University of Newcastle Library Guides
As a student you have access to the Library MakerSpace, Special Collections and the University Gallery and Museum, to support and complement your learning and research experience.
For example, you can use the Library MakerSpace to learn how to knit, use a 3D printer, fly a drone and much more! Take a look at regular free workshops on various creative skills at Ourimbah as well as pop-ups in the Auchmuty Library and other locations.
The University of Newcastle has a vast archive and special collection. You can search special collections using Library Search - a filter has already been applied to narrow down the search to items within our special collections. You can also make a booking in the special collection reading room to view items within the collection.
Contact details:
General enquiries
Enquiry form
T: +61 2 4921 5354
The Library MakerSpace is located at the Ourimbah campus and has a pop-up at Callaghan - check their website for details on opening hours and workshops. It provides access to technology such as 3D printers, cameras, podcasting equipment, GoPro's, drones, virtual reality equipment as well as maker equipment such as sewing machines and badge makers.
Contact details:
General enquiries
E: makerspace@newcastle.edu.au
T: +61 2 4348 4009
The University Gallery, located at Callaghan campus, is renowned for ideas driven contemporary exhibitions from art practitioners and researchers – locally, nationally, internationally and from our own University community. For over 25 years it has been a site for cross-disciplinary collaboration and knowledge exchange that champions creative thinking and engagement. It is a place for contemporary artists to develop and profile their practice, presenting compelling exhibitions that inspire.
Contact details:
General enquiries
E: Universitygallery@newcastle.edu.au
T: +61 2 4921 5255