Place link name here Additional none hyperlink text here

Skip to Main Content

Open Educational Resources: School of Psychological Sciences

A guide to Open Educational Resources (OER) - discover, adopt, adapt, or author free shareable educational content.

Example OER for the School of Psychological Sciences

OER collections which provide Psychology eTexts and eBooks include:

Note: the collections may contain items with various permissions such as no copyright (in the public domain), CC licences, or all rights reserved but free for anyone to use. Make sure to check every resource’s licence before using it.

See the following OER Textbooks as examples (we also welcome your suggestions)

Title Author Updated Source License
* Australian handbook for careers in psychological science Machin et al.  2022 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC
Balance of personality Allen 2020 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC-SA
Case studies in community psychology practice: A global lens Palmer et al. 2022 Open Textbook Library CC-BY
Child growth and development Paris et al. 2019 Open Textbook Library CC-BY
Child maltreatment: An introductory guide with case studies Loosley and Johnson 2023 Fanshawe College CC-BY-NC-SA
Common client issues in counselling: An Australian perspective Beel et al. 2023 University of Southern Queensland CC-BY-NC
COVID-19 outbreak and beyond: Psychological and behavioral responses and future perspectives Roma, Monaro, Mazza, (editors) 2022 Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute CC-BY
Essentials of exercise and sport psychology: An open access textbook Zenko and Jones 2021 Open Textbook Library CC-BY
Human development Portland State University 2021 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC-SA
Instruction in functional assessment Desrochers and Fallon 2014 Milne Open Textbooks CC-BY-NC-SA
Interpersonal communication: A mindful approach to relationships Wrench et al.  2023 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC-SA
Introduction to community psychology Jason et al. 2019 Open Textbook Library CC-BY
Introduction to neuroscience Hedges 2022 Michigan State University Libraries CC-BY-NC-SA
Introduction to psychology: Moving towards diversity and inclusion McFarlane et al. 2024 BCcampus CC-BY-NC-SA

*Introduction to psychology: The full noba collection

 Biswas-Diener and Diener 2016 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC-SA
Introduction to statistics in the psychological sciences Cote et al. 2021 UMSL Libraries CC-BY-NC-SA
Lifespan development: A psychological perspective 2nd ed. Lally and Valentine-French 2017 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC-SA
Organizational behavior Author removed at request of original publisher 2017 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC-SA
Psychoanalysis: A new overview Irtelli, Marchesi, and Durbano, (editors) 2021 IntechOpen CC-BY
Psychology - 2e Spielman et al.  2022 OpenStax CC-BY
Psychology, communication, and the Canadian workplace Westmaas 2022 Pressbooks CC-BY-NC-SA
Psychology of language Ramoo 2022 BCcampus CC-BY
The psychology of entrpreneurship: New perspectives (chap 5) Gielnik et al.  2021 Taylor & Francis OAPEN Deposit Licence
Psychology: The science of human potential Levy 2019 Open Textbook Library CC-BY
Research methods in psychology - 4th American Ed. Cuttler et al. 2019 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC-SA
Research methods in psychology - 4th Ed. Jhangiani et al. 2019 Pressbooks CC-BY-NC-SA
Research methods in psychology - New Zealand Ed. Price and Jhangiani 2018 Open Textbook Library CC-BY-NC-SA
Together: The science of social psychology Biswas-Diener and Diener n.d. Noba CC-BY-NC-SA
Understanding trust in organizations: A multilevel perspective Gillespie, Fulmer, Lewicki, (editors) 2021 Taylor & Francis OAPEN Deposit Licence

 

 

 

OER collections covering courses or lectures include:

Note: the collections may contain items with various permissions such as no copyright (in the public domain), CC licences, or all rights reserved but free for anyone to use. Make sure to check every resource’s licence before using it.

 
See example courses and lectures below. We also welcome your suggestions here.
Title of Course / Lecture Instructor Year Level Source License
Autism Theory and Technology Picard and Goodwin 2011 Graduate MIT-OCW MIT-OCW
Enlightenment Now: The Future of Progress with Steven Pinker Pinker 2019 - UCTV Free
LSD and the War on Memories with Joel Dimsdale Dimsdale  2021 - UCTV Free
Emotions and Politics Petersen 2018 Graduate MIT-OCW MIT-OCW
Introduction to Psychology Bloom and Ragen 2018 UG Open Yale Courses Free
Improving the Quality of Your Decisions Duke 2019 2m video UCTV Free
Neuroscience of Morality Saxe 2017 UG MIT-OCW MIT-OCW
Neuroscience of Music Bilder 2020 - UCTV Free
Psychology and Economics Schilbach 2020 UG + G MIT-OCW MIT-OCW
Remarkable Learning Abilities of the Human Brain Ashby 2017 - UCTV Free
Three Virtues of Testing Bjork 2017 - UCTV Free
           

 

Media collections provide OER content include:

Note: the collections may contain items with various permissions such as no copyright (in the public domain), CC licences, or all rights reserved but free for anyone to use. Make sure to check every resource’s licence before using it.

  • Academic Earth - especially its Video Electives
  • National Screen and Sound Archive: NFSA collection holds more than 3 million works.
  • Smithsonian Open Access: Open access to over 4.4 million 2D and 3D digital items including images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo. You can download, share, and reuse for free
  • Openverse (formerly Creative Commons Search): All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain. You can search or browse by keyword, images, audio, etc.
  • World Digital Library (WDL): Thousands of items contributed by WDL partner organizations and Library of Congress. 
  • RMIT Digital Collections Open Educational Resources: Hundreds OER images created by RMIT and licensed under Creative Commons
  • Wikimedia Commons: media content including those under CC and in the Public domain 
  • Flickr: Billions of photos uploaded by users. To locate reusable images, limit you search results from the Any License pull-down menu e.g. 'all creative commons' or 'modifications allowed'.
  • Google Arts & Culture: Explore collections, artworks, places, articles, AI and more with Google Arts & Culture
  • Europeana: An EU platform to search, save and share art, books, films and music
  • Scalar: A free open source authoring and publishing platform
  • Old Book Illustrations: Illustrations from old books in the public domain.
  • Pixabay: Millions of shared free stock photos, vector graphics, illustrations and videos that are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0.
  • Pixnio: A directory of public domain images available for anyone to download and reuse in any way
  • Unsplash: All photos published on Unsplash are licensed under Creative Commons 0, which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes.
  • TED Talks: Most of TED Talks are licensed under CC-BY-NC-ND 4.0 International.
  • Vimeo: A video hosting, sharing, and services platform primarily for creative professionals.
  • YouTube: To find videos that use a creative commons licence, do a search by keyword,  then select 'filter' and 'Creative Commons'. Within the video select 'Show more' and find the Creative Commons Licence. Please see below.
Have you used any of the above in your teaching? Would you like to share your examples here?

 

flicker