Skip to Main Content

EndNote 21 for Windows: EndNote & Word

Banner of using EndNote and Word page on PC

Using EndNote with MS Word

Using EndNote with Word: EndNote Toolbar in Word

 

After installing EndNote, an EndNote Tab will appear in the Word Menu Bar. All EndNote functions are available under the EndNote 21 tab. 

Click the Info Icons below to learn more about the EndNote functions in Word. 

If you have installed EndNote, but you don’t have the EndNote toolbar in Word, please check support.clarivate.com/Endnote

Creating In-text Citations and Reference List

 

You can use EndNote with Word to insert in-text citations and automatically create reference lists or bibliographies in your chosen referencing style. This feature is known as Cite While You Write (CWYW).

There are two methods to insert references from an EndNote library into a Word document:

  1. Go to EndNote: Navigate to EndNote and select the desired reference.
  2. Insert Citation: Use the Insert Citation option within Word.

If you are using footnote styles, Word manages the numbering and placement of the footnotes, while EndNote handles the formatting. Therefore, you need to first insert the footnote using Word, and then insert the EndNote citation into that footnote.

Click the following headings for detailed instructions. Click the heading again to close it. 

  1. In Word, position your cursor where you wish to insert an in-text citation, then click on the EndNote 21 tab
  2. Select the reference style as you need, e.g. APA 7th,  then click Go to EndNote
  3. Within EndNote, select the reference you wish to insert, then click the insert citation icon from the EndNote toolbar.

You will be returned to Word, where the in-text citation for the selected reference is inserted, and a reference list entry created at the end of the document.

Screenshot of inserting EndNote citations in Word via Go to EndNote on PC

Watch the following video about inserting citations from EndNote to Word using the "Go to EndNote" feature

 

 

  1. In a Word document position your cursor where you wish to insert a citation.

  2. Still in Word, click on the EndNote 21 tab, then click the Insert Citation icon   
 insert citation in Word

The EndNote 21 Find & Insert My References will appear.

 

  1. Enter search terms in the Find Citation box, then press Enter.  

  2. Records containing the search terms will be displayed.

  3. Select the required record/s

    (multiple records can be selected by holding down the <CTRL> key while selecting)

  4. click the Insert button

You will be returned to Word, where the in-text citation/s for the selected reference is inserted, and a reference list entry created at the end of the document.

 Screenshot of inserting citations via Insert Citation on a PC

Watch the following video about inserting citations from EndNote to Word using the "Insert Citation" feature

 

If the style you are required to use is a footnote style, such as Chicago A or AGLC4, you must first create a footnote in your document, before inserting a reference using one of the methods described above. EndNote will then format the in-text citation in the footnote and add the reference details to the bibliography.

  1. In Word, place the cursor against the statement you are referencing. To create a footnote, select References | Insert Footnote.

insert footnote in word

  1. A footnote number will be placed where your cursor was positioned. Your cursor will now appear in a footnote at the bottom of the page.
  2.  Insert the required reference(s) from your EndNote library using either of the "Go to EndNote" or the "Insert Citation" command.

 

Watch the following video on using footnotes with EndNote

Watch the following video clips about inserting citations from EndNote to Word

Editing EndNote Citations in a Word Document

 

If you need to edit a citation that you have inserted into your Word document, you MUST use the Edit and Manage Citations menu on the EndNote 21 toolbar in Word.

Click the following headings for detailed instructions. Click the heading again to close it. 

There are various reasons that you may need to edit your in-text citations, for example:

  • Excluding the author’s name as you have already used it in a sentence, e.g. As Evans (1986) stated...
  • Excluding the year as you have already referred to it in a sentence, e.g. As reported in 1997, Jane Austen was not ... (Teachman).
  • Where page numbers are required as you have used a direct quote, e.g. “Jane Austen’s own description of her subject matter” (Evans, 1986, p. 313) …  

Editing of citations must be done using the Edit & Manage Citation(s) command under the EndNote 21 tab in Word. 

 

Screenshot for editing citations on a PC

  1. Click on the in-text citation within your document (it will appear in grey shading once clicked), click on the EndNote 21 tab, then select the Edit & Manage Citation(s) command. The EndNote 21 Edit & Manage Citations dialogue box will open.
  2. From the Format drop-down menu select Exclude Author, Exclude Year, or Exclude Author & Year, then OK. The author or the year, or both will have been removed from the citation.

