LibGuides: Open Research: Read and Publish Agreements

Read and Publish Agreements

The University Library has signed 14 Read and Publish Agreements to enable researchers at the University to publish open access in over 9,700 journals.

All eligible articles accepted for publication in these journals are not subject to article processing charges (APCs) for publishing open access.*

To be eligible for open access publishing in the journals included in the Agreements:

The corresponding author must be affiliated with the University of Newcastle and:
- use their University of Newcastle email address (either 'newcastle.edu.au' or 'uon.edu.au'), and
- include the University of Newcastle in the author byline on the submitted manuscript.
The article must be an eligible publication type (see publisher details below).

The acceptance date for manuscripts submitted to the new 2024 Agreement journals (ACM and APA) must be from 1st January 2024. The acceptance date for all other Agreements is from 1st January 2022. Note that all agreements are reviewed annually.

* Some journals may impose additional fees, for example, page charges, or charges for rapid review. These fees are not covered by the Read and Publish Agreements. Authors should check the journal website for more details.

Further information about the Agreements, including how to submit

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery)

Journals included	73 ACM journals
Number of included articles	No limit
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Research articles Interviews Notes Short papers Surveys Technical notes Tutorials
Open Access Licence	CC-BY CC-BY-SA CC-BY-ND CC-BY-NC CC-BY-NC-SA CC-BY-NC-ND Check Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Follow the instructions for submission on the CAUL website

AIP Publishing (American Institute of Physics)

Journals included	27 journals
Number of included articles	There is a cap on the number of articles by eligible authors from the Australian participating institutions that can be published under the terms of this agreement. In 2024 the cap is 375 articles. (Number of articles approved to date in 2024)
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Research articles Review articles
Open Access Licence	CC-BY Check Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Create and log into your account on scitation.org. After logging in, follow the steps outlined in AIP Publishing’s Read & Publish Guide for Authors.

APA (American Psychological Association)

Journals included	87 APA journals
Number of included articles	No limit
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Brief reports Research articles Review articles
Open Access Licence	CC-BY Check Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Follow the instructions for submission on the CAUL website

Cambridge University Press

Journals included	398 gold and hybrid Cambridge University Press journals
Number of included articles	No limit
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Research articles Review articles Rapid communications Brief reports Case reports
Open Access Licence	CC-BY CC-BY-SA CC-BY-ND CC-BY-NC CC-BY-NC-SA CC-BY-NC-ND Check Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Follow CUP’s usual article submission process via the journal’s homepage on Cambridge Core. On acceptance of the article, CUP will ask the corresponding author to complete a form (publishing agreement). The corresponding author selects Gold Open Access and confirms the licence type (i.e. CC-BY). Rightslink works on the publisher's behalf to manage the APCs. When the submitting author is from the University of Newcastle, the APC will be automatically waived. Also see the Step by Step Guide to Publishing OA in Cambridge Journals.

Company of Biologists

Journals included	3 hybrid and 2 gold open access journals published by the Company of Biologists
Number of included articles	No limit
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Original Research articles
Open Access Licence	CC-BY CC-BY-SA CC-BY-ND CC-BY-NC CC-BY-NC-SA CC-BY-NC-ND Check Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Follow the publisher's usual article submission process via the journal’s homepage. On acceptance of the article, the publisher will ask the corresponding author to complete a form (publishing agreement). The corresponding author selects open access and confirms the licence type (e.g. CC-BY). The APC is then automatically waived for authors who have used their University of Newcastle email address and indicated they are affiliated with the University of Newcastle. View the publisher’s step-by-step guide for authors.

CSIRO Publishing

Journals included	19 hybrid open access journals published by CSIRO Publishing
Number of included articles	No limit
Eligible article types	All article types
Open Access Licence	CC-BY CC-BY-NC CC-BY-NC-ND Check Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Submit your article via the publisher's submission system, ScholarOne. You will be recognised as being eligible for open access publishing with no transactional APCs via your University of Newcastle email address and the University's Ringgold ID.

De Gruyter

Journals included	42 De Gruyter hybrid journals
Number of included articles	No limit
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Research articles (original papers) Review articles Brief communications Continuing education Case reports.
Open Access Licence	CC-BY Check Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Follow the publisher's usual article submission process via each journal webpage, in which instructions are set out under the ‘Submit’ tab On acceptance of the article, the publisher will ask the corresponding author to complete a form (publishing agreement) The corresponding author selects open access and confirms the licence type (e.g. CC-BY) The APC is automatically waived for authors who have indicated they are affiliated with the University of Newcastle.

Elsevier

Journals included	1,649 Elsevier hybrid journals
Number of included articles	There is a cap on the number of articles by eligible authors from the Australian participating institutions that can be published under the terms of this agreement. In 2024 the cap is 10,440 articles. (Number of articles approved to date in 2024)
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Full Length Articles Review Articles Case Reports Practice Guidelines Replication Study
Open Access Licence	CC-BY CC-BY-NC-ND Check Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Once the journal accepts your article, you will receive an email containing a link to the “post acceptance author journey”. You will be asked to review your affiliation and funder details. Based on this information, you will see personalised publishing options including the option to publish under the agreement. You will confirm your publishing choices and complete the post acceptance journey. CAUL will validate your eligibility for the agreement You and your co-authors will receive an email to confirm that the APC will be covered by the agreement. Please note that the number of APCs included under the agreement is fixed and will be allocated based on date of acceptance. During the submission process, the system will present you with personalised publishing options including any agreement or offer that you may be eligible for. You can indicate your publishing choice during submission, but you are not required to finalise your choice until after acceptance. Additional resources from Elsevier for authors.

