Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is the Government agency responsible for the collection of statistics in Australia. They collect, collate and report on data from the Census of Population and Housing, from surveys and from other government agencies.
The ABS collects and makes available statistics covering the economy, people, health, environment & energy, regions and industry.
Australian Census data
2011 Australian Census data
Data about the Australian population taken from the 2011 census.
Census Data - Australia
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) conducts the Census of Population and Housing every five years. The Census aims to count the number of people in Australia and record their key characteristics (age, country of birth, main language spoken at home, religion, martial status, employment, income and family characteristics) and the dwellings in which they live.
Other Australian resources
Australian Data Archive (ADA)
A national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data. Includes social science, historical, Indigenous, longitudinal, qualitative, crime and justice, and international data. You must first register with ADA.
Australian Food Statistics
Find data on food processing from raw agricultural product to highly processed food. Hosted by the Department of Agriculture.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
National agency producing information and statistics on Australian health and welfare. Find a range of statistics including diabetes, alcohol, chronic diseases and Indigenous health topics.
Centre for Education Statistics and Evaluation
Central point of education evidence within the NSW Department of Education, and a dedicated hub of case studies, education data and evaluation.
Department of Home Affairs
The Department of Homes Affairs manages the entry and settlement of people in Australia. Find statistics on migration, humanitarian programs, and overseas arrivals and departures.
Reserve Bank of Australia
The Reserve Bank of Australia is Australia's central bank. Find Australian exchange rates, interest rates, credit rates, prices and inflation rate data.
Tourism Research Australia
Tourism Australia provides research services to the industry through consumer and market insights, plus tourism, aviation and economic analysis. Find statistics for visitor arrivals, tourism forecasts and aviation overviews.
WorkSafe is a division of the WA Department of Commerce and its role is the regulation of workplace safety and health in accordance with the Occupational Safety and Health Act 1984. Find statistics on work accidents in Australia in various industries.
Provides information on Australian industries including statistics, analysis and forecasts. Includes industry research reports, company research reports, industry risk rating research reports, business environment reports and global industry reports for the US, UK and China.
Provides commercial and residential real estate property valuation and house prices around Australia.
To access, students and staff will need to email Sally Murray-Walsh from their @uon, @newcastle or @tafensw email accounts. Non university/TAFE email accounts cannot be used. The library has 20 student registrations which will be deleted at the end of each trimester.
Need some help?
Click Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information
Use our Library Chat service below (when available)