The library has collected the resources on this page to make it easier for you to find OER textbooks that suit you and your students' needs. They have been separated into Australian and international collections.
Some tips for effective searching -
Alternatively, contact your Teaching Liaison Librarian for help.
The Open Educational Resources Collective Publishing Workflow has a number of collections under its 'Initiate' tab. You can also look at our lists below, or go to Find Open Textbooks to Use or Adapt and start exploring!
Collection |
Details |
|---|---|
ANU ePRESS |
Australia’s first OA university press publishing peer reviewed books and textbooks on a range of subject areas including Asia and Pacific studies, Australian politics, humanities, arts, Indigenous studies and science. |
CDU Open Book Publishing |
Charles Darwin University’s Pressbooks library. |
JCU Open eBooks |
James Cook University’s Pressbooks library. |
La Trobe eBureau |
La Trobe University’s La Trobe eBureau publishes high-quality, peer reviewed open textbooks that support online and blended learning. |
Open Textbooks @ UQ |
The University of Queensland’s Pressbooks library. |
QUT eBooks |
Queensland University of Technology’s Pressbooks library. |
RMIT Open Educational Resources |
RMIT Library’s collection of OER images and open textbooks, including some created by RMIT University academics. See also the RMIT Open Press platform. |
Sydney Open Library (SOL) |
Sydney Open Library hosts open access academic books and textbooks published by Sydney University Press on subjects across the humanities and social sciences. |
University of Adelaide Press (2009-2018) |
Although this press stopped operating in 2018, their collection of open access books is still available for download from their website. |
USQ Open Texts |
USQ Library has curated 11 collections of open textbooks including their own OER publications. Browse by subject area or search by keyword |
UTS ePRESS |
Run by the Library of the University of Technology Sydney (UTS), the UTS ePRESS has published open access books and peer reviewed, Diamond Open Access Journals (free to authors and free to readers) journals on a range of topics. |
Western Open Textbooks |
Western Sydney University’s Pressbooks library. |
Newcastle Open Textbooks: coming soon ... |
The Teaching Liaison Librarians have identified open textbooks for different subject areas. Click on the OER for Schools page in this Guide to find specific content.
For a broader collection, check out the OER by Discipline Directory created in Pressbooks by BCCampus.
Some of these collections also hold smaller OER such as videos, audio files, courses, lectures etc in addition to entire textbooks.
Collection/Tool |
Details |
|---|---|
BC Open Collectionby BCCampus |
BCcampus have published a large selection of OER textbooks. Many are peer reviewed and with supplementary material such as quizzes, slides, videos, etc. Search by keyword or subject; filter by material type, or education level. |
DOAB |
Community-driven discovery service providing access to scholarly, peer-reviewed OA books and OA book publishers. |
LibreCommons forLibreTexts |
LibreCommons hosts curated OER from all 14 LibreTexts libraries. Explore libraries by subject and/or K-12 level; search by keyword, browse by 'bookshelves' or learning object type. Includes an OER remixing tool. |
MERLOT |
MERLOT provides access to curated OER. Search by keyword, ISBN, materials etc. Filter by discipline, material type, audience etc. Sort by relevance, rating, title, author, date etc. |
Milne Open Textbooks(Open SUNY Textbooks) |
OER textbooks authored by State University of New York Geneseo staff. Search or browse by keyword, Title, Author, Subject, etc. All resources are Creative Commons licensed with no 'No Derivatives' designation, so are free to adopt, remix or adapt. |
MIT OCW(OpenCourseWare) |
An open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses including audio, video, textbooks and supplementary material. You can modify, remix, and reuse (just cite OCW as the source). |
MOM: Mason OER Metafinder |
By George Mason University Library, MOM searches 23 OER collections in real time. Refine search by topic, source, file format, etc. and view results by Text or Visual. |
OAPEN Library |
A Netherlands-based central repository for hosting and publishing OA books. Search by keyword or browse by Subjects, Publisher, Language, or Collections. |
OASIS |
SUNY's curated OER database. Search by title, author, subject, source and filter by type, subject, source, licence, or review. |
OER Commons |
An OER library and platform for accessing and creating OER. Search by keyword, filter by subject, education level, material type, licence, source, primary user, format, language and providers. Resources can be rated by users. |
OpenStax |
OpenStax publishes high-quality, regularly updated, peer reviewed open textbooks with ancillary resources such as slides, online highlighting, note-taking tools and test banks. |
Open Textbook Library |
Comprehensive resource for OER textbooks run by University of Minnesota. Texts are free to use and distribute, and licensed to be freely adapted with proper attribution. Includes reviews by experts and peers. |
Pressbooks Directory |
Index of open textbooks published in Pressbooks. Search by keyword, filter by Licence, Subject, Network, Collection, Publisher, Last Updated, Language, Word Count, H5P, etc. Books can be cloned directly into the platform to edit or adapt. Good source of Australian content too. |