OER collections which provide eTexts and eBooks on Environmental and Life Sciences include:
See the following OER Texts as examples. We also welcome your suggestions.
| Title | Author | Updated | Source | License |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All Things Flow: Fluid Mechanics for the Natural Sciences | Smyth | 2019 | Oregon State University | CC-BY-NC |
| Anatomical Variation: An Australian and New Zealand Context | Gregory, Kimmorley, and Reynolds | 2023 | Pressbooks | CC-BY-NC |
| Anatomy and Physiology 2e | Betts, Young, Wise et al. | 2022 | OpenStax | CC-BY |
| Anatomy and Physiology 2 Lab Manual | Shook | 2020 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Basic Cell and Molecular Biology: What We Know & How We Found Out - 4e | Bergtrom | 2018 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Bending the Curve: Climate Change Solutions | Ramanathan, Aines, and Auffhammer | 2019 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Biochemistry: Free For All | Ahern, Rajagopal, and Tan | 2018 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC |
| Biology 2e | Clark, Choi, and Douglas | 2022 | OpenStax | CC-BY |
| Body Physics: Motion to Metabolism | Davis | 2018 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Chemical Biology & Biochemistry Laboratory Using Genetic Code Expansion Manual | Mehl, van Zee, and Kean | 2019 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC |
| Chemistry - 2e | Flowers, Theopold, and Langley | 2022 | OpenStax | CC-BY |
| Chemistry: Atoms First - 2e | Flowers, Neth, and Robinson | 2022 | OpenStax | CC-BY |
| Chemistry of Cooking | Rodriguez-Velazquez | 2016 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| CLUE: Chemistry, Life, the Universe and Everything | Cooper and Klymkowsky | 2019 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Coastal Landscapes of South Australia | Bourman, Murray-Wallace and Harvey | 20106 | University of Adelaide | Free PDF |
| Coastal Management in Australia | Harvey and Caton | 2010 | University of Adelaide | Free PDF |
| Concepts of Biology | Fowler, Roush, Wise et al. | 2022 | OpenStax | CC-BY |
| Concepts of Fitness and Wellness | Flynn, Jellum, Howard et al. | 2018 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Cooperative Evolution: Reclaiming Darwin's Vision | Bryant and Brown | 2021 | ANU Press | CC-BY-NC-ND |
| Cycling Futures | Bonham and Johnson | 2015 | University of Adelaide | Free PDF |
| Earth, Space, and Environmental Science Explorations with ArcGIS Pro 2nd edition | Wing Cheung | 2022 | Wing Cheung | CC-BY |
| Engaging STEM: A Guide to Interactive Resources | Chudaeva et al. | 2021 | Pressbooks | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Environmental Biology | Fisher | 2018 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Environmental Impact and Remediation of Heavy Metals | Saleh and Hassan, eds | 2022 | IntechOpen | CC-BY |
| Environmental Toxicology | van Gestel | 2020 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Essentials of Exercise and Sport Psychology | Zenko and Jones | 2021 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Evolution and Adaptation in the Monsoon Tropics | Charles Darwin University | n.d. | Charles Darwin University | CC-BY-SA |
| Food Product Development Lab Manual | Prusa and Gilbert | 2021 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Foundations of Biomedical Science: Quantitative Literacy Theory and Problems | Pakay | 2023 | La Trobe eBureau | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology - Australian Edition | Chruścik, Kauter, Whiteside et al. | 2021 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-SA |
| General Biology I: Survey of Cellular Biology | Bartee and Anderson | 2018 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| General Biology II: Survey of Molecular Life and Genetics | Bartee and Anderson | 2018 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| General Microbiology | Bruslind | 2020 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC |
| Genetics, Agriculture, and Biotechnology | Suza and Lee | 2021 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Geological Structures: A Practical Introduction | Waldron and Snyder | 2020 | University of Alberta | CC-BY-SA |
| How to do science. Rev ed | Lexis and Julien | 2022 | USQ | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Human Nutrition | Kainoa Fialkowski Revilla, Titchenal, and Draper | 2020 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Inanimate Life | Briggs | 2021 | Milne Open Textbooks | CC-BY-SA |
| Informal Calculus: With Applications to Biology and Environmental Science | Seacrest | 2022 | Pressbooks | CC-BY |
| Interactive Introduction to Organismal and Molecular Biology | Bierema | 2021 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Introduction to Biosystems Engineering | Holden, Wolfe, Ogejo et al. | 2021 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Introduction to Earth Science | Neser | 2023 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Introduction to Environmental Science, 2nd ed. | Zehnder et al. | 2018 | University System of Georgia | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Introduction to Climate Science | Schmittner | 2022 | Oregon State University | CC-BY-NC |
| Introduction to Oceanography | Webb | 2021 | Roger Williams University | CC-BY |
| Kansas State University Human Nutrition Flexbook | Lindshield | 2018 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Key Elements of Green Chemistry | Lucia | 2018 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Laboratory Exercises in Microbiology | McLaughlin and Petersen | 2016 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Little Cell Who Lost Its Way | Resai-Kashkooli and Leslie | 2019 | La Trobe University | CC-BY-NC-ND |
