Skip to Main Content
University of Newcastle Library Guides

AGLC4: Australian Guide to Legal Citation 4th edition:  Books & Chapters

UON library guide to AGLC4: Australian Guide to Legal Citation 4th edition

Books - General Rules

 

  • See AGLC4 rule 6 on page 98 for details
  • Citations are medium neutral. There is no difference between a citation for a book or an eBook.

 

Author Names

  • The authors' names are given as they appear on the title page of the source

  • Use the full names of authors if available

  • Initials in names should not be separated by spaces or followed by full stops

  • List all for up to 3 authors and use the word 'and' to separate the last two authors

  • List only the first author follow by 'et al' for 4 or more authors

  • In a bibliography entry where there is more than one author, only the first author's name is inverted 

  • Where a government department is the author and the jurisdiction is not apparent from the department's name, the abbreviated jurisdiction may be included in parentheses after the department's name
  • Editors are treated in the same way as for authors, but followed by (ed) or (eds) after their name/s, eg John Smith (ed)

Book Titles

  • Capitalise all words in the title and sub-title except for repositions, conjunctions, and articles (a, an, the)
  • Book titles should appear in italics

Edition

  • The edition other than the first is cited and placed after the publisher's name. The standard first edition is not cited
  • Ordinal indicators of edition should be in superscript and terms of edition are abbreviated, e.g. 2nd ed. (Second Edition), or rev. ed. (Revised Edition)

Publisher

  • Publisher's name is included in parentheses after the book title
  • The publisher’s name may be given either in full or in an abbreviated form.
  • Omit an initial 'The' from a publisher’s name and the words such as "Inc.", "Ltd.", "Co.", or "& Co."
  • Omit the publisher if it is the same as the author, rule 6.3.1
  • List only the first publisher for multiple publishers
  • Subdivisions of companies should be omitted

Year of Publication

  • For books, only the year, not the month or day, is included in the publication date.
  • When an entire multivolume, multiyear work is cited, the range of dates is given, e.g. 1952-63.

Pinpoint References 

  • Pinpoint references adhere to rules 1.1.6 - 1.1.7 and appear after publication details without a comma
  • Pinpoints are generally to pages. They may also refer to paragraphs, chapters (chs), or parts (pts)

 

Books and Edited Books

 

The following is the general format of a reference to a book, an edited book, and a translated book.

  • There is no difference between a citation for a book or an eBook.
  • See AGLC4 rule 6 and the general rules for books for more details. 

 

Footnote: Format and example

  Books with 1-3 authors:

Note Number  AA Author and BB Author, Title: Subtitle (Publisher, Edition, YearPinpoint.

Malcolm N Shaw, International Law (Cambridge University Press, 7th ed, 2014) 578.

2 Alistair Pound and Kylie Evans, An Annotated Guide to the Victorian Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities (Lawbook, 2008).

3 St John Ambulance Australia, Australian First Aid, ed Shirley Dyson (4th ed, 2006).

Joel Feinberg, The Moral Limits of the Criminal Law (Oxford University Press, 1984—88) vol 4, 45.

5 Sigmund Freud, Civilization and its Discontents, tr Joan Riviere (Hogarth Press, 1930).

  Books with 4 or more authors:

Note Number  AA Author et al, Title: Subtitle (Publisher, Edition, YearPinpoint.

6 Donald R Rothwell et al, International Law: Cases and Materials with Australian Perspectives (Cambridge University Press, 2010) 35.

  Edited Books:

Note Number  AA Author and BB Author (eds), Title: Subtitle (Publisher, Edition, YearPinpoint.

7 Isabelle Bartkowiak-Théron and Nicole Asquith (eds), Policing Vulnerability (Federation Press, 2012).

  Books with an author and an editor:

Note Number  AA Author, Title: Subtitle, ed Editor (Publisher, Edition, YearPinpoint.

8 JS Mill, Utilitarianism, ed Roger Crisp (Oxford University Press, 1998) 14.

 

Bibliography: Format and example

Author, AA and BB Author, Title: Subtitle (Publisher, Edition, Year)

Bartkowiak-Théron, Isabelle and Nicole Asquith (eds), Policing Vulnerability (Federation Press, 2012)

Feinberg, Joel, The Moral Limits of the Criminal Law (Oxford University Press, 1984—88) 

Freud, Sigmund, Civilization and its Discontents, tr Joan Riviere (Hogarth Press, 1930)

Mill, JS, Utilitarianism, ed Roger Crisp (Oxford University Press, 1998)

Pound, Alistair and Kylie Evans, An Annotated Guide to the Victorian Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities (Lawbook, 2008)

Rothwell, Donald R et al, International Law: Cases and Materials with Australian Perspectives (Cambridge University Press, 2010)

Shaw, Malcolm N, International Law (Cambridge University Press, 7th ed, 2014)

St John Ambulance Australia, Australian First Aid, ed Shirley Dyson (4th ed, 2006)

Chapters in Edited Books

 

The following is the general format of a reference to a chapter in an edited book.

  • The chapter title is enclosed in single quotation marks
  • Use 'eds' where there are multiple editors
  • See AGLC4 rule 6.6.1 and the general rules for books for more details. 