IOP Publishing

Journals included	77 journals
Number of included articles	No limit
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Research articles Special issue articles Review articles Letters
Open Access Licence	CC-BY Check Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Follow the publisher's usual article submission process. Either during the peer review process or on acceptance of the article, the publisher will ask the corresponding author to complete a form (publishing agreement). The corresponding author selects open access and confirms the licence type (e.g. CC-BY). The APC is automatically waived for corresponding authors who have indicated they are affiliated with the University of Newcastle. View the publisher’s step-by-step guide for authors.

Oxford University Press

Journals included	351 Oxford University Press hybrid and gold journals
Number of included articles	There is a cap on the number of articles by eligible authors from the Australian participating institutions that can be published under the terms of this agreement. In 2024 the cap is 1,101 articles. (Number of articles approved to date in 2024)
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Research articles Review articles Case reports Brief reports
Open Access Licence	CC-BY CC-BY-NC Check the Read and Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Follow the publisher's usual article submission process via the journal’s homepage. On acceptance of the article, the publisher will ask the corresponding author to complete a form (publishing agreement). The corresponding author selects open access and confirms the licence type (e.g. CC-BY). Please note, you will be asked to confirm that you will pay the open access charge, however, the charge will be automatically waived if your article is assessed as eligible for publishing under the agreement with no APCs. Proceed to payment and select ‘Australia and New Zealand Institutions (CAUL affiliated)’ from the dropdown list of institutions beneath ‘Open Access Prepayment Account’ on the Article Charges page. Check the ‘Refer Charge?’ box next to the Open Access charge, and then click ‘Refer Charges’ at the bottom of the page. View the publisher’s step-by-step guide for authors.

Sage

Journals included	928 SAGE journals
Number of included articles	No limit
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Original research articles Review articles Brief communications Short reports Case reports
Open Access Licence	CC-BY CC-BY-NC Check the Read and Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines

Springer Nature

Journals included	2071 Springer, Palgrave, ADIS and Academic journals
Number of included articles	There is a cap on the number of articles by eligible authors from the Australian participating institutions that can be published under the terms of this agreement. In 2024 the cap is 3,511 articles. (Number of articles approved to date in 2024).
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Original Paper: Standard article, generally presenting new results which may also be referred to as Original Research, Original Article, Original Paper or Research Paper. Review Paper: Standard article, interpreting previously published results. Brief Communication: Short article submitted for rapid publication that exhibits the same structure as a standard article. Continuing Education: Article forming integral part of further education (usually medical).
Open Access Licence	CC-BY CC-BY-NC Check the Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Follow the publisher's usual article submission process via the journal’s homepage. On acceptance of the article, the publisher will ask the corresponding author to complete a form (publishing agreement). The corresponding author selects open access and confirms the licence type (e.g. CC-BY). The APC is automatically waived for authors who have used a University of Newcastle email address ('newcastle.edu.au' or 'uon.edu.au') selected the 'University of Newcastle' as their institutional affiliation from the drop down list. View the publisher’s video walkthrough for authors.

Taylor & Francis

Journals included	2,128 Taylor & Francis journals
Number of included articles	There is a cap on the number of articles by eligible authors from the Australian participating institutions that can be published under the terms of this agreement. In 2024 the cap is 3,850 articles. (Number of articles approved to date in 2024)
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Article Review Research article Review article Report Short communication Case report Note Original article Guest editorial.
Open Access Licence	CC-BY CC-BY-NC CC-BY-NC-ND CC-BY and CC-BY-NC-ND are the two licence types available on Open Select (hybrid) journals. CC-BY-NC is available on some Full Open Access titles. Check the Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Follow the publisher's usual article submission process via the Submission Portal. On acceptance of the article, you will be informed if CAUL has approved your article for open access funding. If approved, the publisher will ask the corresponding author to complete a form (publishing agreement). The corresponding author confirms the licence type (e.g. CC-BY). The APC is automatically waived for authors who have used their University of Newcastle email address ('newcastle.edu.au' or 'uon.edu.au').

Wiley (and Hindawi)

Journals included	1,890 hybrid and gold open access Wiley and Hindawi journals
Number of included articles	There is a cap on the number of articles by eligible authors from the Australian participating institutions that can be published under the terms of this agreement. In 2024 the cap is 6,900 articles. (Number of articles approved to date in 2024).
Eligible article types	Open access publishing covered under this Agreement includes the following article types only: Primary research and review articles, including but not limited to original articles Case studies Reviews Short communications. View Wiley's list of article classifications (Excel), which includes an indication of whether they are eligible for open access publishing.
Open Access Licence	CC-BY CC-BY-NC CC-BY-NC-ND Check the Read & Publish Agreements licensing - What you need to know
Author guidelines	Follow the publisher's usual article submission process via the journal’s homepage. On acceptance of the article, the responsible* corresponding author selects open access, confirms the licence type (e.g. CC-BY), and indicates funder and their University of Newcastle affiliation using Wiley Author Services. The APC will be waived for authors who have used a University of Newcastle email address ('newcastle.edu.au' or 'uon.edu.au'), and selected the 'University of Newcastle' as their institutional affiliation. * Each article may have more than one corresponding author, but only a single designated 'responsible corresponding author' who will be in charge of the administrative details for the article. View the publisher’s step-by-step guide for authors.

Open Research: Read and Publish Agreements

Read and Publish Agreements

Journal lists

Further information about the Agreements, including how to submit