A screenshot for removing author or year from a citation on a PC

  1. Click on the in-text citation in your document (it will appear in grey once clicked), click on the EndNote 21 tab, then select the Edit & Manage Citation(s) command. The EndNote 21 Edit & Manage Citations dialogue box will open. 
  2. Type the page number or range of pages in the Pages box, click OK. The page numbers will appear in the in-text citation in the format specified by the output style, e.g. (Celind et al., 2020, p. 45).

Screenshot of adding page numbers to a citation on a PC

 

    A Note about Page Numbers:

In EndNote 21, adding page numbers using the Edit & Manage Citation(s) command will work if you are using the APA 7th or MLA output styles. If you are using a different style, and the page numbers you type in here do not appear in your in-text citation, it means that the output style you are using is not configured to recognise them. In this case, you could put them in the Suffix field. However, if you use the Suffix field for page numbers, you must also enter the punctuation and spaces exactly as you want it to appear in the text, e.g. p. 313.

If you insert a citation in error, or in the wrong place, DO NOT USE the <Delete> or <Backspace> keys on the keyboard to remove it.  Click within the in-text citation in your document (the in-text citation will turn grey), then click on the Edit & Manage Citation(s) command on the EndNote 21 toolbar.  The EndNote 21 Edit & Manage Citations window will open, and the citation you selected will be highlighted. Click on the Edit Reference drop-down menu. Select Remove Citation, then OK
A screenshot for removing an EndNote citation from Word on a PC

EndNote will automatically create your bibliography in your chosen referencing style at the end of your document, and you can then choose to change the layout or style of your bibliography using the Format Bibliography menu on the EndNote toolbar in Word.

You may choose to add a title, change the font style and size, or the line spacing for your reference list or bibliography.

  1. In Word, select the EndNote 21 tab, then click the arrow at the right bottom of the Bibliography panel.

A screenshot of configuring bibliography tool bar on a PC

 

  1. The EndNote 21 Configure Bibliography window will open, you can then configure the layout as needed.

A screenshot for configuring bibliography window on a PC

If references you insert from EndNote library into your Word document look like this: {Jones, 2015 #14} - where Jones = author; 2015 = year; and #14 = the EndNote record number – it means that EndNote’s Instant Formatting feature has been turned off.

To turn Instant Formatting back on in your Word document, select the EndNote 21 tab, click the dropdown arrow next to Instant Formatting is Off, and select Turn Instant Formatting On.

A screenshot for instant formatting on a PC

 

Watch the videos on editing EndNote citations and bibliography in Word: the process is the same for both Windows and Mac.

Creating Standalone Bibliographies

 

There may be times when you simply want to produce an independent or standalone list of references from your EndNote library (i.e. without the in-text citations). You can do so by using the Copy Formatted feature or the File Export feature.   

 

Click the following headings for detailed instructions. Click the heading again to close it. 

  1. Open your EndNote library, and select the references you want included in your bibliography. 
  2. Select the output style, e.g. APA 7th
  3. Click the Copy button
  4. Open Word and right click to Paste with keeping source formatting.
  1. Open your EndNote library, and select the references you want included in your bibliography. 
  2. Select File | Export.  The Export file name dialogue box will open.
  3. Select the folder in which you want the file to be saved, and enter a name for the file.
  4. From the Save as type drop-down list, select Rich Text Format (*.rtf).
  5. Select the required Output Style, e.g. APA 7th.
  6. Click Save.
     
  1. Open your EndNote library, and select the references you want included in your annotated bibliography
  2. Make sure the annotations are saved in the Research Notes field
  3. Select the APA 7th Annotated output style
  4. Click References > Copy Formatted Reference (or the Copy button under the Summary tab)
  5. Open Word and right click to Paste with keeping source formatting where required. 

 

Watch a video demo on creating a standalone bibliography below.

 

EndNote Output Styles

 

  • An output style (also called referencing style) determines how the information in your EndNote records will appear in in-text citations, footnotes, and reference list or bibliographies. See the UON Library referencing guide for more information about referencing styles.
  • Over 500 styles are pre-loaded in EndNote with an additional 6,000+ styles freely available for download at endnote.com/downloads/styles     
  • By default, EndNote shows Author-Date, Annotated, Numbered and Show All on the Output Styles menu. You can add other styles to the dropdown menu as needed. 

 

Click the following headings for details. Click the heading again to close it. 

