LibGuides: MBA Student Guide: Find Information

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of online resources such as journal articles, e-books, videos, images, newspapers and more. Databases can be subject-specific, or general, covering a range of topics.

Why search in databases?

Subject-specific databases can give more relevant results
Some databases have different search functions
There are databases that focus on particular resource types, e.g. newspapers, company data or videos

Key Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexing from 1971 and access to full-text articles on business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Includes information on thousands of companies with business and executive profiles.
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Historical information, current trends, future developments and changes in the business world. Includes case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, interviews with executives and analysts.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals and eBooks covering the subject areas of management, information science, education, sociology and engineering.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Information on Australian industries including statistics, analysis and forecasts. Includes industry research reports, company research reports, risk rating reports, business environment reports and global industry reports for the US, UK and China. (click Risk Ratings - 500+ iExpert Summaries, facts and figures for each industry)

For more databases, take a look at the Subject Resource Guides for Business and Entrepreneurship and Accounting and Finance

More Resources for MBA Students

Online resources can be accessed from anywhere, at anytime. Have a look at the Library's eBook Guide for information about eBooks, how to use them, and links to eBook databases where you can browse or search for eBooks.

Proquest EBC eTextbook pilot - Cengage eTextbooks

Access to 27 eTextbooks related to Education and Business (3 concurrent users)

Springer Business & Economics
Springer Business & Economics collection covers a range of areas including marketing, entrepreneurship, economics, business and professional management.

Wiley Online library

Journals, books, reference works, laboratory manuals and the Cochrane Library. Content covers a wide range of subjects including: Medicine, science, engineering and the social sciences.

ANZ Newsstand (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.
Newspaper source plus This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full text for 185 US and international newspapers. Also selective full text for 392 regional US newspapers, and full text US television and radio news transcripts.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
International legal research tool providing full text access to case law, newspaper articles, law reviews and legislation. To access resources from Canada, the European Union, Hong Kong and the UK select the link to International Materials.

ClickView This link opens in a new window
Streaming video solution offering access to thousands of educational videos and resources covering a broad range of topics, as well as TV programs recorded in the last 14 days from free-to-air digital channels. Licensed for educational purposes only. Staff Guide to ClickView
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
This platform provides online access to streamed films, documentaries and training videos. Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Closed captions are available.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations.

What is Library Search?

Library Search is the University of Newcastle Library's main search tool. Use title, author or keywords to find eBooks and books, online and physical journals...and more!

Watch this video for tips on how to use Library Search.

The Library Search Help Guide offers more Search Tips and FAQs.

MBA Student Guide: Find Information

Find information

What is a Database?

Key Databases

More Resources for MBA Students

What is Library Search?

How to Find Company Data

More Help for Finding Information