

The critical appraisal tools listed here include:

 

 

STROBE Statement

The STOBE Statement should be referenced using one of the journal articles listed here: http://strobe-statement.org/index.php?id=strobe-publications

The most recent article is provided below:

 

1.           von Elm E, Altman DG, Egger M, Pocock SJ, Gotzsche PC, Vandenbroucke JP. The Strengthening the Reporting of Observational Studies in Epidemiology (STROBE) statement: guidelines for reporting observational studies. J Clin Epidemiol. 2008;61(4):344-9. doi: 10.1016/j.jclinepi.2007.11.008

 

 

Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) checklists

To cite the CASP checklists, see the example below. 

 

2.           Critical Appraisal Skills Programme. CASP systematic review checklist [Internet]. Oxford: CASP; 2018 [cited 2020 Jan 15]. 4p. Available from: https://casp-uk.net/casp-tools-checklists/

 

 

Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) checklists

To cite the JBI checklists, see the example below. 

 

3.           Joanna Briggs Institute. Checklist for qualitative research [Internet]. Adelaide: Joanna Briggs Institute; 2017 [cited 2020 Jan 13]. 6p. Available from: https://joannabriggs.org/sites/default/files/2019-05/JBI_Critical_Appraisal-Checklist_for_Qualitative_Research2017_0.pdf

 

 

PEDro scale

 

4.           PEDro scale [Internet]. Sydney: Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy; 1999 Jun 21 [cited 2020 Jan 13]. 2p. Available from: http://www.pedro.org.au/wp-content/uploads/PEDro_scale.pdf

 

 

Downs & Black checklist for measuring study quality

This checklist is part of the article below:

 

5.           Downs SH, Black N. The feasibility of creating a checklist for the assessment of the methodological quality both of randomised and non-randomised studies of health care interventions. J Epidemiol Community Health. 1998;52(6):377-384. doi:10.1136/jech.52.6.377

 

 

Cochrane ‘Risk of bias’ tool

This tool is parts of the chapter below:

 

6.           Higgins JP, Savović J, Page MJ, Elbers RG, Sterne JA. Assessing risk of bias in a randomized trial. In: Higgins JP, Thomas J, editors. Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions [Internet]. Version 6. London: Cochrane Collaboration; 2019 [cited 2020 Jan 13]. Chapter 8. Available from: https://training.cochrane.org/handbook/current/chapter-08

 

7.           Sterne JA, Hernán MA, McAleenan A, Reeves BC, Higgins, JP. Assessing risk of bias in a non-randomized study. In: Higgins JP, Thomas J, editors. Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions [Internet]. Version 6. London: Cochrane Collaboration; 2019 [cited 2020 Jan 13]. Chapter 25. Available from: https://training.cochrane.org/handbook/current/chapter-25

 

Joanna Briggs Institute resources 

 

The information here is for citing the following JBI resources:

 

Systematic Reviews and Protocols

 

Citations to JBI Systematic Reviews and Protocols are formatted similar to journal article entries, see the examples below. 

 

Citation No. Author/s. Title: subtitle. JBI Systematic Reviews and Protocols. Date of Publication; volume(issue):page. doi:10.xxxxxxxx

 

1.           Ellwood L, Torun G,  Bahar Z, Fernandez R. Effects of flavonoid-rich fruits on hypertension in adults: a systematic review. JBI Database System Rev Implement Rep. 2019;17(10):2075-105. doi:10.11124/JBISRIR-D-19-00050 

2.           Betz CL, Lewinter K,  Kysh L,  Hudson S,  Espinoza J. Smart devices for the management of pediatric asthma: a scoping review protocol. JBI Database System Rev Implement Rep. 2019;17(11):2308–2316. doi:10.11124/JBISRIR-D-19-00083 


 

Best Practice Information Sheets

Citations to JBI Best Practice Information Sheets are formatted similar to journal article entries, see the examples below. 