  • Click the EndNote 21 Tab in Word

A screenshot of EndNote output style in Word on PC

 

  • Click the drop down arrow to the right of the currently selected style, e.g. APA 7th.
  • Select the style you need from the dropdown list.
  • If the style you need is not on the list, click Select Another Style. 
  • The EndNote Styles Window lists all available reference styles. Styles may be re-sorted by clicking on the Name or Category column headings. Select a style by clicking on the style name, then click Choose.

  1. Click on Summary on the Tabs Panel on the right of the EndNote window

  2. Select the style you need from the dropdown list, e.g. JAMA.

  3. If the style you need is not on the list, click Select Another Style.

  4. Highlight the required style in the Choose a Style Window, and click Choose.

  5. Your style should now be showing in the Output Style Menu.
     
  6. Click on a reference to see how the reference will look formatted with this style.
     
 A screenshot of selecting output styles in EndNote on PC

Watch the video demo on selecting an output style in EndNote (from 4 seconds to 50 seconds).

  • Additional EndNote styles can be downloaded from the EndNote website - to connect within EndNote, click Help | EndNote Output Styles.
  • Downloaded output styles should be saved to: /Applications/EndNote 21/Styles  
  • If you can't save to this folder due to admin rights, double click on the downloaded style to open it in EndNote, then click File | Save.  

A screenshot for downloading additional output styles in EndNote on PC

Listed below are additional or modified styles which are not pre-loaded in EndNote. These styles are available in the UON EndNote 21 package. However, if you are using a previous edition, you may download them here if needed.

To download the UON styles

  • Click the link of the style you require from the list below.
  • Double-click the downloaded style file - it should open in EndNote.
  • Click File > Save As.  Delete the word “copy” then click Save.

To use the UON styles

  • Click on the style from the Style dropdown Menu.
  • If the style is not in the list, click on Select Another Style on the top of the list. Scroll down to find the style, highlight the style, and click Choose.

UON additional or modified styles

 

Sometimes you may require an output style which is very similar to one of the standard styles in EndNote, but with some changes. In this case you can edit the style to modify it to your needs, and save the edited version as a new style.

  1. Select the style that you wish to edit. Suppose we wish to edit the APA 7th style.
  2. Go to Tools > Output styles > Edit APA 7th. A window will open with an extensive menu on the left hand side with all the aspects of the style that you can modify.
    A screenshot of the editing window for APA 7th style in EndNote on PC.

     

  3. Select the element of the style that you would like to edit and make the required changes.
  4. File > Save as Name your style something that will be easy to remember.

 

Some Example Scenarios

Example 1: In APA 7th style the Journal Titles are written in full, not abbreviated. If your style requires abbreviations to be used, you can make this change by selecting the abbreviation you want from the Journal Names section.

Screenshot of the Journal Names section of the style editing window in EndNote on PC.

 

Example 2: In APA 7th style, if there are three or more authors we use (First author surname et al., Year) for the in-text citations. If your style has different conventions for dealing with multiple authors, you can make the required changes in the Citations > Author Lists section.

A screenshot of the Author Lists section of the style editing window in EndNote on PC.

 

Example 3: In-text citations in Vancouver style use round brackets around the citation numbers e.g. (1). If your style requires square brackets e.g. [1], you can make this change in the Citations > Templates section.

A screenshot of the Citation Templates section of the style editing window for editing in-text citation in the Vancouver style in EndNote on PC

 

Australian Guide to Legal Citation 4th ed (AGLC4)

 

To format your references correctly in the AGLC4 style, you will need to download and apply a modified output style.

You must download and save two separate files for the AGLC4 style to work in EndNote.

We recommend that you use the files created by UTS:

  1. ​Legal Reference Types: this covers the Reported Cases, Legislation, Parliamentary Debates, Treaties, Books, Journal Articles, etc.
  2. *AGLC4 (UTS) style: this allows you to correctly format references and use them in Word.

To install the files please follow the instructions on the UTS Install the AGLC style page.

Once you have installed the Legal Reference Types, downloaded the AGLC Reference Style, and selected AGLC4 (UTS) as your Output Style, you will be ready to use EndNote to format your references in the AGLC4 style.

Note:  When you have added all your references to your bibliography you must divide your bibliography into the following categories:

A. Articles/Books/Reports
B. Cases
C. Legislation
D. Treaties
E. Others

Further information can be found on the UTS page of EndNote for Law: Referencing with EndNote using AGLC 4th edition.

*The AGLC4 (UTS) style has already been included in the EndNote 21 package.

Watch the following video demos on selecting EndNote output styles in EndNote and Word.