A database is a collection of resources that can be searched and accessed online. Library databases most commonly have academic journal articles, but may also contain ebooks, videos, images, newspapers and more. Databases can be subject-specific, or general, covering a range of subjects.
Why search in databases?
Where to access databases
Subject Resource Guides have curated lists of resources that are useful for study in particular disciplines. We have guides for the different areas of study at the university. The guides include resources such as databases, web resources, industry bodies and books.
Library Search is the University of Newcastle Library's main search tool. You can use the Library Search search bar on the Library homepage.
You can search by title, author or subject key words. Library Search can be used to find and access:
eBooks and books
online journal articles and physical journals
DVDs and streaming videos
and more!
The Library Search Help Guide has information about how to use Library Search including Search Tips and FAQs.
The majority of the library's resources are online. This means that you can access them anytime, anywhere. You can search for eJournals and eBooks using Library Search.
Have a look at the Library's eBook Guide for information about eBooks, how to use them, and links to eBook databases where you can browse or search for eBooks.
Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) are special strings of alphanumeric characters that form a persistent link to individual publications. They are issued at the time of publication, much like an ISBN or a serial number. DOIs can be attached to a number of different publications, including journal articles, books and chapters, conference papers, and so on. If a resource has a DOI, it is important to include this information in your referencing. If you can't find the DOI for a resource, you can check if it has one by doing a metadata search on Crossref.
At university you are required to use articles from high quality academic journals in your assignments - known as peer-reviewed or refereed journals. If you are not sure if a journal is peer-reviewed, you can look up the title on Ulrichsweb, a global serials directory.