Skip to Main Content

Open Educational Resources: School of Information and Physical Sciences

A guide to Open Educational Resources (OER) - discover, adopt, adapt, or author free shareable educational content.

Example OER for the School of Information and Physical Sciences

OER collections providing eTexts and eBooks for Math, IT and Physical Sciences include:

See the following OER Textbooks as examples (we also welcome your suggestions)

Title (Math, IT and Physics) Author Updated Source License
23 Scholarly Communication Things AQUT Library 2021 Pressbooks CC-BY-SA
Algebra and Trigonometry 2e Abramson et al. 2022 OpenStax CC-BY
Algorithms and Data Structures with Applications to Graphics and Geometry Nievergelt and Hinrichs 2019 BCcampus CC-BY
BSc Optics Konijnenberg, Adam, and Urbach 2021 Open Textbook Library CC BY-NC-SA
Building Information - Representation and Management: Principles and Foundations for the Digital Era Koutamanis 2022 TU Delft Open CC-BY-Nc-SA
Calculus vol 1-3 Strang, Herman et al. 2022 OpenStax CC-BY-NC-SA
Coastal Dynamics Bosboom and Stive 2021 Open Textbook Library CC BY-NC-SA
College Algebra 2e Abramson et al. 2022 OpenStax CC-BY
College Algebra 2e with Corequisite Support Abramson and North 2022 OpenStax CC-BY
College Physics 2e Urone and Hinrichs 2022 OpenStax CC-BY
The Crystal Ball Instruction Manual - version 1.1 Volume One: Introduction to Data Science Davies 2020 Open Textbook Library CC BY-SA
Current & Emerging Computing Technology Bentley 2022 BCcampus CC BY
Data Science, Data Visualization, and Digital Twins Shirowzhan, ed 2022 IntechOpen CC BY
Demystifying Climate Models: A Users Guide to Earth System Models Gettelman and Rood 2016 Springer Open CC BY-NC-ND
Electricity and Magnetism (Tatum) Tatum 2022 LibreTexts CC BY-NC-SA
Eloquent JavaScript: a Modern Introduction to Programming, 3rd ed. Haverbeke 2018 Haverbeke CC BY-NC
Fields and Galois Theory Milne 2022 jmilne.org CC BY-NC-SA
Handbook of Digital Face Manipulation and Detection From DeepFakes to Morphing Attacks Christian, Ruben, Ruben et al. 2022 OAPEN CC BY
Information Systems for Business and Beyond Bourgeois, Smith, Wang et al. 2019 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC
An Introduction to Statistical Learning with applications in R, 2nd ed. James, Witten, Hastie, et al. 2021 Springer Free PDF
Introductory Business Statistics Holmes, Illowsky, Dean et al. 2022 OpenStax CC-BY
Introductory Statistics Illowsky and Dean 2022 BCCampus CC BY
Inventory Analytics Rossi 2021 Open Textbook Library CC BY
IoT Use Cases and Technologies Dian and Vahidnia 2022 BCcampus CC BY-NC-ND
Joy of Cryptography Rosulek 2021 Open Textbook Library CC BY-NC-SA
Mathematical and Statistics Anxiety: Educational, Social, Developmental and Cognitive Perspectives Maloney, Mammarella, and Morsanyi 2017 DOAB Directory of Open Access Books CC BY
Mathematical Reasoning and Investigation James and Rawson 2023 Pressbooks/Deakin CC BY-NC
MATLAB Applications in Engineering Voloşencu, ed 2022 IntechOpen CC BY
Key Concepts of Computer Studies Meizhong Wang 2020 Pressbooks CC BY
Patterns for Beginning Programmers Bernstein 2022 Open Textbook Library CC BY
University Physics Volume 1-3 Moebs, Ling and Sanny 2022 OpenStax CC-BY
Unmanned Aircraft Systems in the Cyber Domain - 2nd Edition Nichols, Mumm, and Lonstein 2019 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC-SA
Web Accessibility for Developers Digital Education Strategies 2019 Open Textbook Library CC-BY

