Skip to Main Content
University of Newcastle Library Guides

AGLC4: Australian Guide to Legal Citation 4th edition:  Bibliography

UON library guide to AGLC4: Australian Guide to Legal Citation 4th edition

General Rules for Bibliography

See details in AGLC4 1.13

  • Where a bibliography is required, it should appear at the end of your paper starting on a new page
  • Bibliography should list all sources that were relied upon (not only those referred to in the text and footnotes). 
  • The title of the bibliography should be in capitals and centred. 
  • The bibliography may be divided into the sections below. However, a section may be omitted and other categories or subdivisions may be included as needed (with appropriate renumbering). 
A Articles/Books/Reports 
B Cases 
C Legislation 
D Treaties 
E Other 
 
  • The section titles should be centred and in italics
  • Within each section, sources should be listed in alphabetical order according to the first element of the citation (excluding ‘the’). If the first element is the same, list by the second element (and so on)
  • Unlike the footnotes, the 1st author's first name and surname should be inverted and separated by a comma. For works with more than one author, only the first author's name and surname are inverted
  • Unlike the footnotes, there is no full stop at the end of the bibliography entry
  • References in the bibliography should be flush left (not indented)

Sample Bibliography

 

AGLC features footnotes in the text, and if needed a sectional bibliography at the end of the document. A bibliography provides the full details of the sources cited in the text and any other sources you have consulted but not cited in your paper. Sources are listed in alphabetical order within each section. 

See the general rules for bibliography for more details. 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 
 
A Articles/Books/Reports 
Foster, Michelle, ‘The Implications of the Failed “Malaysia Solution”: The Australian High Court and Refugee Responsibility Sharing at International Law’ (2012) 13(1) Melbourne Journal of International Law 395 
Foster, Michelle, International Refugee Law and Socio-Economic Rights: Refuge from Deprivation (Cambridge University Press, 2007) 
Hathaway, James C, The Rights of Refugees under International Law (Cambridge University Press, 2005) 
Hathaway, James C and Audrey Macklin, ‘Should We Presume State Protection?’ (2016) 32(3) Refuge 49 
Hathaway, James C and Michelle Foster, The Law of Refugee Status (Cambridge University Press, 2nd ed, 2014) 
Hathaway, Oona A, Sabrina McElroy and Sara Aronchick Solow, ‘International Law at a Crossroads’ (2012) 7(1) Yale Journal of International Affairs 54 
Ramsay, Ian and Cameron Sim, ‘The Role and Use of Debt Agreements in Australian Personal Insolvency Law’ (2011) 19(3) Insolvency Law Journal 168 
Ramsay, Ian M, ‘Corporate Theory and Corporate Law Reform in Australia’ (1994) 1(2) Agenda: A Journal of Policy Analysis and Reform 179 
Ramsay, Ian M and Nicholas Lew, ‘Corporate Law Reform and Delisting in Australia’ (2007) 2(2) Virginia Law & Business Review 265 
 
B Cases 
Lane v Morrison (2009) 239 CLR 230 
Mabo v Queensland (No 2) (1992) 175 CLR 1
Maritime Dispute (Peru v Chile) (Judgment) [2014] ICJ Rep 4 
 
C Legislation and Bills
Aboriginal Land Rights Act 1983 (NSW)
Aboriginal Languages Act 2017 (NSW) 
Australian Constitution 
Bill of Rights Act 1990 (NZ)
Crimes Act 1900 (NSW)
Human Services (Enhanced Service Delivery) Bill 2007 (Cth) 
Native Title Act 1993 (Cth)
Privacy Act 1988 (Cth)
Witness Protection Act 1994 (Cth)
 
D Treaties 
Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, opened for signature 10 December 1984, 1465 UNTS 85 (entered into force 26 June 1987) 
Convention for the Protection of Individuals with Regard to Automatic Processing of Personal Data (European Treaty Series No.108, Strasbourg, 1981)
 
E Other 
New South Wales, Parliamentary Debates, Legislative Assembly, 15 December 1909 

 

A YouTube video on AGLC4 Bibliography by UTS Library blow

 

Need some help?

Access librarian support via Book a Librarian

Click Ask the library below  to access Library Help and Information 

Use our Library Chat service below (when available)