 

Citation No. Author/s. Title: subtitle. JBI Journal/Database Title. Date of Publication; volume(issue):page. doi/URL

 

3.           Stephenson M, Eddy K, Jordan Z. Health professionals’ experience of teamwork education in acute hospital settings [Internet]. Best Practice: Evidence-based Information Sheets for Health Professionals. 2018 [cited 2020 Jan 17]; 20(11):1-5. Available from: http://ovidsp.dc2.ovid.com

4.           Marin TS. Effectiveness of interventions to prevent pre-frailty and frailty progression in older adults [Internet]. Best Practice: Evidence-based Information Sheets for Health Professionals. 2019 [cited 2020 Jan 17]; 21(2):1-5 . Available from: http://ovidsp.dc2.ovid.com

 

 

Recommended Practices:

Citations to JBI Recommended Practices are formatted as contributions to a database, start the title with the type of publication (i.e. Recommended Practice). See the example below.

 

Citation No. Author/s. Title: subtitle. Year of Publication [cited date].  In: JBI Database Name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Date of publication. page. doi/URL

 

5.           Joanna Briggs Institute. Recommended Practice. Skin tears: assessment and management. 2019 [cited 2020 Jan 20]. In: Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database [Internet]. Adelaide: JBI@Ovid. 5 p. Available from:http://ovidsp.dc2.ovid.com

 


Evidence
Summary

Citations to JBI Recommended Practices are formatted as contributions to a database, start the title with the type of publication (i.e. Evidence Summary). See the examples below.

 

Citation No. Author/s. Title: subtitle. Year of Publication [cited date].  In: JBI Database Name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Date of publication. page. doi/URL

 

6.           Whitehorn A. Evidence Summary. Immune checkpoint inhibitors: skin cancer treatment. 2019 [cited 2020 Jan 20]. In: Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database [Internet]. Adelaide: JBI@Ovid. 3 p. Available from:http://ovidsp.dc2.ovid.com

 

 

JBI critical appraisal checklists

Citations to JBI critical appraisal checklists are formatted as web document, see the example below.

More information on citing critical appraisal tools is available via the relevant tab above. 

 

Citation No. Author/s. Title: subtitle. Place of publication: Publisher; Date of publication [cited date]. page. doi/URL

 

7.           Joanna Briggs Institute. Checklist for qualitative research [Internet]. Adelaide: Joanna Briggs Institute; 2017 [cited 2020 Jan 13]. 6p. Available from: https://joannabriggs.org/sites/default/files/2019-05/JBI_Critical_Appraisal-Checklist_for_Qualitative_Research2017_0.pdf

 

MIMS Online entries

 

Citations to MIMS entries are formatted similar to book section entries. 

  • Cite MIMS Online as an eBook first.
  • Add the name of the section followed by the updated and cited dates in square brackets.
  • Add an estimation of the number of pages for the section followed by ‘p.’ Include this detail in square brackets.
  • End with the URL

 

Reference list entry: format and example

 

Citation No. MIMS Online [Internet]. Location of Publication: Publisher;  Year.  Section title [date updated; date cited]; page no. Available from: URL

 

1.           MIMS Online [Internet]. Sydney: MIMS Australia; c2010. Aclin [cited 2020 Jan 17]; [about 1 p.]. Available from: https://www.mimsonline.com.au

UpToDate topics

 

Citations to topics included in UpToDate are formatted similar to book chapter entries from an edited book.

  • Include the author of the UpToDate entry as the first element in the citation – the author will be listed in the topic header.
  • List the title of the topic.
  • Include UpToDate as the source, following the editor of UpToDate
  • Include the tagging [Internet] to identify as an online resource
  • Follow with the place of publication, publisher and date.
  • Finish with date the topic was updated (this is listed in the topic header) and the cited date in square brackets
  • The name of the library-subscribed database/resource can be added in place of the URL.

 

Reference list entry: format and example

 

Citation No. Author. Topic title: subtitle. In: Editor's Name, editor. UpToDate [Internet]. Place of Publication: UpToDate; Year of publication [date updated; date cited]. Available from: UpToDate.

 

1.           Celli BR. Treatment of diaphragmatic paralysis. In: Shefner JM, editor. UpToDate [Internet]. Waltman (DC): UpToDate; 2020 [updated 2019 Aug 5; cited 2020 Jan 6]. Available from: UpToDate.

 

Ask The Library

Ask The Library