 

 

OER collections providing full courses or lectures include:
 
See the following open courses as examples. We also welcome your suggestions
Title of Course / Lecture Instructor Year Level Source
AI 101 Leshchinskiy 2021 UG MIT-OCW
Algebraic Topology II Miller 2020 Graduate MIT-OCW
COVID-19, SARS-CoV-2, and the Pandemic MIT Dept of Biology 2021 UG MIT-OCW
Electrical, Optical, and Magnetic Materials And Devices Ross 2020 UG MIT-OCW
Elliptic Curves Sutherland 2021 UG MIT-OCW
Ethics for Engineers: Artificial Intelligence Trout and Doneson 2020 UG MIT-OCW
HTML / CSS Tutorial – Create an Order Summary Component Kanna 2022 NA freeCodeCamp
Introduction to Computational Thinking Edelman, Sanders, Sanderson, et al 2020 UG MIT-OCW
Introduction to Functional Analysis Rodriguez 2021 UG MIT-OCW
Introduction to Machine Learning Kaelbling, Lozano-Pérez, Chuang, et al 2020 UG MIT-OCW
Introduction to Metric Spaces Dote 2022 UG MIT-OCW
Introduction to Nuclear and Particle Physics Klute 2020 Graduate MIT-OCW
Introduction to Special Relativity Klute 2021 UG MIT-OCW
Machine Vision Horn 2020 UG MIT-OCW
Number Theory I Sutherland 2021 Graduate MIT-OCW
Physics of Covid-19 Transmission Bazant, Gu and Cohen 2020 UG MIT-OCW
Self-Driving Car with JavaScript Course – Neural Networks and Machine Learning Radu (Mariescu-Istodor) 2022 NA freeCodeCamp
Single-Molecule Imaging: Capturing Nanoscale Cellular Machines in Action Kose 2021 UG MIT-OCW
Topics in Fluid Dynamics Price 2022 Graduate MIT-OCW
Media collections provide OER content include:
  • Academic Earth - especially its Video Electives
  • National Screen and Sound ArchiveNFSA collection holds more than 3 million works.
  • Smithsonian Open AccessOpen access to over 4.4 million 2D and 3D digital items including images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo. You can download, share, and reuse for free
  • Openverse (formerly Creative Commons Search)All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain. You can search or browse by keyword, images, audio, etc.
  • World Digital Library (WDL): Thousands of items contributed by WDL partner organizations and Library of Congress. 
  • RMIT Digital Collections Open Educational ResourcesHundreds OER images created by RMIT and licensed under Creative Commons
  • Virtual Labsfree virtual labs, experiments and simulations for STEMM disciplines
  • Wikimedia Commons: media content including those under CC and in the Public domain 
  • FlickrBillions of photos uploaded by users. To locate reusable images, limit you search results from the Any License pull-down menu e.g. 'all creative commons' or 'modifications allowed'.
  • Google Arts & CultureExplore collections, artworks, places, articles, AI and more with Google Arts & Culture
  • GNU Software: Supported by the Free Software Foundation
  • Old Book IllustrationsIllustrations from old books in the public domain.
  • PixabayMillions of shared free stock photos, vector graphics, illustrations and videos that are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0.
  • Pixnio: A directory of public domain images available for anyone to download and reuse in any way
  • UnsplashAll photos published on Unsplash are licensed under Creative Commons 0, which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes.
  • TED TalksMost of TED Talks are licensed under CC-BY-NC-ND 4.0 International.
  • YouTubeTo find videos that use a creative commons licence, do a search by keyword,  then select 'filter' and 'Creative Commons'. Within the video select 'Show more' and find the Creative Commons Licence. Please see below.
  • AMSER (Applied Math & Science Educational Repository) a portal of free educational resources (not necessarily openly licensed)
  • Opensource.comFree login required for some downloads. Most content under CC license but not all.
Have you used any of the above in your teaching? Would you like to share your examples here?

flicker