Learn English
A free service from the Australian Broadcasting Corporation containing grammar, vocabulary, & learning tips. For beginners to more advanced levels of English.
Basics of English grammar
Learn the basic principles of English grammar.
BBC Learning English
Features news, videos, listening and reading exercises, quizzes, message boards, and discussion groups.
BBC Skillswise - English
Features practical literacy skills for adults.
Radio Australia - Learn English Series
Download English lessons from the Australian Broadcast Network. Lessons are available for Chinese, Indonesian, Khmer, Burmese and Vietnamese speakers.
English Grammar Guide
Learn about the rules of English usage.
English Speaking Basics
Useful for beginners who need help in understanding the basics of speaking English.
Grammarly Handbook
Provides help with grammar, sentence construction, and writing (including academic writing).
IELTS - Free Practice Tests
Provides free access to practice tests for beginners to academic levels.
The Sounds of English
Improve your English pronunciation, spelling, and reading. For intermediate level and above.
Magoosh IELTS Practice Test
High-quality, student-tested practice questions which have been adapted to mimic the official IELTS.
A database is a collection of resources that can be searched and accessed online. Library databases most commonly have academic journal articles, but may also contain ebooks, videos, images, newspapers and more. Databases can be subject-specific, or general, covering a range of subjects.
Why search in databases?
Where to access databases
Subject Resource Guides have curated lists of resources that are useful for study in particular disciplines. We have guides for the different areas of study at the university. The guides include resources such as databases, web resources, industry bodies and books.
Library Search is the University of Newcastle Library's main search tool. You can use the Library Search search bar on the Library homepage.
You can search by title, author or subject key words. Library Search can be used to find and access:
eBooks and books
online journal articles and physical journals
DVDs and streaming videos
and more!
The Library Search Help Guide has information about how to use Library Search including Search Tips and FAQs.
The majority of the library's resources are online. This means that you can access them anytime, anywhere. You can search for eJournals and eBooks using Library Search.
Have a look at the Library's eBook Guide for information about eBooks, how to use them, and links to eBook databases where you can browse or search for eBooks.
Lean Library is a browser plugin that will alert you if you have full text access via the University's subscriptions to content that you are viewing online. It will also indicate if an Open Access version is available.
For example, if you find an article on Google Scholar, Lean Library will create a pop up with a link if you have access to the article from the University Library. If you are using Library Search or the library databases for your searching you will not need Lean Library.