| Microbiology | Parker | 2022 | OpenStax | CC-BY |
| Microbiology: A Laboratory Experience | Ahern | 2018 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Microbiomes: Health and the Environment | Parks | 2022 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Nutrition: Science and Everyday Application - beta v 0.1 | Callahan, Leonard, and Powell | 2020 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC |
| Open Climate Resources for Teachers | Tulloch-Nasir et al | 2023 | PressBooks | CC-0 |
| Liu | 2021 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA | |
| Organic Chemistry Laboratory Techniques | Nichols | 2016 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-ND |
| Organic Chemistry with a Biological Emphasis Volume I-II | Soderberg | 2016 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Phylogenetic Comparative Methods | Harmon | 2019 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Plant Anatomy and Physiology: Images and diagrams to explain concepts | Bellairs | n.d. | Charles Darwin University | CC-BY-SA 4.0 |
| Plant detective's manual: A research-led approach for teaching plant science | Estavillo, Mathesius, Djordjevic, and Nicotra | 2014 | ANU Press | CC-BY-NC-ND 4.0 |
| Qualitative Research – a practical guide for health and social care researchers and practitioners | Ayton, Tsindos, and Berkovic | 2023 | Pressbooks | CC-BY-NC |
| Quantitative Ecology: A New Unified Approach | Lehman, Loberg, and Clark | 2019 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC |
| Routledge Handbook of Ocean Resources and Management | Smith, Suárez de Vivero, and Agardy | 2015 | OAPEN | CC-BY-NC-ND 3.0 |
| Renewable Energy in Marine Environment | Rusu | 2020 | MDPI Books | CC-BY |
| Science of Plants | Michaels, Hoover, and Iris | 2022 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC |
| A Student's Guide to Tropical Marine Biology | Zanga, Boraski, and Olendorf | 2019 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY-NC |
| Thermodynamics and Chemistry - 2nd edition | DeVoe | 2020 | Open Textbook Library | CC-BY |
| Threshold Concepts in Biochemistry | Pakay, Duivenvoorden, Shafee et al. | 2023 | Pressbooks | CC-BY-NC-SA |
| Toxic Cyanobacteria in Water | Chorus and Welker |
2021 | OAPEN | CC-BY-NC-ND |
| Understanding and Managing Irrigated Acid Sulfate and Salt-affected Soils:A handbook for the Lower Murray Reclaimed Irrigation Area | Fitzpatrick, Mosley and Cook | 2017 | University of Adelaide | Free PDF |
| Wallacea and Biogeography: Charles Darwin, Evolution and Tropical Australia | Charles Darwin University | n.d. | Charles Darwin University | CC-BY-SA |
| Title of Course / Lecture | Instructor | Year | Level | Source | License |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bending the Curve: Climate Change Solutions | Emanuel, Cziczo and McGee | 2020 | UG | UCTV | Free |
| Earth Analytics Python Course | Wasser | 2022 | Graduate | Earth Lab UC | CC-BY-SA |
| Exploring the Earth Under the Sea: Over 50 Years of Scientific Seafloor Drilling | UCTV | 2019 | - | UCTV | Free |
| Fire, Extreme Rainfall, and Debris Flows: Cascading Disasters in a Changing Climate | UCTV | 2021 | - | UCTV | Free |
| Global Warming Science | Emanuel, Cziczo and McGee | 2020 | UG | MIT-OCW | MIT-OCW |
| Journey of the Little Blue Penguins | UCTV | 2022 | Graduate | UCTV | Free |
| Land, Water, Food, and Climate | McLaughlin | 2020 | Graduate | MIT-OCW | MIT-OCW |
| Oceans Out of Breath: Oxygen Minimum Zones in a Warming Climate | UCTV | 2020 | - | UCTV | Free |
| Our Warming Ocean | UCTV | 2020 | - | UCTV | Free |
| Sea Urchins and Sea Slugs | UCTV | 2022 | - | UCTV | Free |
| Water Diplomacy | Gain and Susskind | 2021 | Graduate | MIT-OCW | MIT-OCW |
Media Collections Covering OER Content |
Free Virtual Reality (VR) Resources |
|
All images under a creative commons license
NFSA collection with over 3 million works. Open access to over 4.4 million 2D and 3D digital items Content with Creative Commons license or in the public domain. YouTube collections of Stanford Woods Institute
Items contributed by WDL partners and Library of Congress. OER images by RMIT free virtual labs, experiments and simulations for STEMM disciplines Media content including those under CC and in the Public domain Billions of photos uploaded by users including those under CC license Collections, artworks, places, articles, AI and more Illustrations from old books in the public domain. Shared stock photos, vector graphics, illustrations and videos under CC0. A directory of public domain images available for anyone to download and reuse in any way All photos are free to use under the Unsplash license Most of TED Talks are licensed under CC-BY-NC-ND 4.0 International. Videos uploaded by users including those under CC license. To find videos under a creative commons license:
Within the video select 'Show more' and find the Creative Commons License.
|
On campus? Visit our MakerSpace for the VR ExamplesTravel the bloodstream and learn how oxygen is carried to cellsImpact of climate change on reefs and economy in Micronesia
Immersive VR film about desertificationBeneficial impact bees have on the environmentVirtual map of our worldThe origin of life on earth and how human being influences its own environment.Impacts of food insecurity crisisAnimals in various environmentsBiology, chemistry and the nanoVisualize the systems that make up our bodiesOceans acidification from carbon dioxideClose encounters with aquatic lifeOverfishing and its impactExperience life as a majestic rainforest tree
|