 

Footnote: Format and example

Note Number  Author of Chapter, 'Title of Chapter' in Editor (ed), Title of Book (Publisher, Edition, Year) Starting page, Pinpoint.

1 Jeremy Waldron, 'Do Judges Reason Morally?' in Grant Huscroft (ed), Expounding the Constitution: Essays in Constitutional Theory (Cambridge University Press, 2008) 38.

2 Janet Ransley, 'Illusions of Reform: Queensland's Legislative Assembly Since Fitzgerald' in Nicholas Aroney, Scott Prasser and JR Nethercote (eds), Restraining Elective Dictatorship: The Upper House Solution? (University of Western Australia Press, 2008) 248, 252-3.

 

Bibliography: Format and example

Author of Chapter, 'Title of Chapter' in Editor (ed), Title of Book (Publisher, Edition, Year) Starting page

Ransley, Janet, 'Illusions of Reform: Queensland's Legislative Assembly Since Fitzgerald' in Nicholas Aroney, Scott Prasser and JR Nethercote (eds), Restraining Elective Dictatorship: The Upper House Solution? (University of Western Australia Press, 2008) 248

Waldron, Jeremy, 'Do Judges Reason Morally?' in Grant Huscroft (ed), Expounding the Constitution: Essays in Constitutional Theory (Cambridge University Press, 2008) 38

Legal Reference Books: Dictionary & Encyclopedia

 

  • Be sure to check with your lecturer if these kinds of resources are suitable for use in your assignments.

Reference works include dictionaries and encyclopedias. The following is the general format of a reference to an entry in dictionary and encyclopedia.

See AGLC4 rule 7.6 - 7.7 and the general rules for books for more details. 

 

Footnote: Format and example

Dictionary in Print:

Note Number Dictionary Title (Edition Number ed, Publication Year) 'Entry Title' (def Definition Number).

1 Macquarie Dictionary (5th ed, 2009) 'demise' (def 4).

Dictionary Online:

Note Number Dictionary Title (online at Date of Retrieval) 'Entry Title' (def Definition Number).

2 Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 20 February 2018) 'default judgment' (def 1).

Encyclopedia in Print:

Note Number Publisher, Encyclopedia Title, vol Volume Number (at Full Date of Last Update) Title Number Name of Title, 'Chapter Number Chapter Name' [Paragraph].

3 LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, vol 15 (at 25 May 2009) 235 Insurance, '2 General Principles' [235-270].

Encyclopedia Online:

Note Number Publisher, Encyclopedia Title (online at Date of Retrieval) Title Number Name of Title, 'Chapter Number Chapter Name' [Paragraph].

4 Westlaw AU, The Laws of Australia (online at 15 February 2018) 2 Administrative Law, '2.3 Access to Information' [2.3.10]

 

Bibliography: Format and example

Dictionary:

Dictionary Title (Edition Number ed, Publication Year) 'Entry Title' (def Definition Number)

Encyclopedia:

Publisher, Encyclopedia Title, vol Volume Number (at Full Date of Last Update) Title Number Name of Title, 'Chapter Number Chapter Name'

Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 20 February 2018) 'default judgment' (def 1)

LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, vol 15 (at 25 May 2009) 235 Insurance, '2 General Principles'

Macquarie Dictionary (5th ed, 2009) 'demise' (def 4)

Westlaw AU, The Laws of Australia (online at 15 February 2018) 2 Administrative Law, '2.3 Access to Information'

Legal Commentary (Looseleaf Services)

 

General Rules:

  •  Include author before the publisher if clearly identifiable
  •  Include date of last update or most recent service number
  •  Include paragraph symbol (¶) (if used) before paragraph number in pinpoints
  •  Include retrieval date for online services
  •  Do not include volume number if sourced online

The following is the general format of a reference to a legal commentary in print and online.

See AGLC4 rule 7.8 and the general rules for books for more details. 

 

Footnote: Format and example

    Commentary Online:

Note Number Author, Publisher, Title (online at Date of Retrieval) Pinpoint. 

1 JW Carter, LexisNexis, Carter on Contract (online at 20 February 2018) [04-001].

2 CCH Australia, Australian Intellectual Property Commentary (online at 20 February 2018) [¶7-000]. 

3 Stephen Walker, Thomson Reuters, Lawyers Practice Manual WA, (online at 1 November 2019) [4.1.202] 

   Commentary in Print:

Note Number Author, Publisher, Title, vol Volume Number (at Most Recent Update/Service Number for Pinpoint or Full Date) Pinpoint.

4 Neil J Williams, LexisNexis Butterworths, Civil Procedure: Victoria, vol 1 (at Service 299) [21.01.1].

 

Bibliography: Format and example

 Commentary Online:

Author, Publisher, Title (online at Date of Retrieval) 

Commentary in Print:

Author, Publisher, Title, vol Volume Number (at Most Recent Update/Service Number for Pinpoint or Full Date)

Carter, JW , LexisNexis, Carter on Contract (online at 20 February 2018)

CCH Australia, Australian Intellectual Property Commentary (online at 20 February 2018)

Walker, Stephen, Thomson Reuters, Lawyers Practice Manual WA, (online at 1 November 2019)

Williams, Neil J , LexisNexis Butterworths, Civil Procedure: Victoria, vol 1 (at Service 299)